We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay in Palm Desert--A and L” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   74675 Hwy 111, Palm Desert, CA 92260   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Palm Desert
Kitchener, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Stay in Palm Desert--A and L”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

My wife and I vacationing from Canada had a wonderful stay at this Holiday inn Express. This was our second visit and once again we were extremely pleased with the caring staff and top notch service provided by them. The room with a balcony overlooking the pool and the mountains was delightful.
We certainly commend Luis the Manager for his hands on service ,along with topnotch service from his staff members: Melissa B, Vanessa, Lope, Charlene, and Graciela whose morning breakfast's were excellent!! Thanks to their excellent customer service, we will look forward to returning once again in the near future.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool also have great sunset views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear lowart,

Wow, what amazing review! Thank you from the bottom of our hearts for such kind words about our hotel and team. We're very lucky and grateful to work with individuals like Melissa B, Vanessa, Lupe, Charlene and Graciela. We look forward to see you again in the future! ~Luis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    91
    33
    20
    12
See reviews for
54
89
32
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Unless you're traveling with a very small wheelchair, you must get the room with the king size bed. Two queens would make the room impossible to navigate. Likewise, the bathroom is too small to allow a comfortable turnaround. We asked about our "platinum freebie" and was told it was in the room. It wasn't. An adequate stay but nothing out of the ordinary. There may be better facilities nearby.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Scrappy Texan,

Thank you for bringing your experience to our attention. I apologize for the issues you encountered with the size of the room and the VIP basket you did not received as a valuable Platinum Member. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.~Luis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Every time someone used the elevator there was a weird buzzing/humming noise in our room and the TV signal got static and/or lost audio. It was bizarre.
The hotel is clean, the grounds are lovely and the back pool area is quite nice.
The breakfast was good and the attendant was very good at keeping things clean and well stocked. The coffee was even ok.
The hotel is located a bit off the I-10 but convenient to local businesses and restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear P L,

Thank you for submitting your review. While I am very pleased to hear that you found the hotel centrally located, clean and our staff friendly, I am disappointed to hear that you
experienced some unusual elevator noise and TV malfunctions. I have sent a private message to you requesting additional information about your review and room location.
Thanks again for sharing and we wish you the absolute best in your travels.~Luis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Except for the darn ac unit going on intermittently which made me pull on covers when it blew cold air, then toss off covers when the room got too warm again, this was a fine stay. Love the lobby and patios of this Holiday Inn. It has a nice vibe, and is well located to get to good restaurants, etc. Plus, they have 4 pillows on each bed, labeled as soft or firm. Love that! And I like the fact that breakfast is included, though you can get an excellent breakfast next door at John's Restaurant. (My personal choice here in PD!)

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Niki G,

Thank you for submitting your review. I am very pleased to hear that you had a fine stay despite the issues with the A/C unit., I apologize for the inconvenience and I hope for a future opportunity to welcome you back and provide a memorable stay.~Luis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, USA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

This was my first extended visit to the Palm Springs area, and I was extremely pleased with the value at Holiday Inn Express in Palm Desert (on CA-111, the main drag of the Desert Cities, at Hospitality Way.) Located in a cluster of moderately priced hotels, stores and restaurants, this appears to be a remodel of an older property; the rooms and public areas look freshly redone and well maintained.

Check-in was cordial, swift and easy. My room was quiet, with a small sitting & work area and two queen beds (each with four pillows of varying firmness), a big flat screen TV with HBO, cable and network channels, and a mini fridge and microwave. Wifi was free, fast and easy to access, and I made good use of the steam iron and ironing board provided. Air conditioning was efficient and cooled the whole room evenly. There was also a decent-sized private balcony and while my view wasn't as impressive as some other rooms', it was a nice place to hang out after the blazing sun went down.

Parking is ample; you're issued a pass to display on your dash. If you have many or heavy bags, be sure to grab a luggage cart from next to the entrance.

