We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marriott Delivers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II to your Saves list
Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1091 Pinehurst Lane, Palm Desert, CA 92260   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rewards Members Save 25%
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Palm Desert
La Mirada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Marriott Delivers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

We stayed in our timeshare villa over the Christmas Holidays with our family. We were not satisfied with the first room that we were assigned and the representative at the customer service desk was courteous enough to provide us with another room that had a great view of the golf couse and mountains. In addition, the room was located across the street from the swimming pool where our grand kids could enjoy the heated pool. The rooms had been recently updated so the furniture and room colors were to our liking. The weather was fantastic and we all enjoyed a one week stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    209
    62
    32
    23
See reviews for
247
179
6
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stevenson Ranch, California
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

Villas I was not available this time so we took Villas II and we were kindof disappointed. Let me state that this is a beautiful resort but our main reason to go was to have family time, watch movies and play games. The layout of the living room is not set up for this, it is too small and there is not enough seating. The couch is a pullout so it was not even comfortable to sit on. We asked for a renovated room with a view and found out that there are no renovated rooms near the golf course so our view was of the mountains facing Cook St. It was still lovely sitting outside having coffee in the morning and we were close to the activites center and the pool which was nice. ( we lucked out and had beautifuly weather in January). The kitchen is not stocked very well so you'll have to improvise to get your meals cooked, i.e. there was a small pot and a stock pot but no medium size, there are fry pans but no lids. You can make it work. I'm still a fan of the Marriott but I will stick with Villas I.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

As always, the marriott delivers comfort, service, and quality. Although the units show slight signs of wear, the property, pools, and grounds are among the best. The J.W. Marriott right next door offered a wonderful New Year's celebration. People young and old attended. A live band rocked the lobby, and it was more like a wedding celebration than a "drunken revelers". A huge big screen T.V. has been mounted in the main lobby. They counted down the new year along with times square @ 9:00 PST, then again at midnight Pacific Standard time. We were more emotional counting down the early one with kids and grand kids, than back in the quiet of our villa for our real time midnight after babies were asleep.

Room Tip: we like a view of a duck pond overlooking golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

There are many options here that every day you can choose to do a lot, or very little. It's all great fun in the desert. It's as luxurious and relaxing as you wish it to be.

Room Tip: Close to the pool(s) if you have kids, away from the pools, if you prefer more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, CA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

we stayed here from 12/25/11 - 1/1/2012, my husband, myself and dad who turned 89 the week we were here. check-in was fast and easy..i'd reserved an accessible room since dad typically uses a shower chair. i was pleasantly surprised that the 2 bedroom unit had walk in showers w/foldout bench in both units. the larger unit had a huge jacuzzi tub, the smaller unit has a regular tub. lots of grab bars in the bathrooms. and the bathrooms/tubs/showers were clean. no complaints here. I would have preferred a mid week housekeeping, they offer a 'tidy service' for about $40 and a full housekeeping for $95. we decided to skip that. the large unit has an LG large washer and dryer w/soap for one load. the kitchen came w/lots of coffee filters, and one regular and one decaf packet. Ralph's is very close by, though on 12/25 the closest Ralph's was closed so we went to a different one that closed at 7pm. the resort offers a lot of activities for families, we didn't partake of any as we were out and about. we braved the shoppers at the Cabazon outlet mall on 12/26 but didn't realize it opened at 7am, we arrived around 10:15am to park in the dirt a looong way away, but the deals were worth it!
We were here on a guest certificate and again we were pleasantly surprised that there were no pushy salespeople asking us to attend a presentation. we did take the shuttle to the JW Marriott resort to see the inside of the hotel which is beautiful. I like our villa a lot, the free wifi worked great. Parking was free and we were fortunate to always have the handicapped space available when we returned to our unit. I agree w/others that if you can get the upper level, take it. there is no elevator so you must be able to climb steps. We didn't watch tv until close to the end of the week but there are lots of stations and we received daily USA today which was also very nice. I'm not giving this a 5 star due to it not offering mid week housekeeping - so if possible I would give it 4.5 stars.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, NY
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

We just returned from a six day stay at Villas II. We traded into a lock-off via Interval and were very pleased. We knew it would be tight with two adults and two teens, but we didn't spend much time in the room and it was adequate. The pull-out is not terribly comfortable but we were tired at the end of our days, so it was OK. The king bed is heavenly.

The first thing you must know is that the grounds are beautiful here. If you are into tennis, the facilities here are tremendous! Hard courts, grass and clay...all in one place! We received one hour of court time free per day with our villa. (They mentioned that this may change soon so please check prior to booking) We did the 4.0+ clinic which was pretty good and we played in the round robin that was really fun because you get to play on all three surfaces. The staff was great and very available! Very impressive. The tennis show on Saturday is a hoot!

Our check in went smoothly. Our only issue the entire week was that the villa did not have bedding for the pull-out or enough towels when we arrived. However, with one phone call we received everything within a half hour. Our villa had a salt water pool immediately outside our patio. It was very convenient. There was a hot tub there too that was really hot! Some resort hot tubs are not. This one was great.

Our villa had a small kitchenette. It was equipped with a small fridge, microwave, toaster and coffee maker. There was china, glasses, utensils etc. for two. We just supplemented with paper plates. The resort supplied a small bottle of dish detergent, coffee filters, a sponge and paper towels. That was great! We were able to manage breakfasts and lunches at the villa and only needed to go out for dinners.

While this lock-off unit did not have laundry in it, there was a laundry room within 50 feet (in the pool building) where there were machines at no cost. One single-use box of Tide was supplied in the villa.

Many staff members told us that the resort was booked to capacity since it was the week between Christmas and New Years. But we never once felt it was crowded. Not even close. The grounds are very large and lush. I guess there is plenty of room for everyone.

We didn't do any of the scheduled events, but there seemed to be many offered, especially for children.

There are gas grills between buildings for guest use. The proximity to the JW Marriott is a plus! It is a short walk over. The beautiful lobby contains a Starbucks. There are other restaurants on the property, but we didn't eat at any of them.

There are numerous restaurants, grocery stores, drug stores, etc. just up the road from the resort. You don't feel isolated, yet when on the property, it is relaxed and serene. Palm Desert is a lovely place. The views of the mountains in the distance are spectacular. The grounds are beautifully kept, the pools are clean and the villas are well-appointed. Therefore, despite the initial problem with the linen and towels, I give this resort an excellent rating! I can't wait to return!

Room Tip: Jasmine Court rooms are further from the JW and the tennis center. If you want secluded and quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

We stayed here with two families. There was plenty of room in the 2 bedroom villa. Washer and Dryers were in the unit, that was nice! The only not so nice part of the space were the old white wash cabinets and the shower was pretty gross. Everything else was maintained very well. The maintenance man was pleasant. We had to call them out a couple of times to fix the DVD player. It would have made our experience better if they offered housekeeping services. I would prefer to stay at a regular hotel in the future just for that service alone! Lots of kids activities here!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II

Address: 1091 Pinehurst Lane, Palm Desert, CA 92260
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Desert
#3 Romantic Hotel in Palm Desert
#5 Family Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II 3.5*
Number of rooms: 804
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Desert Springs Villas Ii Hotel Palm Desert
Marriotts Palm Desert
Marriott Palm Desert
Palm Desert Marriotts
Palm Springs Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.