We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean, small room, small bathroom, tiny tiny sink” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   74675 Hwy 111, Palm Desert, CA 92260   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #8 of 22 hotels in Palm Desert
Newport Beach CA
1 review
“Very clean, small room, small bathroom, tiny tiny sink”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

The staff was nice. Charlene was expecially so, demonstrating a friendly demeanor and helpful in answering questions and responding to requests...a jewel.
Breakfast was plentiful and good. We would not go back again. After advertising as Pet Friendly, they gave us a hard time about bringing our 10lb very quiet dog and charged me $50-00 for one night for him.

Room Tip: Find a place that likes dogs and has a reasonable size bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Ron L,

We very much appreciate your compliments about our staff and hotel. I will make sure that Charlene is made aware of the great service she provided to you. The hotel changed the Pet Policy on January 1st 2013, we do not accept pets anymore unless they are service animals, and this policy is clearly advertised in our web-site. There are some hotels that accept pets in the Palm Desert area. I will suggest to check with them before a reservation is made.

Thanks again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    109
    90
    33
    20
    12
See reviews for
53
89
32
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, B.C.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

This hotel is in a convenient area but is located next to an electric power station which affects the view from the pool and some of the rooms. We have stayed in several Holiday Inns but this is the oldest one we have stayed in. The hotel needs some serious updating and likely needs to be replaced. Among other things, the ceiling in our room was badly water stained, the sink area is tiny, the air conditioner is noisy, etc. The staff was helpful. The elevator was out of service when we were there but the staff told us immediately and were accommodating. The breakfast was included and was adequate.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Tassica,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel in Trip Advisor, There are a few things we cannot change like the view to the power station or to the mountains, with our hotel approaching 28 years of age, we are clearly not as shiny and new as other hotels in the area. With that said we are continuously working hard to maintain the property and keep it as fresh and welcoming as possible for all of our guests.

We very much appreciate your comments about hotel location, staff and the breakfast.

We do hope to see you back when you find your travels bring you to the Palm Desert Area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrieta, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We are a group of friends (16-20) who enjoy spending time in the Palm Desert area including an overnight at The Holiday Inn Express Pal, Desert. We have spent the last four years at this hotel because of its excellent staff and the personal services they have provided us. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: When we stay at this hotel we request rooms surrounding the meeting room which we utilize following...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear ColonyGals,

Thank you very much for your review and comments...all are truly appreciated. Our location is clearly one of our biggest draws and the service we provide is crucial to keep discriminating guests returning year after year. We are very proud to be your hotel of choice in Palm Desert.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

I was very pleased with my recent hotel stay. The front desk staff made me feel very welcome and were helpful. Carlos was able to point out several recommendations, even gave me a discount coupon and he also told me several points of interest. The room was very well appointed and the property is in great condition. Also, the breakfast was great. Overall this hotel and it's staff blew away my expectations. Thank you!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Goldtrigger,

We very much appreciate your kind comments about our hotel. Our goal is to always provide the finest accommodations and the highest service level at the Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert. We are very happy that we were able to exceed and “blew away your expectations”. I will make certain that Carlos is made aware of your compliments.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

I was very pleased with my one night stay with at the Holiday Inn at Palm Desert. The night manager Charlene was so nice and welcoming when we arrived for a late check-in at midnight. Room was nice and clean. Definitely recommend staying here! My boyfriend and I will come back to this hotel in the future

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Kherf22,

We very much appreciate your compliments about our staff and hotel. I will make sure that Charlene is made aware of the great service she provided to you.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

I wanted to express my appreciation for the continental breakfast staff (Patty) were very helpful and deserve a great deal of praise for their excellent costumer service. To management and your staff for making my stay a great one, I will defenlenty be staying at the Holiday Inn Express in Palm Desert again, thank you.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear ayoobriannaaa,

Thank you very much for your 5 star rating of your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert We do very much appreciate your ranking of our hotel.

My staff does a great job and we are proud of them, I have shared your compliments with the staff and Patty. Thank you for giving me the opportunity to recognize her for a job well done!!

Thank you again for your outstanding review!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I stayed here six nights in March while attending some professional training. It was very convenient and they offer a convenient hotel shuttle to and from the Palm Springs airport. Rooms were nice size and very comfortable with nice large bathroom, chair and ottoman, good size desk, and a balcony to sit on. They have the best free breakfast I have ever had, including omelets, bacon, sausage and pancakes. The pool was enjoyable and in an inner courtyard area. Gym was adequate. There was a nice value diner within five minute walking distance and also a Mexican restaurant about a 10 minute walk away. Shopping center with pharmacy and grocery across the street.

Room Tip: Upstairs on the third floor was very quiet. It is set back about a block from the busy boulevard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear drpass,

Thank you for taking the time to share your six days business experience with us. The service culture at the Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert is predicated on a commitment to excellence that is personal, detail-oriented and always delivered in a warm and friendly manner. If we exceeded your expectations, I'm thrilled to hear it. That's our goal for every guest, no matter what their expectations are entering our property.

Thanks for sharing this with us and we will see you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage

Address: 74675 Hwy 111, Palm Desert, CA 92260
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Palm Desert
#10 Family Hotel in Palm Desert
#12 Romantic Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert Rancho Mirage/Golf Hotel, directly in the city of Palm Desert, is in the heart of the 'World Capital of Golf'. This award winning quality Palm Desert hotel, known for its 'friendly and helpful staff,' awaits your next visit to Palm Desert, California. Stay where the leaders stay. Players from the PGA, LPGA and Senior PGA have made this hotel their home away from home. The Holiday Inn Express hotel is centrally located to over 120 'world class golf courses' and Coachella Valley's corporate community. Minutes from El Paseo, Palm Desert's renowned Shopping District, the Living Desert, Desert Willow & Indian Wells Golf Resorts, famous Palm Desert restaurants, the Bob Hope McCallum Performing Arts Center, Indian Wells Tennis Gardens, La Quinta Art Festival and world famous Palm Springs. When you are ready to unwind, take advantage of our large heated pool and spa, play an invigorating game of tennis or shuffleboard or workout in the executive gym. All rooms have semi-private patios or balconies. Start your day off right with our complimentary Express Start breakfast. In addition to breakfast, watch the events of the day on the 47' plasma screen TV and notice the new decor that includes fine leather furniture and granite throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Agoda, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage Hotel Palm Desert
Holiday Inn Palm Desert
Palm Desert Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.