We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 night stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II to your Saves list
Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1091 Pinehurst Lane, Palm Desert, CA 92260   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Palm Desert
Alta Loma, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“2 night stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We own at Shadow Ridge but wanted to try this resort. We stayed in a 1 bedroom condo-like unit. It was remodeled and very nice. It was really spacious. The patio on the balcony was great size and we had a beautiful view of the desert mountains and a lake. The only thing I didn't like was the new furniture. The couch and living room chairs were too hard. They weren't comfortable to sit in. In the past, the Marriott time share units had comfy furniture. But it seems when they remodel they choose hard cushions. Another thing I don't like is the 10am checkout. That's too early. I wish they would change that for 1-3 day stays. But overall it's a beautiful property with plenty of room in the units.

Room Tip: I liked the corner upstairs room that has a very high ceiling, There are not many of those; but it s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    219
    63
    33
    24
See reviews for
261
193
7
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
El Cajon, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

This is an excellent property. It was both well-appointed and quiet in our ground-floor unit. My only complaint was that their on-property convenience store that is advertised to stay open until 10pm had its door locked when we arrived at 9:57pm. The clerk was at the counter going through her receipts, so it looked like the place had closed well before we got there. For the amount of $$ this place charges per night, the store should be open when it's supposed to be.

My other complaint was the thickness of the pillows, but that's just a matter of taste. Be aware that renovations are underway in some areas, but it had no impact on our visit.

Everything else was really nice. I recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I am a rewards member of Marriott for the last 15 years and stayed at numerous Marriotts worldwide. This property should be an embarrassment to the company. The check in took about 45 minutes as there was a disagreement with the online booking. The check-in clerics (both of them) were completely rude and disrespectful - not at all what one has come to expect form Marriott employees. The manager when called was as rude as you can be - and never even addressed us, just the cleric who summoned her and acted annoyed to have been bothered by the cleric. The room service was non existent. The previous tenant had left bird feathers on the floor along with the smell of birds - this is a time share so the owners do bring their pets with them - but for the housecleaning not to clean up the room is not acceptable. We spend time at the Mariott resort next door and found that resort to be excellent in typical Mariott fashion. So I am not sure why a timeshare next door is so poorly managed. Do not stay at this timeshare for less money you can stay at the resort next door and get typical excellent service consistent with Marriott way of doing business.
.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

It is perfect, no...but it come close for an older timeshare.
They do spend a lot of time and money keeping the units updated.
Customer Service is outstanding. Especially-
The front desk manager
The Shade manager Megan and the Super Gabriel.

It is a "Gotta Go; kinda place.

IHG,
Rube

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a week starting December 9th through Interval International's exchange program, and I have to say, this is one of the nicest places we've ever visited. We had a two bedroom, two-bath, lower floor unit that overlooked the ponds and golf course, and we had views of the mountains as well. The rooms were large, and very clean. We arrived about an hour before the usual check-in time, but they were able to accommodate us in getting into our rooms early. We only used one of the pools, which was one designated as a quiet area. No rowdy kids running around at that pool, which was nice. There are apparently many activities the resort offers, but since we spent most of our time visiting friends in Palm Desert, we did not participate in any of the activities. One of the best things was seeing the diverse bird life on the proprty. We found out that the resort was working with a large wildlife conservation organization to make the grounds a more suitable habitat for wildlife. We enjoyed sitting on our patio and drinking our coffee while watching the various ducks, herons, cormorants, egrets, etc. that call this place home. It was so peaceful and serene. We hated to leave. We will definitely return.

Stayed December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed at this property with 2 couples. We were there off season (May) and the value for the price we paid was incredible. Very clean. 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, both bedrooms offering King size beds, which is great and sometimes hard to find if you are traveling with 2 couples. Full laundry. 2 balconies. Access to a very clean outdoor area next to each "villa" with outdoor tables and incredibly clean gas grills (we actually saw them clean our grill twice and we were there for 4 days).

Nice pool as well as sizeable gym.

Would surely stay there again - couldn't ask for a nicer more spacious room for the money!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Rochelle, New York
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We traded our timeshare for a week at this property. Marriott continues to be at the top of the food chain when it comes to timeshare units. The unit was modern, fresh looking, and very comfortable.

For some reason the DVD player was not connected to the TV. I would have connected the DVD player myself but the TV (large flat screen) is bolted in. I stopped at the front desk and informed them of the problem. They said it would be taken care of. Came back later to find the DVD player was still not connected. I called the front desk. They said they would have it taken care of right away. Within 15 minutes a serviceman came and connected it quickly.

The staff is very service oriented and seem to be ready and willing to help with any questions or needs. We would definitely exchange into this property again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II

Address: 1091 Pinehurst Lane, Palm Desert, CA 92260
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Desert
#3 Romantic Hotel in Palm Desert
#5 Family Hotel in Palm Desert
#8 Business Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II 3.5*
Number of rooms: 804
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Desert Springs Villas Ii Hotel Palm Desert
Marriotts Palm Desert
Marriott Palm Desert
Palm Desert Marriotts
Palm Springs Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.