We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quiet home away from home...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Desert Breezes Resort

Save Saved
You added Desert Breezes Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Desert Breezes Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   77-955 Calle Las Brisas South, Palm Desert, CA 92211   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in Palm Desert
Vancouver
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“A quiet home away from home...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

Just returned from 15 glorious days in the Palm Desert/Palm Springs area this February 2012. We stayed at the Desert Breezes Resort due to the fact I bought into this timeshare scheme for a measly $13.04, with the previous owner paying for a year's use up front for me. So I have to preface this review with the excitement of getting something for nothing, balanced against some nervous caution of staying at this location for the first time. I stayed in a one bedroom (2nd floor) facing the pool (unit 164).

There are lots of PROS to this property, with few CONS. I will list and explain each. First of all, this is a VERY QUIET residential and timeshare property. The average person staying here is of retirement age. Don't expect singles action, wild pool parties, etc.

PROS:

-Gated community with a mix of timeshares and residential properties. If you go to one of the pools at 7 p.m., it's like everyone was beamed up to Planet Snoozeville. The older folks go to bed early, but that works for me!

-All appliances and cookware are included in your suite. There is a refrigerator, stove, dishwasher, garbage disposal, toaster, blender, coffeemaker and an ice maker in the freezer part of your fridge.

-Incidental items are included in your condo such as: dishwasher crystals, dish soap, insect spray, paper towels. This saves you a few dollars on a long stay, as you will not need to purchase them.

-2 pool robes are included in each unit.

-There are many gas BBQ grills scattered all over the property and pool areas. They are magically cleaned to perfection each and every day by a nice Mexican man named, "Presto Cleano Pedro" (joking, but they are kept super, SUPER clean!). There are also BBQ implements found in your condo, for you to cook with.

-There are 3 pools, with an adult only pool near the lobby reception building.

-Use of the Club House with fitness room and 5 tennis courts (3 are lit at night). You can even sign out FREE racquets, and balls!

-Units have a free safe, but they don't look too sturdy.

-10 hot tubs scattered about the property.

-Grounds are kept EXTREMELY neat and beautiful!

-1 block walk to the Indian Wells Tennis Garden, if you like tennis.

-free WiFi (but see CONS section on this one!)

CONS:

-No on site or nearby services within walking distance. There is a vending machine on site.

-Buildings are mid-80's. Some areas of the buildings are showing some wear. They have renovated many of the units and even installed flat screen T.V's in most. Don't expect flawless luxury, but they are clean, tidy and reasonable (See my pics!).

-Club House closes at 4 p.m. Some people like to work out in the evening!

-WiFi is VERY VERY SLOW! At times, lighting the furniture on fire and sending smoke signals to Canada instead of emails, would have been a faster alternative. A TIP: there is greater bandwidth at night when the older folks are finished emailing their grand kids!

MANY WEB SITES ARE BLOCKED!! YouTube and Facebook are blocked on this network, which was frustrating. Hotmail at least works, thankfully.

All in all, a great stay. If they WiFi was better and a few touch ups made, I would give them 5 stars. I have stayed at many of the higher end places in the area such as Hyatt Grand Champion, La Quinta Resort and Spa, etc., (read these reviews by me if you wish a comparison). I would rate Desert Breezes as very family orientated. Great for a golf and tennis holiday and/or nice relaxed getaway in the desert. It's homey and it felt like home when I was there. It doesn't have the plastic and corporate feel, which is nice. And it was quiet. I could actually hear myself think for a change...lol.

4 out of 5 stars and I will see you by the pool next March! I'll be the drunk young whipper snapper at the age of 46 near the pool...

Cheers.

Room Tip: The 2nd floor rooms have vaulted ceilings and have a "bigger" feel to them. Get a 1 bedroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    26
    9
    8
    7
See reviews for
24
26
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mercer Island, Washington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

This property was comfortable, clean and well located. We had a two bedroom, two bath second floor unit. It was overlooking the beautiful pool and gardens and the mountains were in the distance. The unit was stocked with everything we needed. There were many amenitites on the property. The staff was friendly. We hope to come back here again next year.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

Location was great, film festival amazing, room .... HORRIBLE! We had a one bedroom , sleep 4 condo. The couch made into a bed. However there was only one bathroom and that bathroom had NO privacy. The vanity area was completly open to the living room. There is a door where the tub and toilet are, however that room is about 6 foot by 3 foot! When you open the door , you had to step in and then close the door. The door was about a quarter of an inch from the tub. After bathing you had no place to dress, brush your teeth or fix your hair without everyone in the apartment seeing you. If you were the one staying in the bedroom you had to walk through the living room to get in and out of the bathroom. I would certainly never stay here again. On the up side, the staff was great. We checked out a day early and continued our stay in a motel six .. which had more privacy than the Desert Breezes! Not a good experience!

Room Tip: Make sure you check your room for privacy before you accept it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

We traded for this one bedroom condo and were not disappointed. We stayed in an upstairs unit and it was really nice. A very large living/dining room. Nice size kitchen, large bedroom and bath. Overall we really enjoyed the location and the experience. We got an upstairs unit, so it had a vaulted ceiling and two nice balconies. One overlooking the pool. Very quiet too! The only downside is that the central heating unit fan is really loud - we over came this by just shutting the bathroom door since the fan was in there. Loved the whole unit, but the bathroom is a bit small. Bedding was really nice, living room furniture was plain but adequate. Pools and grounds are immaculate. Overall a wonderful stay and we would go again.

Room Tip: Upstairs has vaulted ceilings and are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, Cal., USA
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

We had a one bedroom suite. Newly painted and new carpet. Nice kitchen area. We were on first floor and it was very quiet. Great swimming pool and several spas. Several locations to Bar-B-Que. Office had computers for internet use. Very helpful and friendly staff. My wife and I would go back anytime!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

This timeshare exchange was a 4 seasons (1/4) ownership. We were pleasantly surprised at the accommodations which had been totally updated. You never know what to expect with timeshare's. There were just a few timeshares in an otherwise residential, walled, community.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulsan, South Korea
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

This was our second visit after 4 years and will be our last.
It is a gated community which means all entrances are locked at 21h30?
So don't arrive after this hour. We did, and had to wait 10 mins for a guest to return before
we could enter the premises. This HUGE resort shuts down and leaves 1 lady/gent at the reception desk.....so if she/he is busy....you wait!
Half way through our week they shut the main pool which was'nt far from our apartment and from then on we were subjected to a pneumatic drill every day while they removed all the tiles in the pool. after 5 days we had to remind them we had/nt been serviced!!
You have to have keys/cards for everywhere one goes on the premises which is frustrating ....Management was BAD, while the staff tried to help. We really had a bad
week. It was interesting to note that 90% of the guests we spoke to were only there for a few nights or weekend. We really chose a BAD week but MANAGEMENT were NOT at all
concerned about the inconvenience to visitors which really upset us.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Desert Breezes Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Breezes Resort

Address: 77-955 Calle Las Brisas South, Palm Desert, CA 92211
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Desert
#12 Romantic Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Desert Breezes Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the base of the Santa Rosa Mountains you'll find 10 buildings clustered around a beautiful water feature, and surrounded by lush landscaping; Desert Breezes Resort condominiums offer exquisite luxury and comfort. Each Mediterranean-style villa has a fully equipped kitchen and cozy furnishings, and the resort includes multiple pools and spas and on-site clubhouses. It's your perfect home-away-from-home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Expedia, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Desert Breezes Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Breezes Hotel Palm Desert
Desert Breezes Palm

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desert Breezes Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.