We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trick Shower and Heating System” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn Palm Desert

Save Saved
You added Fairfield Inn Palm Desert to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Fairfield Inn Palm Desert
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   72-322 Hwy 111, Palm Desert, CA 92260   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #20 of 22 hotels in Palm Desert
Blythe, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Trick Shower and Heating System”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Before a stay at the Fairfield Inn Palm Desert, you should know to turn the shower on you must
turn to the left while pulling very hard. I've never encountered this particular trick to turning on water, so when the water did not come on when I pulled, pushed, turned left, turned right, I thought it was broken. I called the front desk who told me, "Oh, customers have trouble turning on the showers all the time." I suggested if it's a common problem they may want to post instructions. Since I doubt that will happen ... turn to the left and pull hard. As far as the heat goes, the thermostat will show whatever temperature you choose, but apparently only actually heats if you call the front desk, who again will tell you "Customers can never get those to work." and they always have to send their maintenance man to "fix" them. So go forewarned, ask for extra blankets and anticipate some interaction with the hotel staff. The staff are friendly and seem to accept these idiosyncrasies as the norm. Otherwise, the room was clean, beds comfortable, the TV worked, no fridge, convenient location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    28
    35
    14
    9
See reviews for
29
30
14
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Trabuco Canyon, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed here two nights in November. The first room (210) faced the parking lot and hwy 111. The room was fine but the sound of the cars on the highway kept waking me up all night. The second night we moved to room 305. It was on the top floor facing the courtyard/pool area. The rooms on the 3rd floor have balconies! The rooms on the first floor have patios and the rooms on the second floor have neither! Also, room 305 had a microwave and mini refrigerator which the first room did not! The room was a nice size and the beds were comfortable. I did not see any bugs/cockroaches like one lady mentioned but she was on the ground floor. The breakfast is fine - waffles, cereal, toast, bagels, yogurts, coffee, oj, etc. It's not gourmet but you should be satisfied or you're too picky and shouldn't stay at a Fairfield Inn. It's not a JW Marriott and the rates reflect that. Our average daily rate was $100.00 on a holiday weekend! The location is very good if you want to be close to El Paseo, Living Desert - great for kids!, and many restaurants. Final shout out to Dillon at the Front Desk who was so polite and accomodating! Thank you!

Room Tip: Third floor overlooking the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joelene S, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn Palm Desert, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear J H,
Thank you for taking the time out of your day to review our hotel, we greatly appreciate your feedback. Sorry about the first room you recieved facing the Hwy, that is a complaint we get ocassionally but it comes at the price of a location such as ours. I'm glad to hear you liked the room on the third floor facing the pool area, for that is a great corridor to be on. We are glad to hear you understand we are not a JW but will have a full hot breakfast as of March 2013, and we'd love to have you come back and try it out. We are glad to hear the Dillon was on top of everything and made your stay more enjoyable. Thank you again for letting know about your stay.

Thank You,
Joelene Sorrell

Director of Sales
Fairfield Inn
72322 Hwy 111
Palm Desert, Ca 92260
T: 760-341-9100 ext 170
F: 760-773-3515
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We recently stayed again at the Palm Desert Fairfield Inn. The hotel is located on highway 111, and is walking distance to IHOP across street and Pizza Hut in same parking lot. Within easy driving distance are many shops, the Living Desert, and other restaurants. This hotel is about a 30 min drive from Palm Springs Airport.

Our room was functional but nothing special. The linens and towels were clean, beds were comfortable, and Wi-Fi was fine. Electric plugs for charging electronics were limited. Carpeting, furnishings, and bed coverings looked tired. Our room as well as the lobby and eating area need a deep cleaning and dusting.

Staff was friendly and seemed to be trying hard to insure guests are happy.

Despite the weary feel of the place, we'd stay here again.

Room Tip: Upper floor room not facing Highway 111 for quiet.
See more room tips
Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joelene S, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn Palm Desert, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear TouristeSeatte,
Thank you for letting us know how your stay was at our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay for the most part, except for the weary feeling of the hotel. We are facing a full renovation and hope that you will return after it has finished and your impression will be drastically changed. Let us know when you're returning, for we'd like to insure you a newly renovated room to make your expirence memorable.

Thank You,
Joelene Sorrell

Director of Sales
Fairfield Inn
72322 Hwy 111
Palm Desert, Ca 92260
T: 760-341-9100 ext 170
F: 760-773-3515
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vista, Ca
Top Contributor
270 reviews 270 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

This property is getting dated and needs some attention. Its status also is reflected in the clientel it attracts. We had a large king room on the 3rd floor with a small pretty much useless balcony. With just an easy chair an ottoman in one side of the room, the room looked sparse and a couch and table would have been appreciated instead. Fridge kind of stuck out making the room look cheap. Faucet in bathtub barely worked. My wife did not find a hairdryer after washing her hair but latter we saw there was one in the room but on the closet shelf and not near the sink. Speaking of the closet area it is very visable since there are no doors. While they had HBO the room lacked the little brochure that is found is most other properties with HBO. We were looking forward to the breakfast which we had on previous occasions and in this respect we were also disappointed. Coffee ran out and was not replaced until we were done with breakfast. Tables were dirty and not cleaned. The highlight of the breakfast should have been the waffles since they have strawberries and whipped cream available. Unfortunately, the waffle machine or the batter was off since the waffle got undercooked and was chewey and not nice and light and crisp as it should have been. After 11PM there was a lot of noise out in the hall but we couldn't see anything. People walking around opening and closing doors loudly. We though kids maybe running around. Then at around 2AM people walking around, talking loudly and opening closing doors. Next morning we saw the large pizza box in the hall and also the beer bottles. Speaking of the halls, in the morning very dirty with other things strewn about like wrappers, small milk cartons. All in all, while I rated it average that is not one expects from a Marriott property. In the past, I was a Marriott shareholder and my cousin was a VP with them and traveled with Bill Marriott sometimes, so I am pretty sure the title of this review is accurate.

