We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and Friendly place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   74675 Hwy 111, Palm Desert, CA 92260   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Palm Desert
Texas
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Nice and Friendly place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We were in Palm Springs for a few days. We chose to stay at this hotel as we had previously gotten it on priceline and hotwire. I think this is the first time we booked directly with the hotel. Our room was very clean and nice. Our bed was a bit firmer than others we have had at the hotel which definitely affected our sleep, but of course that is always subjective. The front desk folks were always helpful and welcoming. The hotel could use a little updating as far as painting in the rooms..etc.. but what really matters to me is cleanliness and this hotel is clean. The pool looked inviting from our balcony window! Unfortunately, we did not have a chance to use it. The location of this hotel is great for meeting our needs.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear dsg560,

I wanted to send a note of thanks for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert. I am happy to see you were pleased with the cleanliness of your room and the hotel. Our housekeeping team is very proud of the effort made to ensure guests are satisfied during their stay.

We have a full time maintenance team on staff that has set a high standard for the maintenance and upkeep of the entire property. We have regular room inspections but it is always helpful when a guest makes us aware of a correction needed between inspections.

Again, Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    90
    33
    20
    12
See reviews for
53
90
32
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Friancisco
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I've stayed here some years ago and returned recently. I stayed in an executive room because I was there for four nights. The room was large with a king bed, sofa and small balcony. It had a small fridge and microwave which was all I needed. The breakfast was abundant. Besides the usual cereal, yogurt, fruit, etc. there was biscuits and gravy, omelets, sausage and bacon and pancakes. Staff is friendly, room is cleaned promptly and it's close to restaurants and a small shopping center with a Ralph's supermarket (walking distance). All in all, a good place to stay when visiting Palm Desert.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear AnnSanFran_12,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed one of our executive rooms and all the hotel amenities.
We appreciate all of your feedback and are grateful for your recommendations to our future travelers. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We had to wait for the front desk person to finish his personal conversation before acknowledging us to check in. That was annoying. We got a crappy room next to the elevator which groaned all night. We could hear the people talking in the corridor as they got off the elevator. This hotel has paper thin walls that allowed us to listen to our neighbor piddling away in the toilet and we could easily hear his TV. The front desk refused to recognize our Priority Club status because we didn't book on the Holiday Inn web site. If that is the case, there is no reason to select Holiday Inn Hotels over any other chain because they don't recognize loyalty, just the amount you pay for your room. This will probably the last time we'll book at this hotel and if the use of another booking agency precludes the Priority Club perks, it will affect our decision to use Holiday Inns in the future.
On a positive side, the hotel is close to shopping and the free WiFi was fast and dependable. The breakfast is varied and plentiful and the cinnamon rolls were freshly baked.

Room Tip: Stay as far away from the elevator as possible. It is hydraulic and actually groans when it moves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Nzlanderonthemove,

Thank you for taking your time in sharing your comments. I apologize if you were given anything other than the service our guest's expect and deserve. Your comment will be used as a further training tool. Priority Club perks are only earned if you make your reservation thru Holiday Inns web-site, Reservations made thru a third party does not validate your point or perks.

Again, thank you for your valuable comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra Vista
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

This place is located on Highway 111, quite a ways from I-10. We thought it was much closer to the Interstate, as we were just passing through, and stayed for one night.

Palm Desert is a wonderful community, very clean, lots of palm trees, grass, and well-maintained parkways and streets. There is a ton of shopping you can do, as it has two Costco stores, a large mall, and many restaurants and golf courses.

The hotel was kind of funky to walk to and from, as they have a couple of streets that meet up at the hotel parking lot at weird angles. You have to be very careful and watch for traffic that can come at you from all sides. The place was very clean, and very quiet. We slept very soundly for being in a new place for the first night. The fitness room was very small, but I was able to use an elliptical machine, a treadmill, and a stationery bicycle while watching TV, and have a good workout.

The staff was very helpful and friendly, and the manager of the hotel was on hand to greet us both when we arrived, and when we left. That was a nice touch. The breakfast was plentiful, with several urns of coffee, many offerings of eggs, waffles, cereal, yogurt, granola, sweet rolls....there just wasn't a lot of seating, so you should be prepared to take your food back to your room.

