We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing vacation with children” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II

Save Saved
You added Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1091 Pinehurst Lane, Palm Desert, CA 92260   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #7 of 22 hotels in Palm Desert
Ojai, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing vacation with children”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I chose to stay in Jasmine court because it is indeed set apart from the main villas and resort. I am so glad we did. Our villa is beautiful and quiet. We have had dinner every night out on the patio. We are right up against the golf course and it's lovely. Even my 13 year old daughter was struck by the tranquility and scenery. We have all enjoyed the jacuzzi tub in our room and the kitchen was much better stocked than I expected. The rooms are very nice and maid service showed up today much to my surprise. We did not think it was included. The pools are great because they are salt water not chlorine but they are a little loud with all the children. This is a great place for families maybe not so great for couples. We have only been to 2 pools so far. The one here at Jasmine court and a very small one over by the rec center. We have had a very nice vacation thus far and are looking forward to a jeep tour tomorrow. I recommend this resort/timeshare property for families with younger kids/teens. There are basketball courts, volley ball nets, pool tables, ping pong and all sorts of activities to keep them active so that I may get some lounge time in the pool and not have to worry. I have been to more upscale time share/resorts but this fit our needs just fine. The children have had a wonderful time and I have been able to truly relax. One tip, if you plan on using the sofa/sleeper check for linens. If they are not in the room call early for them to bring bedding. I found out at 9pm that there were no sheets and waited until 10pm for house keeping to show up.

Room Tip: Jasmine court is quiet. Patio or balcony are your preference. We were on the bottom floor and never...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    253
    201
    58
    31
    23
See reviews for
233
170
6
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

We had a fantastic week in our beautifully updated one bedroom villa! We were very comfortable...full kitchen...great bed in master and living room pullout! Plenty of room for a family of 4 (2 boys 10 and 13) with 1200 sq feet. We used the BBQ one night over looking the golf course....awesome! Pools were nice but crowded(spring break). We mostly ate dinner out...in palm desert and at a few of the nice restaurants at neighborly JW Marriott(who had awesome Easter bunny parachuting onto front lawn Easter egg hunt to meet 100s of kiddos)! Loved food at Rockwood!
Also, Marriott does a great job of NOT charging all the misc fees....ie no Internet, resort or parking fees. Great! But note, as a timeshare condo we did not have housekeeping( or room service) You can pay extra if you want it.
In terms of service, Petra, Delores and Cristina at registration. went above and beyond to make sure we had everything we needed. And Nellie, the concierge, helped me successfully map out all the fun excursions I wanted...she was a big help. Thank you all!! We enjoyed WW2 airplane museum in Palm Springs, climbing incredible rocks at Joshua Tree(felt like we were on mars!), and Indian Canyons! Recommend them all!! The desert offered much more than we thought it would! We would highly recommend staying at the Marriott desert springs villas!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I have never been disappointed with this chain and once we were extremely pleased. This resort which is really a time share, had everything you could possibly ask for. The units are very clean, updated and provides all amenities. It's a large property but very easy to get around. There are several pools on the property and the 2 main ones are fabulous. Their fitness centre is probably the best I have seen of any hotel I stayed at. Room service is excellent and fast (we requested fresh towels or a quick cleaning). I would recommend staying in a 1brdm unit with a family, unless it is just two of you.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

The Desert Spring Villas were nice and clean. I would've rather have stayed at the main resort for convenience of Starbucks and restaurants. The villas are very nice for extended stays. The room had a kitchenette and the community has a convenient store with a Starbucks inside (within walking distance). It is a perfect place to bring children because they have activities and movies all day (for children and adults). The pools are nice with several to choose from. Parking was free and right outside your door. I really like that they had a couple of routes included on their property map for walkers/runners.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

First things first - this is NOT a resort like some people are saying or thinking. It's a Marriott Vacation Club - they are villa/condo type properties. If you travel at all or stay in these types of places, they you will be very happy with your stay like we were. There is no room service because again, it's a vacation club - it's not a resort. They don't have the exact same amenities as say the JW Marriott which is a resort. If you want that, then don't book here. You'll get a kitchen with basic utensils, dishes, glasses and such, but don't expect a full gourmet kitchen full of every gadget known to man.

