We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OUSTANDING WELCOME BY DANIEL” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   74675 Hwy 111, Palm Desert, CA 92260   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #8 of 22 hotels in Palm Desert
Arizona
1 review
“OUSTANDING WELCOME BY DANIEL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This hotel surpassed all expectations. Warm welcome front desk Daniel.
first time staying here. Very impressed. room clean .full size nice pool the breakfast was good and nice area in palm dessert ...
Would definitely stay aging....

Room Tip: Nice Hotel and quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Mark W,

We strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests and it makes us happy to read we exceeded your expectations and we thank you for recognizing Daniel. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel, Thank you again for the five points review!~Luis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    110
    90
    33
    20
    12
See reviews for
53
90
32
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Niguel, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This hotel is centrally located to sights from Palm Springs to Indio. It is close to the UCSB university Palm Springs campus. Located on Highway 111, it is close to restaurants and stores. The rooms were clean with typical HE beds and pillows. The breakfast area was clean too. They had a wide selection of items.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Debbie W,

We really appreciate your review of the Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert; Comments like yours on the location, service, and convenience experienced at our hotel highlights our goal in ensuring valued guests have an exceptional stay. We hope you’ll have an opportunity to return for another visit in the future.
Thank you again. ~Luis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just to shere my stay at holiday inn express .

Was as enjoyable the room as clean and spacious. Nice breakfast..

And also the front desk person by the name Daniel. Hewas very kind and courteous.
I had some questions regarding the hotel and area
And Daniel very politely answered the needs that had..

Special Thanks To Daniel....

Room Tip: Nice and Clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Mayer I,

Thank you for your feedback! It is great to hear comments like yours about Daniel, he is true asset to our team. Hope to have you visit us again soon!~Luis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I've stayed here several times over the past several years and have never been disappointed. Summer rates are among the best in the area and the rooms can't be beat for cleanliness, comfort, and amenities. Yeah, the vanity sink area might not rival that at the Ritz-Carlton Dana Point, but there is ample floor and desk space for those who insist in bringing their entire bathroom when traveling.

Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Brian MillerSantee,

Thank you for the outstanding review. We couldn't have said it better !!!!
again, THANK YOU !!! ~Luis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, AZ
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

In town for a busy work weekend, hubby and I wanted a good, clean place at a decent rate, a place we could get a couple good night’s rest, a place convenient to where our business event was being held, and a location that had a decent amount of restaurant choices within a reasonably short distance. Overall, this Holiday Inn Express met our needs. I will mention a few cons first, then the pros. Cons: Yes, as others have stated, the sink area is TINY. I had to keep my toiletries and cosmetics on the dresser the TV was on so hubby could put his few toiletries on it. The water pressure in the shower was pretty low. The number one thing that affected my stay was the thin walls. We usually got back to our room after 10pm, after a long day of business. I just wanted to be able to get a good night’s rest to wake up early, refreshed for another long day. We had a room on both sides of us. Unfortunately, both rooms had what sounded like multiple people talking and laughing WAY past midnight, to at least 1 am. I AM a light sleeper, and had brought earplugs, but I was able to hear them even with my earplugs in. It helped to run the A/C, which served as white noise, but when it shut off, I was awakened by more talking and laughing. I was about to call the front desk to complain, and was ready to knock on their doors to tell them to please keep it down, but they finally quieted down. If you’re not a light sleeper, you might be fine (hubby heard them, but he was still able to sleep okay). Here are the Pros: The parking lot of the motel has plenty of parking, which was appreciated. The front desk personnel were cordial. Our room was clean, had good lighting, a table with a couple chairs, conveniently located outlets, and comfy beds with both FIRM and SOFT pillows included. We faced east, which allowed me to enjoy a couple of great sunrises on the balcony. Flat screen TV, clean iron and ironing board, full length mirror, small fridge and microwave, separate sink and tub/toilet, free Wi-Fi were appreciated. Spotless, absorbent towels and toiletries provided. Temperature controlled room. The breakfast that was provided was very much appreciated, as it had hot items. Not the typical continental breakfast found at most places at this price point. At this Holiday Inn Express, there was plenty of food to meet most people’s tastes. For those who wanted to sit and have a real breakfast (like me), there were biscuits and gravy, small omelets and bacon, along with hot cinnamon rolls. There was a cool pancake machine with hot syrup provided. For hubby, who is not much of a breakfast guy, there was a variety of cereals, muffins and Danish, various juices and yogurt, milk, and bananas. Around the corner were various tea bags and – YES, good strong coffee with a variety of flavored creamers (very important to me). Would I stay here again? Yes, and perhaps request a room at the end of a hallway.