Room Tip: Room not facing the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joelene S, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn Palm Desert, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear PopTopBob,
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your stay at our hotel. I apologize that you were very dissatisfied with your stay. We at the fairfield Inn try very hard to make our guests happy, and have seem to fall short in this case. We understand the confusion with the hairdryer for it is in a very unusal spot, though that is the new Marriott standard for its placement. I'm sorry that you did not enjoy the balcony as most guests do, but we are facing a renovation and not only will the balcony furniture be changed; but the room set up/furniture as well. We are sorry that you feel that our hotel attracts undesirable people and that the halls were dirty. I will insure you I will give this review to the staff so they are also aware of where the hotel has let you as a customer down. Thank you again for letting us know how your stay was, and we sincerely apologize.

Thank You,
Joelene Sorrell

Director of Sales
Fairfield Inn
72322 Hwy 111
Palm Desert, Ca 92260
T: 760-341-9100 ext 170
F: 760-773-3515
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Overall, we had a positive experience at this property. The rooms need to be refreshed but the beds were comfortable and everything was clean. The only problems we encountered was the time it took for the water in the faucets to get hot, and a rattling noise in the A/C unit. We must have been at the end of the plumbing run because it took a while and there was nothing we could do about that. The noise in the A/C unit was taken care of very quickly and was not a problem during the rest of our stay.

The free wi-fi was nice. It being November, we didn't have a chance to use the pool but noticed that the pool guy was out there both days of our stay keeping it clean.

The free breakfast was good but limited to the basics. Food was replenished at regular intervals and even late arrivals got their choices.

The front desk staff was very helpful and very friendly. Check in and check out was handled quickly and professionally.

Room Tip: Even though it's a walk, get a room in the back on the east side - it's farther from the str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joelene S, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn Palm Desert, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Jerry P,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed our hotel and had a positive expirence. Like mentioned in the other responses, we are facing a full renovation and those little issues you encountered will be diminished. We hope that you will continue to use our hotel and have an even better expirence after the new year and into the new generation remodel.

Thank You,
Joelene Sorrell

Director of Sales
Fairfield Inn
72322 Hwy 111
Palm Desert, Ca 92260
T: 760-341-9100 ext 170
F: 760-773-3515
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I stayed at this location using Marriott points, what a waste. Despite a great location the property is old and in need of TLC. Basically a motel like property the room would have been more at home in typical low cost strip mall locations. Water dripped from an overhead air conditioning duct and the faucet barely worked. In addition the breakfast included was a bare boned continental with toasters that did not work, no fruit and wet muffins that had obviously been reserected from supermarket packaging. I am surprised that Marriott would lend its name to a property like this.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joelene S, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn Palm Desert, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear LDanter,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We apologize for the impression you were given by our hotel being old. We have just started our new generation renovation since our last one six years ago. Everything in the hotel is in the process of being updated, as well as our breakfast changing to a full hot breakfast. I hope that you will reconsider coming back to our hotel in the future and that you will not feel as if your points have went to waste. I hope that with the renovation of the hotel your impression will be changed and if you decided to come back your expirence be one that is great.

Thank You,
Joelene Sorrell

Director of Sales
Fairfield Inn
72322 Hwy 111
Palm Desert, Ca 92260
T: 760-341-9100 ext 170
F: 760-773-3515
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

While checking in at 5;30 pm I was told the king bed room I had reserved was not available. Since I am a gold status member my request is supposed to be guaranteed. We were eventually assigned to a King handicap room and told it was a suite. It wasn't a suite. My on- Line profile request for feather pillows, extra towels and a lower floor we're completely ignored. Breakfast was average, we have stayed at over Fairfield Inn's that were much better.

Stayed October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joelene S, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn Palm Desert, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear RoadtripperTuscon,
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your expierence at our hotel was. We apologize for the inconvience when stay began with due to our lack of availability and misleading information that the room was a suite. I apologize for the lack of attention paid to you as a gold elite member, I will discuss these issues with my front desk staff and make sure this will not be happening again. I hope that you will give our hotel another chance in the future after we've renovated and improved our breakfast and service. Thank you again for you review.

Joelene Sorrell
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn Palm Desert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn Palm Desert

Address: 72-322 Hwy 111, Palm Desert, CA 92260
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 22 hotels in Palm Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn Palm Desert 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairfield Inn by Marriott is in the heart of Palm Desert. Each guest room is full of thoughtful amenities: free high-speed internet access, expanded cable channels, well-lit work desk, deluxe complimentary continental breakfast, 24 hr. fax and copier service, free local & 800 phone calls. Recreation: outdoor pool & whirlpool, 9-hole putting green, fitness center. Walk to shopping and dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Marriott, Travelocity, Tingo and Hotels.com so you can book your Fairfield Inn Palm Desert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Palm Desert Hotel Palm Desert
Fairfield Palm Desert
Palm Desert Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn Palm Desert, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.