We had a beautiful one bedroom villa in building 848 (2267) and it was fabulous. We had called two weeks prior and requested a second floor corner unit and our request was met. If you don't mind hauling all your luggage up the stairs, then I would highly recommend the second floor. First floor units, you will hear everyone upstairs walking, closing doors, moving chairs, etc. Be warned. Even with our neighbor next door, we could hear their TV full blast through the walls. Thankfully, they went to bed early so we didn't have to listen to it all night long.

Our room was very clean (no bugs like I think some have had issues with) and we had a gorgeous view of the 7th hole with the mountains in the background. We had a separate dining room area, a living room, bar counter space with chairs if we wanted to eat in the kitchen and the bedroom had a huge sunk in tub and separate vanity and in a separate room was a big walk in shower with another vanity and toilet. We also had a washer and dryer in the unit which was handy. We had daily maid "freshening up" service which they just make the bed (not changing the sheets) and replenishing towels, soaps, shampoos, paper towels, dish soap, etc. Not sure if we just stayed on a good weekend or what as I know there are a lot of complaints on here about lack of housekeeping services.

We had requested a crib and a high chair and when we got to our room it was there. I wished I had known that the crib was really a pack and play - so I could have figured out something else. My son doesn't sleep that well in it and I don't blame him - the "mattress" is a piece of cardboard with a small layer of foam on it. But we adapted and didn't let it ruin our time there.

My two biggest complaints were one being the shampoo/soaps. They are definitely not a Category 6 level product - it was called Fresh Kiss or something like that and it was so sugary smelling and I felt unclean after using it so much so that we ran to Target to get our own stuff. My second complaint was the front desk/check in. The staff wasn't very friendly and we were continually told our room would be ready in 15 minutes.... well three plus hours later, after 5:15 our room was ready. We checked in at 1:30 and figured our room wasn't ready since check in was at 4, but they said that they should be able to get us in early. We went and hung by the pool so it wasn't that big of a deal, but we had our 11 month old son with us so it would have been nice to have been told a more realistic time so we could adjust for naps and his feedings.

All in all, we had a wonderful stay - the property is beautiful with tons of pools, activities and of course golf. We would definitely come back for another stay sometime in the future!

Room Tip: If you are sensitive to noise, request a room on the 2nd floor as the floors are thin and you hear e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We booked via Vacation Candy and had an excellent experience. The entire booking process was easy and the rental was amazing. The property was beautiful and so convenient. we stayed in the 2 bedroom condo and the view was just incredible. Would do it all again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So-So Cal
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

This is resort vacationing on an institutional scale -- Marriott style. We wanted to slip over to the desert for a quick weekend trip -- one night only -- and would have preferred something smaller and more intimate, But it was the tennis tournament weekend in March, and town was nearly sold out. While the resort is lovely, if you like that sort of thing, I don't recommend it for an overnight stay. Check-in is at 4 p.m. (we tried to get in early, but couldn't) and check out is 10 a.m. And the villa where we stayed was about a two-mile drive from where we checked in. For a week of golf or lounging by the pool, the Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II would be dandy. For a weekend getaway, skip the hassle and find something in the small, old mid-century Palm Springs tradition.

Room Tip: Go for the one-bedroom. The "studio" would be cramped and unpleasant for more than a nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II

Address: 1091 Pinehurst Lane, Palm Desert, CA 92260
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Desert
#4 Romantic Hotel in Palm Desert
#5 Family Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, Tingo, Travelocity and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Desert Springs Villas Ii Hotel Palm Desert
Marriotts Palm Desert
Marriott Palm Desert
Palm Desert Marriotts
Palm Springs Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.