Room Tip: Ask for an east facing room on the 2nd floor to enjoy beautiful sunrises. If you are a light sleeper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Luvscuba,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving a detailed review. We are glad to see that you left some feedback on what you liked as well as what fell below your expectations. We are deeply sorry for any inconveniences you have experienced. We take all comments into consideration and welcome any opportunity to improve. We are in the hospitality business and strive to be the best. ~Luis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Sorry, Holiday Inn Express, but you looked tired and worn.
That doesn't mean everything was negative !
We checked in early on a Sunday morning and could go to our room immediately. That of course is always nice. The room on the 2nd floor was OK, with 2 doubles, a table with 2 chairs (not often found in hotels/motels !!! Thank you !), a fairly large bathroom but with small wash basin right outside the bathroom and with very little space to put amenities. The rooms have a terrace, but what's the use of a terrace in summer ?!
Wifi connection in the room was OK. Breakfast in the morning was very nice with plenty of choices.
Last year we stayed at the HIE in Rancho Mirage and maybe that property is newer, I don't know, but to me it was more attractive and better kept and also the staff was a lot friendlier. So, if I'd had to choose between the 2, I'd go for the one in Rancho Mirage.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear dezdemona,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. We're sorry you were fully satisfied with your stay with us. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downey, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The hotel was very clean and the room was comfortable. Breakfast was good and it was not cheap breakfast. It offered variety of breakfast. Swimming pool was smaller than we expected. But clean and comfortable room and hearty breakfast. It was a wonderful place to stay overnight. It is not a five star hotel but this place exceeded my expectation. Staffs were nice and very accommodating. It is located bit far from freeway and Palm Spring but if you don't mind bit of driving, this is a place to stay. I would definitely come back.

Room Tip: It is located next to Best Western and it was easy to miss the sign when you travel Eastbound. If y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Judy1120,

Our staff thanks you for the kind words. We do our best to make travelers feel at home while staying with us and we appreciate it when a guest takes the time to thank us for our efforts.
Again, thank you for your review and we really look forward to serving you again.~Luis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage

Address: 74675 Hwy 111, Palm Desert, CA 92260
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Palm Desert
#10 Family Hotel in Palm Desert
#12 Romantic Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert Rancho Mirage/Golf Hotel, directly in the city of Palm Desert, is in the heart of the 'World Capital of Golf'. This award winning quality Palm Desert hotel, known for its 'friendly and helpful staff,' awaits your next visit to Palm Desert, California. Stay where the leaders stay. Players from the PGA, LPGA and Senior PGA have made this hotel their home away from home. The Holiday Inn Express hotel is centrally located to over 120 'world class golf courses' and Coachella Valley's corporate community. Minutes from El Paseo, Palm Desert's renowned Shopping District, the Living Desert, Desert Willow & Indian Wells Golf Resorts, famous Palm Desert restaurants, the Bob Hope McCallum Performing Arts Center, Indian Wells Tennis Gardens, La Quinta Art Festival and world famous Palm Springs. When you are ready to unwind, take advantage of our large heated pool and spa, play an invigorating game of tennis or shuffleboard or workout in the executive gym. All rooms have semi-private patios or balconies. Start your day off right with our complimentary Express Start breakfast. In addition to breakfast, watch the events of the day on the 47' plasma screen TV and notice the new decor that includes fine leather furniture and granite throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage Hotel Palm Desert
Holiday Inn Palm Desert
Palm Desert Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.