We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another relazing stay at Desert Breezes...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Desert Breezes Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Desert Breezes Resort to your Saves list
Desert Breezes Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   77-955 Calle Las Brisas South, Palm Desert, CA 92211   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 22 Hotels in Palm Desert
Vancouver
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Another relazing stay at Desert Breezes...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

This is my 2nd review of this property and my 2nd year in a row to stay here. I must also disclose that this is a timeshare location that I purchased about 18 months ago at auction for $13.04 (yes, this is not a typo). So on my first 2 week stay last year, I was pleasantly surprised. This year was the same, with some improvement too. I stayed in a 1 bedroom suite. The property is older (80's) but the grounds are very well maintained. There are 3 pools, and about 10 hot tubs. There is a clubhouse with 5 tennis courts on the grounds too. It is located a 3 minute walk from the Indian Wells Tennis Gardens.

PROS

Self contained suites with full appliances: full size refrigerator, oven, dishwasher, blender, toaster, hand mixer and all the cooking implements and dishes one might need for an extended stay. There is also a safe and 2 robes. The suite has a flat screen TV in the living room and an old style TV in the bedroom. The couch is pull out and can sleep 2. The internet used to be a BIG negative, as the bandwidth was very low and they blocked all the good sites like YouTube and Facebook. This is now remedied, but you must pay $15 a week. Parking is still free.

CONS

Pool area closes at 10 pm and is now onerously enforced in all hot tubs and pools. Seems a bit early/and or silly to have such rules, but the clientele here go to bed early. Bathrooms toilet areas are very small, large people will have an issue with this (you can barely close the door when you stand in it). The walls are super thin, and you have to keep the noise down, lest others here your personal business.

Don't expect a wild time, just expect quiet times; the average person staying here is at retirement age. All is all, another great couple of weeks. I'll be down again next year in Feb/March.

Room Tip: Do not attend the free "owners night" wine and cheese party Thursday: it is a pitch for ti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at Desert Breezes Resort, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Breezes. We look forward to welcoming you "home" again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    26
    9
    8
    8
See reviews for
25
27
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I have been an owner at Desert Breezes since the late '80's. My husband and I love coming to the resort so much that we are trying to buy a second week. The resort is beautiful and well maintained. The staff takes good care of the resort and is very attentive to guests. Desert Breezes is in a great location, convenient to restaurants and shopping. We usually eat out at lunch time and cook at home in the evenings. We have two bedrooms and two bathrooms and often have friends and family come for part of our stay. I use the health club, which basic but convenient.

Room Tip: If you like to grill, choose a lower unit for easier access to grills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at Desert Breezes Resort, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
We're glad you are one of our valued owners and enjoy the property and resort! We look forward to welcoming you back to the Breezes soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We have been owners here for over 10 years. Even as it ages, the staff works hard to maintain it. When we want a quiet Palm Desert experience we come here and when we feel more like enjoying the city life we stay at a timeshare we can trade for in downtown. We last visited in June with temps above 110! But we had a room very near the adult pool and went between the pool and the air-conditioned room. Since many new strip shopping centers have been developed in these past years, food options are great. You must check out the fish market at the corner of Washington and Hwy 111. You can also stroll the neighborhood for a great walk. The Board of Directors have done a great job. They even were offering English language classes to the staff so you could communicate.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at Desert Breezes Resort, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
What a great review - Thank you! We're glad you enjoy being an owner at our beautiful property and look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Staff very friendly & helpful. Very "homey" comfortable feel to the place. Pools hot tubs, all very close & nice BBQ areas. Great close in parking.
Very good value .
There is no restaurant on the premises & we have no kids but Trip Advisor makes you fill in all the slots (DUMB) they should have a non applicable spot as well. That's the reason for terrible!

Room Tip: For a quiter experience take an upstairs unit
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at Desert Breezes Resort, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for your positive review of Desert Breezes! We're glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Top Contributor
306 reviews 306 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

The Desert Breezes Resort is nice place to stay in Palm Desert. We made our timeshare trade there through II. We had stayed here years ago and amazingly I think it was in the very same unit. It's a second story two bedroom unit. The facility is huge and boasts beautiful grounds, swimming pools (one for adults only), fitness center, tennis courts, bicycles, etc. Things are, however, not perfect. Our daughter and granddaughter stayed with us for three nights. They were in the "second bedroom" and normal conversation from the unit below was clearly heard (not a problem in the main bedroom). The couch in the living room (a sofa bed) has hard cushions that make TV watching for more than a few minutes a painful experience. The heating system is noisy and you definitely know when it's on. The TV in the main bedroom is the old CRT type and sitting on the dresser beside the left side of the bed (not a convenient viewing location). The king size bed in the main bedroom is comfortable, but the heavy duvet on the bed was a bit much; it could have used a much lighter blanket. The second bedroom doesn't have a TV. Our unit did have a nice balcony with table and chairs that looked out over the grounds and main pool area. The condo itself is very roomy and obviously aging, but appears to have been well maintained. We had one problem with the refrigerator, but maintenance came within minutes of our call and fixed it. Desert Breezes is a nice place to stay for a relaxing time. On-site activities are minimal, but the whole Palm Springs area boasts a mulitude of activities for all ages and budgets.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at Desert Breezes Resort, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. We appreciate your positive comments and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

Tranquil place to stay and has all the amenities you would want. Nice view of the mountains, large pool and several spas. Full kitchen, dining table, sofa, and very comfortable bed. Nice balcony with table and chairs. The resort is quite large and is part of a time share. I found this resort on Expedia.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We just got back from Desert Breezes (having done a trade via RCI) and had to write about how much we enjoyed our experience there! Wasn't expecting to love it as there've been a number of iffy reviews here, but stay was really terrific! As it was Sept, it was hot and not many folks were around which made the place especially quiet and restful -- perhaps that changes a lot later in the season. But we could not have been happier! The grounds are sooo well maintained and beautiful! We loved our unit overlooking the pool and small lake. Our 1-bedroom apt. was immaculate and very spacious -- with free wifi and lots of nice touches. The entry keys were easy and always worked. And we loved being in Palm Desert! Lots of great restaurants and places to explore close-by -- I'll do a full JBR for newbies. We had a sensational trip!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Desert Breezes Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Breezes Resort

Address: 77-955 Calle Las Brisas South, Palm Desert, CA 92211
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Desert Breezes Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the base of the Santa Rosa Mountains you'll find 10 buildings clustered around a beautiful water feature, and surrounded by lush landscaping; Desert Breezes Resort condominiums offer exquisite luxury and comfort. Each Mediterranean-style villa has a fully equipped kitchen and cozy furnishings, and the resort includes multiple pools and spas and on-site clubhouses. It's your perfect home-away-from-home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Desert Breezes Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Breezes Hotel Palm Desert
Desert Breezes Palm

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desert Breezes Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.