We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Think twice” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Desert Breezes Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Desert Breezes Resort to your Saves list
Desert Breezes Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   77-955 Calle Las Brisas South, Palm Desert, CA 92211   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in Palm Desert
Newton, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Think twice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

As we sit here waiting for security to show up...no one in office and an hour after we called due to VERY loud music...smoke from a charcoal grill blowing into our condo...think again. After 7pm you are on you'd own. Being a seasoned time share owner for 36 years..I would seriously think again... Nice pool and cute girl taking fare of our condo..otherwise...think again. VERY DISAPPOINTING.

Room Tip: No good tips here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    32
    11
    8
    8
See reviews for
31
32
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
99 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

There are several highs and lows for this property. I am an owner but mainly use it to trade for other resorts. We hadn't used our unit for quite some time, but wanted to do several things in the Palm Desert/Springs area, and this resort is nicely located to do the local activities.

The cons are: Thin walls and lousy furniture. We could hear every step, flush of the toilet, movement of furniture and even a little TV noise from the residents above us to the point is was incredibly annoying. It was very noisy. I think they were noisier than most as they were constantly moving furniture around, but it was irritating. We did not hear anything from the neighbor on the first floor, so that was acceptable. The furniture is horrible -- probably the most uncomfortable sofa and bed I have ever experienced. The linens included heavy duvet spreads which were ridiculous for summer in spite of the air conditioning. They need to provide a nice light-weight blanket instead. The chairs in the unit were just OK.

I had to call maintenance twice and they responded within five minutes each time, which was great. I had to call them once because the blow drier stopped working. The other time was when someone did laundry in the facility outside the first floor units, the water backed up into my kitchen sink. The maintenance man cleared the clog in the line, but it was a mess. (We also had to wait to check into the unit as they were replacing a broken microwave as well as a window shade in our unit.)

On the plus side, the pools and grounds are very nice, the staff is friendly, and this is a nice location in the area that is close to great restaurants and features. There is free wi-fi in each unit, as well as a couple computers that are free to use in the lobby library area.

I am in no rush to go back until they replace the furniture and can guarantee me a 2nd story condo so there is no one above me, Instead, we will probably use this to trade for another location.

Room Tip: Second floor condos will be much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caliente, CA
Level Contributor
87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Desert Breezes for a week. We booked the week through RCI as a timeshare trade. Desert Breezes is a very nice resort, staff very helpful and pleasant to deal with. The room (one bedroom, 2 bath) was more than adaquate. Now I'm afraid that I can't rave about Desert Breezes simply because we are use to more services at a resort. We usually visit our home resort in Cabo San Lucas and the level of service at the resort and around the pool is exceptional. Call us spoiled but what the heck, if you're going to a resort then you should be treated like a king. And I exect a restaurant on sight but there isn't. Don't get me wrong, my wife and I would go back to Desert Breezes so I don't want anyone to think it's not worth staying at. We're just spoiled. And even thought the entire staff was wonderful I just have to say that Jennifer (desk) was great.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite Bay
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised when we checked in to this resort. Much nicer than in the pictures. Pools were not crowded and they keep the water temperature just right. Only complaint, and I understand it is a common one, is the noise level of the people walking around upstairs. The footsteps seemed to be amplified. Most of the staff were exceptional, one had a little bit of an attitude, but nothing to complain about. We found so much to do in the area. Used to think this area was just for lying by the pool and golfing, but we ran out of time before we were able to do half of the things that sounded like fun. We have already made reservations for next year. Read other reports of problems with the gate. We did not experience any problems with the gate or anything else.

Room Tip: Would take 2nd story room if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

Service was impressively bad. Rooms were cramped. Most staff spoke no English at all. Front desk frequently did not pick up the phone. It became a joke to see how long it would take them to bring something we needed. The sheets took three hours, the sugar never even came ( even after two phone calls)!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
129 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

This was my first time on the property. The grounds, onsite gym and the rooms were nice, it's not a new property. I had a studio apartment, which was good sized for two. Front desk service was just mediocre. They don't communicate on important things like promptly gates being closed after certain hour, wifi instructions, etc. Overall, just an average experience.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Resort
My wife and I spent 2 weeks at Desert Breezes in August. The resort is located within a gated community; the timeshare units are just a small part of this community. To enter, there are two entrances, and a gate card is required. When checking in, we had to call the front desk from the gate phone and give them our names, they then opened the gate remotely and we could then drive to the front desk. The timeshare units form an oval shape, with a pool and lagoon in the middle. We enjoyed a nice view of the lagoon, with the main pool in the distance. The resort is made up of several 4-plexes and some larger units, so this isn’t just a large condo building. Most buildings have their own hot tub, which is very convenient.

Desert Breezes guests are permitted to use three of the pools on the property. The main pool is in the middle of the timeshare units, there’s a smaller adults-only pool beside the reception building, and another pool at the clubhouse. The clubhouse is a short walk from the Desert Breezes units and has a fitness room and tennis courts. The nice feature about using this pool is that there are restrooms at the pool.

Rooms
We stayed in a two bedroom unit on the second floor. We had a nice sized balcony where we ate most of our meals. The units themselves are actually very very large. We own several other timeshares, and these are the largest two bedroom units that we’ve ever stayed in. I should also mention that the units have recently been renovated, and are now quite impressive. We were especially impressed with the beds and the cotton duvets and fancier linens (much nicer than most other middle-class timeshares).

Service
We had excellent service from the front desk personnel; they were helpful and check-in was a “breeze”. The cleaning personnel were very kind, but didn’t speak much English – this gave us a good opportunity to practice our broken Spanish! Being from Canada, (we don’t speak much Spanish up here) it was probably a bit more of a challenge than it may have been for a Californian, but we managed… It’s amazing how similar Spanish is to French… It made for a few good laughs with our kind cleaning lady!

Location
Desert Breezes is quite central in Palm Desert. There are many restaurants and grocery stores nearby. There’s also a bus that goes by the resort and heads south to La Quinta. The bus is cheap and we enjoyed La Quinta – it’s a very quaint little town with some good restaurants. There is a Costco and Walmart a few minutes drive from the resort, and a Vons even closer. We enjoyed eating at “The River” in Ranco Mirage (10 minute drive), walking along “El Paseo” (10 minute drive). Once per week we went to downtown Palm Springs where they have a street fair every Thursday evening – they completely shut down about 8 blocks downtown and have live music, good food and lots of shopping.

Cons
Our only negative experience was the internet. There is free wifi, but it’s really slow and the signal that we had was weak. The week that we were there, they had blocked Facebook and You Tube and some other major sites, this was very inconvenient. I’d rather pay a small fee per week and have faster internet access without blocked sites! We ended up bringing our laptop with us when we’d go out and we’d update our Facebook at Starbucks.

Recommendation
I’d definitely recommend Desert Breezes resort. The resort is nice and well maintained, the location is good and we were happy with the service.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Desert Breezes Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Breezes Resort

Address: 77-955 Calle Las Brisas South, Palm Desert, CA 92211
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Desert Breezes Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the base of the Santa Rosa Mountains you'll find 10 buildings clustered around a beautiful water feature, and surrounded by lush landscaping; Desert Breezes Resort condominiums offer exquisite luxury and comfort. Each Mediterranean-style villa has a fully equipped kitchen and cozy furnishings, and the resort includes multiple pools and spas and on-site clubhouses. It's your perfect home-away-from-home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Desert Breezes Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Breezes Hotel Palm Desert
Desert Breezes Palm

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desert Breezes Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.