We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Air conditioning unit: aargh!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   74675 Hwy 111, Palm Desert, CA 92260   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Palm Desert
Newport Beach, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Air conditioning unit: aargh!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Except for the darn ac unit going on intermittently which made me pull on covers when it blew cold air, then toss off covers when the room got too warm again, this was a fine stay. Love the lobby and patios of this Holiday Inn. It has a nice vibe, and is well located to get to good restaurants, etc. Plus, they have 4 pillows on each bed, labeled as soft or firm. Love that! And I like the fact that breakfast is included, though you can get an excellent breakfast next door at John's Restaurant. (My personal choice here in PD!)

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Niki G,

Thank you for submitting your review. I am very pleased to hear that you had a fine stay despite the issues with the A/C unit., I apologize for the inconvenience and I hope for a future opportunity to welcome you back and provide a memorable stay.~Luis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    96
    33
    21
    12
See reviews for
59
91
35
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, USA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

This was my first extended visit to the Palm Springs area, and I was extremely pleased with the value at Holiday Inn Express in Palm Desert (on CA-111, the main drag of the Desert Cities, at Hospitality Way.) Located in a cluster of moderately priced hotels, stores and restaurants, this appears to be a remodel of an older property; the rooms and public areas look freshly redone and well maintained.

Check-in was cordial, swift and easy. My room was quiet, with a small sitting & work area and two queen beds (each with four pillows of varying firmness), a big flat screen TV with HBO, cable and network channels, and a mini fridge and microwave. Wifi was free, fast and easy to access, and I made good use of the steam iron and ironing board provided. Air conditioning was efficient and cooled the whole room evenly. There was also a decent-sized private balcony and while my view wasn't as impressive as some other rooms', it was a nice place to hang out after the blazing sun went down.

Parking is ample; you're issued a pass to display on your dash. If you have many or heavy bags, be sure to grab a luggage cart from next to the entrance.

Breakfast offered the best variety I've seen at this range of hotel: in addition to warm cinnamon rolls, hot and cold cereal, several varieties of coffee and juice, they also offered mini Denver omelettes, sausage, bacon, and biscuits with gravy.

There's ample seating both inside (around the second floor balcony and lobby area) and out (a series of picnic tables under umbrellas or gazebos.) Spa water and warm cookies offered in the lobby, quiet, grassy grounds, tennis courts and a swimming pool make this feel more special than I expected. And you're within walking distance of restaurants, bars, shops and supermarkets, and a short drive from museums, golf, Living Desert, and the Palm Springs Tramway.

Room Tip: Rooms on the east side face the lawn and guest parking; those on the west side overlook other busine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Stnvptrk66,

We couldn't have said it better! We truly appreciate you choosing our hotel for your extended visit to Palm Springs! We are humbled by your wonderful and well written description of the hotel location, amenities and all the things we offer to our guests. Thanks again for your generous review and we wish you happy travels! ~Luis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

As a tour manager, I'm on the road 9 months a year. I highly recommend this property to all tours travelling to the Palm Desert area! The rooms are large and the bed was superb! The staff is more than helpful.

Room Tip: Balconies are available!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Ken S,

Thanks you for the recommendation of our hotel and staff! We are glad that you and your group chose to stay with us every year. Our goal is to exceed every guest expectation and we are glad to hear we succeeded in making your group stay memorable. ~Luis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I picked this hotel using Trip Advisor where the fellow said he was away from home 200 nights a year and this was the best sleep he'd ever had. I concur. We checked in early as we only had a short drive and the staff on the desk suggested the second floor with a balcony. She showed me several beautiful rooms and we picked one and could move in right away. We spent the rest of the day swimming in the gorgeous pool. It was the perfect temperature, clean and quiet. Shade or sun, whichever you would like. When it was time for sightseeing the front desk provided us with a map and suggestions. I was able to access the internet and talked to my daughter and grandson via Face Time right from the pool side. What a thrill! There was a nice mix of cliental, business people, families getting together, and travelers. You could tell the staff that run this hotel truly care about it. They even had cookies for happy hour. That is a first and they were delicious. We were sorry to leave and if I go back to Palm Desert I will definitely go there.

Room Tip: The second and third floor have balconies. Worth the trip up on the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Marilyn K,

We are very happy to know that you were no disappointed in choosing out hotel based on past guest great reviews posted in Trip Advisor We work very hard to make sure each guests experience is a great one and that starts with having the right staff to deliver on that promise. We firmly believe we have some of the best in the hotel business in Palm Desert and so glad you concur! ~Luis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here one night for my sons football game. It was clean. There are lots of eateries and places to shop close by. The pool is nice. The kids took a swim after the game. Relaxing. The staff was friendly and accommodating. The breakfast was hot, good, and very convenient. Especially for an early morning game. It was reasonably priced at $80. I would recommend this to a friend and I would definitely stay here again.
Nina

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Hi Nina H,

I'm so happy to read about your experience and what an awesome time you had with your kids during the football game in Palm Desert. We strive to provide an excellent experience every time. I will spread the word of your satisfaction to our staff. We hope to see you again soon! ~Luis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tczew, Poland
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Perfect place in a good location! There's a huge supermarket - just a stone's throw away. The rooms were clean and cozy. After a boiling hot day we dived into the chilling pool at once! There's also a cool patio outside where we spent our long evening staying up till...too late. ;) The breakfast the next day was simply amazing: a wide selection of hot and cold drinks, cereals, muffins, fruit etc. Highly recommended! :D

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear Christiano_10,

We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert during your resent visit. Our entire team aims to create an awesome and memorable experience for each guest and we are happy to hear that we have accomplished our mission.
Again, thank you for your awesome comments. ~Luis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We decided to take a last minute trip to Palm Springs and got a resy off of hotwire for this place. It was a little farther from the places we were going to see but it was a great place to stay. Right on the 111 (main drag) it had trees, outdoor leisure seating, tennis courts, pool and was clean, quiet and the staff was friendly. I would definitely say there again. It had a great breakfast variety included with the stay.

Room Tip: Rooms that are facing east (not facing the Taco Bell) don't get the afternoon sun and are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear JaneLas Vegas,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we are glad we were able to exceed your expectations and you liked every aspect of your stay with us. Our main goal is for guest to enjoy their stay with us and make it as comfortable as we can.
Again, thank you for staying with us. ~Luis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage

Address: 74675 Hwy 111, Palm Desert, CA 92260
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Palm Desert
#7 Family Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage 2.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert Rancho Mirage/Golf Hotel, directly in the city of Palm Desert, is in the heart of the 'World Capital of Golf'. This award winning quality Palm Desert hotel, known for its 'friendly and helpful staff,' awaits your next visit to Palm Desert, California. Stay where the leaders stay. Players from the PGA, LPGA and Senior PGA have made this hotel their home away from home. The Holiday Inn Express hotel is centrally located to over 120 'world class golf courses' and Coachella Valley's corporate community. Minutes from El Paseo, Palm Desert's renowned Shopping District, the Living Desert, Desert Willow & Indian Wells Golf Resorts, famous Palm Desert restaurants, the Bob Hope McCallum Performing Arts Center, Indian Wells Tennis Gardens, La Quinta Art Festival and world famous Palm Springs. When you are ready to unwind, take advantage of our large heated pool and spa, play an invigorating game of tennis or shuffleboard or workout in the executive gym. All rooms have semi-private patios or balconies. Start your day off right with our complimentary Express Start breakfast. In addition to breakfast, watch the events of the day on the 47' plasma screen TV and notice the new decor that includes fine leather furniture and granite throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage Hotel Palm Desert
Holiday Inn Palm Desert
Palm Desert Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.