We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charlene” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   74675 Hwy 111, Palm Desert, CA 92260   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #8 of 22 hotels in Palm Desert
Santa Rosa, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Charlene”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Thank you to Charlene who helped me with some snacks when my husband had worked until midnight and was too tired to go back out for food. The snacks helped him get through the night and it made all the difference not having to go out to find something open late.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Rhonda P,

Thank you so very much for the excellent review. We are grateful that you chose to stay with us and are very happy that we exceeded your expectations. I will be sure to share your experience with Charlene and the staff; they will be delighted that their efforts had such a positive impact on your visit with us.

We look forward to see you again in the future! ~Luis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    105
    89
    33
    20
    12
See reviews for
51
88
31
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

A wedding brought me to Palm Desert so I wanted comfortable accommodations ... A good night sleep and good food were the highest priorities. Although the hotel itself is a bit tired, there are some updated features like the bedding and flat screen televisions. The microwave and mini fridge in the room were a plus. The balcony was nice!

The swim pool and jacuzzi were very clean. There is a shuffleboard area and tennis court too.

Breakfast included eggs and bacon, biscuits a and gravy, along with many other items. Lupe made me feel at home and one morning even packed me a cinnamon roll to go.

Every staff member was very friendly and made my visit very enjoyable

Good value ... For the price, I would return again!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Frendlilady,

Thank you for the excellent review and thank you for choosing to stay with us during your visit to Palm Desert. We are so glad that you enjoyed our accommodations, staff, service, breakfast, location and pool. Hopefully your travels will bring you to the area again so we can welcome your return.~Luis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

My family and I stayed 9 nights at this hotel while visiting family in Palm Springs. Reasonable rates, quiet room on the first floor. Helpful staff. Great location. Close to shops, Visitors Center and restaurants. The only thing I wish we had were two queen beds instead of two double beds. When I booked the reservation I was told there were queen beds. I am a priority member and inspected a few rooms prior to check in. The only other choice was a King bed with a sleeper in which offered us an additional 100 sq feet for $20.00 more a night. There are other Holiday Inn Express propertys that offer larger beds and rooms. Had to remind housekeeping for extra towels every day. Would of liked more variety and healthier options for breakfast. Great area to sit outside and enjoy the warm weather. The rooms are a little dated and could use a little lift.

Room Tip: Had a room on the first floor acrossed from the meeting room. Would recommend a room further down th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear Sactrav66,

Thank you for bringing your experience to our attention. I apologize for the misinformation given to you about the type of the beds. We do not have queen beds but doubles in our double beds room. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is. ~Luis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CENTRAL COAST CALIFORNIA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We were very impressed with this hotel, with the condition of the grounds upon arriving and the staff. The night auditor Charlene was such a pleasure and helpful even with our late night check in. :) The room was very clean and the balcony an added touch. The beds and pillows were very comfortable.
The staff upon passing would greet you and or hold the door open. It is a very well run hotel. The breakfast bar was awesome and is unlike any other we have come across. They had such a variety of freshly prepared foods as well as cereals, yogurt, sweet rolls, a pancake maker, fresh hot coffee, juice.. the list goes on.
The hotel was sold out on this weekend, but there was plenty of staff to keep the breakfast bar stocked and every where you looked there was someone tending to some duty keeping the guests happy and their hotel tidy and clean. The hotel itself has a nice open feeling. It was very relaxing, and our room was quiet.
We were able to enjoy the pool and jacuzzi, as well as the tennis courts. (very well kept).
When I spoke with the General Manager Louise' he was so pleasant and had a genuine concern as to how we enjoyed our stay.
This is definitely where we will stay next time we are in Palm Springs

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms have balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear TOBOUND4ITALY,

Wow! what amazing review! Thank you from the bottom of our hearts for such kind words about our hotel and team. We're very lucky and grateful to work with individuals like Charlene, We work very hard to make sure each guests experience is a great one and that starts with having the right staff to deliver on that promise.

