We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay - reasonably priced” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II to your Saves list
Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1091 Pinehurst Lane, Palm Desert, CA 92260   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Palm Desert
Certificate of Excellence
Colchester, Essex
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay - reasonably priced”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2010

This was the third year running that we have been to Palm Desert, we love the area and now that we have found the Desert Villas II it probaly won't be the last. We had booked a one room villa and when we arrived the receptionist recommended the first floor as it would be quieter and would also have a balcony. It could not have been better, it was close to the entrance and well away from the pools. The apartment was spacious, clean and very well equipped. The bed was extremely comfortable. Both the lounge and the bedroom had a large flat-screen TV. The beauty of having an apartment is that we were able to have a proper cup of tea in the morning. We liked it so much that we tried to extend our stay for a fifth day but decided against it as we would not have been able to stay in the same apartment.
One of the main benefits of staying here was that we were able to walk to the J W Marriott Hotel without incurring parking fees. The hotel is superb but I still preferred the Desert Villas II.
The only negative point was that when we arrived we were referred to a Marriott Vacation Club representative who tried to get us to visit the Marriott Shadow Ridge resort and look at their time-share options. The incentive was a $150 voucher. After a few phone calls we decided that it was easier to go along and spend a couple of hours being shown their new resort. It wasn't a particularly hard sell and we were able to leave quite easily with the voucher.
Overall our experience was great and we were sorry to leave. I would definately recommend this to others.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    357
    252
    65
    38
    26
See reviews for
311
222
10
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sf Bay Area
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2010

We came for a week's stay, after Spring Breakers had left. Greeted warmly, given great discounts and info by check-in staff. When I called ahead to ask for any upgrades the very nice Marriott employee recommended I ask for golf course views, and ground floor condo, which made a huge difference when we arrived. Our room was very spacious, huge bathroom, kitchen living area and great patio that looked onto golf course. Daily maid service, and in-room washer and dryer. Enjoyed being able to cook our own breakfasts, appetizers, etc. Loved having morning coffee on our patio, watching, geese, ducks and hummingbirds. The bed was great, good linens, feather-top mattress. Many pools at the condos, but we rented bikes for our stay, from the Sandcastle, and enjoyed biking over to the J.W. Mariott Hotel and using their pool.
These condos are quiet, w/lots of families, so bring a book, a friend, or be prepared to make you own entertainment. We loved it!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, CA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2010

My wife and I celebrated our 12th Anniversary this past December and I decided that it was just going to be about us. So we left the kids with her parents and got away. We love Palm Springs and the surrounding area. In fact, we cant wait to move down there.

A friend of mine at work got us this great deal with the hotel room costing us only around $200 for the whole week so we couldnt miss it. We arrived and I must say the room was very nice. I cant say much about the view other than it was nice to be able to see the mountains from outside. The weather was great and after a couple of days we missed the kids because we love having those kids with us.

We went and did some hiking to make the days go by. We did some shopping at the Palm Desert Mall and some dinner in Laguna Beach for our anniversary. Other than that we spent most of the time in the room relaxing watching tv and just enjoying the peace and quiet. On our last day we went up to the top of Mount San Jacinto using the Desert Tram. Very cool ride. The snow at the top was amazing. What an amazing temperature difference too. Down below it was about 78 degrees and up top it was about 40 degrees.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffany Voorberg
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2010

We just returned from a trip to California and stayed at the Desert Springs Villas II. We rented a full unit with the lockout for our family, which allowed us to sleep 4 adults and 2 children very comfortably. The full size kitchen and outdoor patios were great too. The resort is very clean, the staff are friendly and helpful and the grounds and pools are amazing. The Sandcastle activity centre was the perfect place to go to borrow board games and outdoor sports equipment and do crafts with our young sons. Even grandma and grandpa paid a visit to take a jewellery class! You can rent bicycles as well, though we found we spent most of our time by the pool instead. There are many pools throughout the resort, but we spent our time at the main Palmeras pool, which has a wading pool, lap pool, kids pool, regular pools and several hot tubs. The kids playground is covered so as to not get too hot; a very nice touch. It was also nice to be able to take the shuttle if we went for a walk up to the hotel and the kids were too tired to make the walk back. The service we received was outstanding and was excellent value for the money. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2010

The rooms and size were okay, after switching a few times due to broken items (knobs,door). The bed is comfy if you like it on the stiffer (harder) side of matress types. But, the matress on the sofa bed is minimum, meaning its cheap, you can feel the springs digging in your body when you lay on it. (Marriott could do much much better). Basic maid service (towels, garbage & bed service only). Shopping for food, snacks only minutes drive away.
On the positive, the gas grill (BYOB Utensils), grounds, main pool and free internet were all excellence and a welcome bonus.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinderwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2010

My husband and I stayed in Jasmine Court, the newest bit of Desert Springs Villas II at the Marriott Resort. Jasmine Court is remote from the rest of the complex and you cannot walk to the other parts, such as Villas II or the hotel, without crossing the golf course which is not allowed. Hence, you have no choice other than to drive over in your own car or request for a shuttle or walk about a mile and a half around the outside of the complex. There is no regular shuttle service to and fro but there is an excellent on-demand shuttle service provided. This does, however, make leaving one's villa less of a spur of the moment thing and adds to the feeling of isolation one feels at Jasmine Court, which is a collection of villa blocks, a pool, a club house (open 8 to 4) and a small gym. All the other facilities are elsewhere on this huge acerage development. Our villa was beautiful, a one bedroom with a one-bedroom lock-off studio which we had intended to use for friends travelling with us, who unfortunately could not come at the last minute. The villas are spacious, well kept and fully equippped and could not be faulted. My main gripe is that the golf course which ajoins Jasmine Court is maintained very early in the morning. As our patio overlooked the second green, we were treated to grass mowing every morning at 6 a.m., which is not great if you are on holiday! We made it to the Marriott hotel twice - once for drinks in the bar (quite sensational but beginning to look its age) and once for dinner in the Lakeview restaurant for their prime rib and seafood buffet. The latter was an extensive spread and beautifully presented and a lovely evening. The main restaurants on the resort are only open at the weekend which meant we had to either cater for ourselves or go off resort to eat. There are other restaurants over the road from the hotel but this would involve quite a lot of walking/shuttling from Jasmine Court. There are also hundreds of other dining opportunities in easy driving distance. Whilst I thoroughly enjoyed staying here, I felt rather isolated and remote from the main resort and the result was that the place seemed a bit lifeless. Having said that, if it's peace and quiet that you want, this place is for you!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, MN
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2010

Just spent a week at Desert Spings in January 2010. It was excellent. The rooms were spacious and comfortable. The grounds are immaculate. Definitely will go back again.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II

Address: 1091 Pinehurst Lane, Palm Desert, CA 92260
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Desert
#2 Family Hotel in Palm Desert
#5 Romantic Hotel in Palm Desert
#7 Business Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II 3.5*
Number of rooms: 804
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo and Marriott so you can book your Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Desert Springs Villas Ii Hotel Palm Desert
Marriotts Palm Desert
Marriott Palm Desert
Palm Desert Marriotts
Palm Springs Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.