I would stay there again; the location was great, lots to do within walking distance, and it was very clean.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear EMD1022,

Thank you for your detailed review of our hotel. We definitely appreciate it when a guest takes their personal time to write such a lengthy report. We strive very hard from our service to our cleanliness to make each and every guest's stay a great one. Once again thank you for your comments and we hope to see you again in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Stayed overnight while in Palm Desert for a concert. Hotel met our needs. Room was clean, bed was fine (firm mattress though), small balcony, nice welcome note on desk, and a few snacks also on the desk (no charge - bottle water, popcorn, chips, etc.). Location to theater not far and easy to get to. Close to high end stores for shopping. Restaurants nearby. Very nice area. However, most hotels in this same price range now have small annex's/rooms next to or near the check-in area with snacks, sodas, other misc that you might need/purchase when traveling. Not this one. We asked at the check in counter if there was one, we were wanting a snack. Told us there was a vending machine down the hall behind them. We walked to the end of the hall, found the snack machine with an ice machine next to it. But no soda machine. So we walked back down the hall, past the check-in, to the other side of the lobby/breakfast area, took the elevator up to our floor and then walked to the end of that hallway (complete opposite side of hotel to the snack machine) to the soda machine with an ice machine next to it. But no snack machine. Think there were soda machines on each floor at same end of the floors, but only the one snack machine on the first floor. At least I didn't see one on any other floor. If there were, still real inconvenient. They definitely should rethink/revisit this. Other than that quirk and breakfast being only so-so (according to my husband, I didn't eat), hotel was fine.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Joan V,

Thank you very much for making the Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert your choice of accommodation during your short visit to the desert. We have sodas and ice machine on each floor by the end of the hall ways; Due to space limitations we have only a snack machine located on the first floor and the end of the hallway behind the front desk, I apologize for the inconvenience.

We hope you will be able to stay longer during your next visit. We stand at your service to make your next visit even more enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

This hotel was very disappointing. The room felt dingy and old. The pool is right next to an electrical power station which creates a very unpleasant view. The hotel is not worth the $150 we paid per night, it felt more like a 2 star motel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not on the first floor. First floor rooms have fewer and smaller windows and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Jaeliam,

We are so sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations, and we appreciate that you took the time to provide us with feedback. Even when the comments are negative! We wish you all the best, wherever your future travels may take you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aliso Viejo, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Must be honest! Wasn't planning on staying here, but the business manager booked and once found out, it was too late to change.
Now after the fact, the mistake was a blessing. The hotel was very clean. Pretty good variety with breakfast. You can tell the rooms have been upgraded and modernized. Maybe the best thing about the property was the staff. We had booked several rooms and it was easy to check in and very helpful with directions to places around the area. I would definately stay there again for business trips or personal golf outtings.

Room Tip: I stayed on the third floor in the corner....I think it was room 333 or something like that. The ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear One_Coach

Thank you so much for your honesty, we appreciate you taking your time in letting others know about your experience with us and how much you enjoyed your stay. We strive very hard from our service to our cleanliness to make each and every guest's stay a great one. Once again thank you for your comments and we hope to see you again in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage

Address: 74675 Hwy 111, Palm Desert, CA 92260
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Palm Desert
#9 Family Hotel in Palm Desert
#13 Romantic Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert Rancho Mirage/Golf Hotel, directly in the city of Palm Desert, is in the heart of the 'World Capital of Golf'. This award winning quality Palm Desert hotel, known for its 'friendly and helpful staff,' awaits your next visit to Palm Desert, California. Stay where the leaders stay. Players from the PGA, LPGA and Senior PGA have made this hotel their home away from home. The Holiday Inn Express hotel is centrally located to over 120 'world class golf courses' and Coachella Valley's corporate community. Minutes from El Paseo, Palm Desert's renowned Shopping District, the Living Desert, Desert Willow & Indian Wells Golf Resorts, famous Palm Desert restaurants, the Bob Hope McCallum Performing Arts Center, Indian Wells Tennis Gardens, La Quinta Art Festival and world famous Palm Springs. When you are ready to unwind, take advantage of our large heated pool and spa, play an invigorating game of tennis or shuffleboard or workout in the executive gym. All rooms have semi-private patios or balconies. Start your day off right with our complimentary Express Start breakfast. In addition to breakfast, watch the events of the day on the 47' plasma screen TV and notice the new decor that includes fine leather furniture and granite throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Tingo, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage Hotel Palm Desert
Holiday Inn Palm Desert
Palm Desert Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.