We look forward to see you again in the future! ~Luis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Az
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

One nite stay, reasonable and very quiet room. a/c was quiet. bed was comfortable and shower was good. within walking distance to italian and mexican restrurants. enjoyed the ice water and cookies in the lobby. staff very accommidating. we will saty here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Robert P,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we are glad we were able to exceed your expectations and you liked every aspect of your stay with us. Our main goal is for guest to enjoy their stay with us and make it as comfortable as we can.
Again, thank you for staying with us. ~Luis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

It's been a while since I stayed at a 3 star and I guess you really do get what you pay for.

Pluses - free parking, free wifi, free breakfast. Good location.

Negative - they had to switch my room 2 times to get one that did not smell musty and wet and the air conditioner did not sound like tractor. Also the walls are pretty thing so if you have noisy neighbours that sucks. But you can hear when your neighbour takes a shower and flushes. Rooms decently clean - except the white curtains are starting to turn a suspicious shade of brown. They need to be washed!

Feedback - please have more healthy alternatives at the breakfast bar. Deep fried greasy omelettes and artery clogging biscuits are not the staple for us all. Some fresh fruit would have been great.

All in all - a solid 3 star - basic Betty. Great place if you need something cheap for a couple nights.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear siseñorita,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are sorry to hear that your experience was less than exceptional. We strive to exceed all expectations and pride ourselves on amazing guest service, and want all of our guests to experience this.
Since we are a branded hotel, we may only offer those breakfast items that are approved by our brand to ensure that guests always receive a full-selection of choices each morning at any Holiday Inn Express across the world. Please be assured that I will certainly share your feedback with IHG to see what changes we can make to improve the complimentary breakfast we offer our guests. Feedback likes yours is always appreciated. ~Luis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

My wife and I vacationing from Canada had a wonderful stay at this Holiday inn Express. This was our second visit and once again we were extremely pleased with the caring staff and top notch service provided by them. The room with a balcony overlooking the pool and the mountains was delightful.
We certainly commend Luis the Manager for his hands on service ,along with topnotch service from his staff members: Melissa B, Vanessa, Lope, Charlene, and Graciela whose morning breakfast's were excellent!! Thanks to their excellent customer service, we will look forward to returning once again in the near future.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool also have great sunset views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear lowart,

Wow, what amazing review! Thank you from the bottom of our hearts for such kind words about our hotel and team. We're very lucky and grateful to work with individuals like Melissa B, Vanessa, Lupe, Charlene and Graciela. We look forward to see you again in the future! ~Luis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage

Address: 74675 Hwy 111, Palm Desert, CA 92260
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Palm Desert
#12 Romantic Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert Rancho Mirage/Golf Hotel, directly in the city of Palm Desert, is in the heart of the 'World Capital of Golf'. This award winning quality Palm Desert hotel, known for its 'friendly and helpful staff,' awaits your next visit to Palm Desert, California. Stay where the leaders stay. Players from the PGA, LPGA and Senior PGA have made this hotel their home away from home. The Holiday Inn Express hotel is centrally located to over 120 'world class golf courses' and Coachella Valley's corporate community. Minutes from El Paseo, Palm Desert's renowned Shopping District, the Living Desert, Desert Willow & Indian Wells Golf Resorts, famous Palm Desert restaurants, the Bob Hope McCallum Performing Arts Center, Indian Wells Tennis Gardens, La Quinta Art Festival and world famous Palm Springs. When you are ready to unwind, take advantage of our large heated pool and spa, play an invigorating game of tennis or shuffleboard or workout in the executive gym. All rooms have semi-private patios or balconies. Start your day off right with our complimentary Express Start breakfast. In addition to breakfast, watch the events of the day on the 47' plasma screen TV and notice the new decor that includes fine leather furniture and granite throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage Hotel Palm Desert
Holiday Inn Palm Desert
Palm Desert Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.