Breakfast offered the best variety I've seen at this range of hotel: in addition to warm cinnamon rolls, hot and cold cereal, several varieties of coffee and juice, they also offered mini Denver omelettes, sausage, bacon, and biscuits with gravy.

There's ample seating both inside (around the second floor balcony and lobby area) and out (a series of picnic tables under umbrellas or gazebos.) Spa water and warm cookies offered in the lobby, quiet, grassy grounds, tennis courts and a swimming pool make this feel more special than I expected. And you're within walking distance of restaurants, bars, shops and supermarkets, and a short drive from museums, golf, Living Desert, and the Palm Springs Tramway.

Room Tip: Rooms on the east side face the lawn and guest parking; those on the west side overlook other busine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Stnvptrk66,

We couldn't have said it better! We truly appreciate you choosing our hotel for your extended visit to Palm Springs! We are humbled by your wonderful and well written description of the hotel location, amenities and all the things we offer to our guests. Thanks again for your generous review and we wish you happy travels! ~Luis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

As a tour manager, I'm on the road 9 months a year. I highly recommend this property to all tours travelling to the Palm Desert area! The rooms are large and the bed was superb! The staff is more than helpful.

Room Tip: Balconies are available!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Ken S,

Thanks you for the recommendation of our hotel and staff! We are glad that you and your group chose to stay with us every year. Our goal is to exceed every guest expectation and we are glad to hear we succeeded in making your group stay memorable. ~Luis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I picked this hotel using Trip Advisor where the fellow said he was away from home 200 nights a year and this was the best sleep he'd ever had. I concur. We checked in early as we only had a short drive and the staff on the desk suggested the second floor with a balcony. She showed me several beautiful rooms and we picked one and could move in right away. We spent the rest of the day swimming in the gorgeous pool. It was the perfect temperature, clean and quiet. Shade or sun, whichever you would like. When it was time for sightseeing the front desk provided us with a map and suggestions. I was able to access the internet and talked to my daughter and grandson via Face Time right from the pool side. What a thrill! There was a nice mix of cliental, business people, families getting together, and travelers. You could tell the staff that run this hotel truly care about it. They even had cookies for happy hour. That is a first and they were delicious. We were sorry to leave and if I go back to Palm Desert I will definitely go there.

Room Tip: The second and third floor have balconies. Worth the trip up on the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Marilyn K,

We are very happy to know that you were no disappointed in choosing out hotel based on past guest great reviews posted in Trip Advisor We work very hard to make sure each guests experience is a great one and that starts with having the right staff to deliver on that promise. We firmly believe we have some of the best in the hotel business in Palm Desert and so glad you concur! ~Luis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage

Address: 74675 Hwy 111, Palm Desert, CA 92260
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Palm Desert
#10 Family Hotel in Palm Desert
#14 Romantic Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage 2.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert Rancho Mirage/Golf Hotel, directly in the city of Palm Desert, is in the heart of the 'World Capital of Golf'. This award winning quality Palm Desert hotel, known for its 'friendly and helpful staff,' awaits your next visit to Palm Desert, California. Stay where the leaders stay. Players from the PGA, LPGA and Senior PGA have made this hotel their home away from home. The Holiday Inn Express hotel is centrally located to over 120 'world class golf courses' and Coachella Valley's corporate community. Minutes from El Paseo, Palm Desert's renowned Shopping District, the Living Desert, Desert Willow & Indian Wells Golf Resorts, famous Palm Desert restaurants, the Bob Hope McCallum Performing Arts Center, Indian Wells Tennis Gardens, La Quinta Art Festival and world famous Palm Springs. When you are ready to unwind, take advantage of our large heated pool and spa, play an invigorating game of tennis or shuffleboard or workout in the executive gym. All rooms have semi-private patios or balconies. Start your day off right with our complimentary Express Start breakfast. In addition to breakfast, watch the events of the day on the 47' plasma screen TV and notice the new decor that includes fine leather furniture and granite throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage Hotel Palm Desert
Holiday Inn Palm Desert
Palm Desert Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.