We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Comfortable, Free Breakfast what else can you ask for?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   74675 Hwy 111, Palm Desert, CA 92260   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Palm Desert
Downey, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Clean, Comfortable, Free Breakfast what else can you ask for?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The hotel was very clean and the room was comfortable. Breakfast was good and it was not cheap breakfast. It offered variety of breakfast. Swimming pool was smaller than we expected. But clean and comfortable room and hearty breakfast. It was a wonderful place to stay overnight. It is not a five star hotel but this place exceeded my expectation. Staffs were nice and very accommodating. It is located bit far from freeway and Palm Spring but if you don't mind bit of driving, this is a place to stay. I would definitely come back.

Room Tip: It is located next to Best Western and it was easy to miss the sign when you travel Eastbound. If y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Judy1120,

Our staff thanks you for the kind words. We do our best to make travelers feel at home while staying with us and we appreciate it when a guest takes the time to thank us for our efforts.
Again, thank you for your review and we really look forward to serving you again.~Luis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    91
    33
    20
    12
See reviews for
54
89
32
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

Great stay this weekend. Staff are all very friendly. Had an opportunity to meet the mgrs on site ( Lupe & Luis) who extremely attentive with their guest. Front desk receptionist extremely friendly ( gabby). Will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Lizzie 21723,

Thank you so very much for the excellent review. We are grateful that you chose to stay with us and are very happy that we exceeded your expectations. I will be sure to share your experience with Lupe and Gabby, they will be delighted that their efforts had such a positive impact on your visit with us.~Luis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

The staff (Daniel) was very helpful and considerate. We had come into town for a family emergency with no reservation. Daniel made sure we got the best rate and was of great assistance to us. The room was nice - clean and the beds were comfortable. We appreciate the great service. Thanks.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Shellie C,

Thank you for your five points review !!. We are very proud of Daniel and our entire staff, Each of them have advanced education in “WOW!” and like nothing more than seeing our guests leave very satisfied. ~Luis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

The desk staff are lovely and helpful. The rooms are old fashioned with a small wash basin situated outside the bathroom in a cramped area with little space to put toiletries. The furniture seemed somewhat 'tired' too.
Our room was situated on the pool side of the hotel and we were kept awake by pool users until quite late as it is open to eleven pm. The most horrible feature was the fact that this room also overlooked an electricity sub station. Internet access was slow and I am not sure whether this was connected to this.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool are noisier - also there is the view of the substation
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear C P,

Thank you for taking the time write a review about our hotel. I am glad that we were able to meet your expectations when it comes to our hotel staff. It is regrettable that you did not fully enjoy your recent stay with us because of the noise levels you have experienced and the internet service provided. I have taken note of your comments including that of our rooms. We will certainly use these to consider improving on areas mentioned on your review.

I hope that we get another chance to provide you with a better stay in the future.

Sincerely,

Faith R
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.Gallen
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Enjoyed our stay - staff was very friendly, place was clean and quite! Standard room is comfortable and exceptional large. Breakfast as usual - not spectacular bet sufficient. Small pool for the beig heat, but ok for quickly "cooling down" - outside temperture was 129°F

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Anthony W,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. We are delighted that your stay with the Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert was enjoyable.
Everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience and your feedback is extremely valuable. We truly appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us so that we may continue to deliver exceptional service in the future.~Luis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socal
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We get to the desert multiple times during the year. This time, we wanted to dispense with one of our go-to hotels as it has declined in recent years.

We found the HHI to be clean, pleasant and a good base for our stay. The pool was pristine and warm and the area surrounding it had plenty of lounges along with some grassy patches.

The room was average sized and the sink/vanity a little tight in space. The in-room fridge and microwave are a good touch.

The breakfast was a step above some of the other hotels we have stayed at, providing some eggs, cook-your-own pancakes (new to me...I usually see waffle machines!) and various other items. Staff was on hand to keep the bins well stocked.

Overall, the property was nice! Definitely just bumped one of your competitors right off the list. We'll be back, perhaps later this summer. Thumbs up!

Room Tip: Rooms facing north/west get a view of a power station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear nesdog,

Thank you for your comments on your recent stay. Providing our guests with excellent guest service and the best possible hospitality is our mission. We are happy that we exceeded your expectations and we appreciate the compliments. We look forward to your return and thank you for choosing to stay with us.~Luis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radford, Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

I stayed here twice, and had excellent customer service both times. The manager and the front desk women Gabby and the others were very helpful. The rooms included a fridge and microwave, which was great to have with the coffee maker. Rooms had a nice balcony. The bathroom counter area is very small, but still functional. The location is very convenient. The breakfast was great. I highly recommend.

Room Tip: I wouldn't want to stay on the first floor next to the breakfast area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear TravelerT C,

Thank you for taking the time to rate your recent stay with us and for awarding us with a five points review. We appreciate your feedback and we are glad that you enjoyed your experience at the Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert. ~Luis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage

Address: 74675 Hwy 111, Palm Desert, CA 92260
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Palm Desert
#9 Family Hotel in Palm Desert
#14 Romantic Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage 2.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert Rancho Mirage/Golf Hotel, directly in the city of Palm Desert, is in the heart of the 'World Capital of Golf'. This award winning quality Palm Desert hotel, known for its 'friendly and helpful staff,' awaits your next visit to Palm Desert, California. Stay where the leaders stay. Players from the PGA, LPGA and Senior PGA have made this hotel their home away from home. The Holiday Inn Express hotel is centrally located to over 120 'world class golf courses' and Coachella Valley's corporate community. Minutes from El Paseo, Palm Desert's renowned Shopping District, the Living Desert, Desert Willow & Indian Wells Golf Resorts, famous Palm Desert restaurants, the Bob Hope McCallum Performing Arts Center, Indian Wells Tennis Gardens, La Quinta Art Festival and world famous Palm Springs. When you are ready to unwind, take advantage of our large heated pool and spa, play an invigorating game of tennis or shuffleboard or workout in the executive gym. All rooms have semi-private patios or balconies. Start your day off right with our complimentary Express Start breakfast. In addition to breakfast, watch the events of the day on the 47' plasma screen TV and notice the new decor that includes fine leather furniture and granite throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage Hotel Palm Desert
Holiday Inn Palm Desert
Palm Desert Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.