We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uncomfortable Bed/Detailed Cleaning” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   74675 Hwy 111, Palm Desert, CA 92260   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Palm Desert
Certificate of Excellence
Palm Desert, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Uncomfortable Bed/Detailed Cleaning”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Worst night's sleep I have had since trying to sleep on an air mattress. Mattress was like a rock, and got no sleep. Tub clogged and had to call front desk to have it unclogged. Electrical covers, and all detail to cleaning, were missed, i.e., baseboards, bathroom tissue holder, etc. Vanity area had not been remodeled, and glass shelf, mirror, and picture were off qilter. Does have a lot of amenities for a small hotel, pool, gym, tennis court, and full complimentary breakfast, but if your night's sleep wasn't pleasant, amenities won't make up for it. Would not stay again.

Room Tip: Ask to see room and check mattress comfort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Susie H,

Thank you for your review, it’s important for us to not only see the good in what we do, but also some of the negatives so we can work towards fixing those for the next guest.

I would like to apologize for all the inconveniences you experienced during your stay.

Again, I do appreciate your comments and feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    120
    37
    26
    12
See reviews for
64
115
38
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Desert, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

I had such a pleasant conversation this morning with Charlene, What a delight. Not sure that my husband and I would fine a "Place in the Inn" last night as we rolled into town, we scooped up the last room available at the Holiday In Express. When getting coffee this AM, I was so fortunate to have time with Charlene, I asked her why the area was so booked up this weekend, she explained it was the Boys Basketball Tournament, and I mentioned that we got the last available room. Before I knew it we were talking about Dogs, and the upcoming Dog Show in January. Soon she knew all about my Chihuahua, Sophia, and had a dog story about her Chihuahua and how long he lived. As well as her other dogs. Since I was thinking about my Sophia, it was nice to be able to talk about her. Thank you Charlene, and I hope you continue to enjoy your dogs like I enjoy mine. Again Customer Service is the Most Important Quality that any employee can give, and Charlene gets my Vote!!! Thank you Charlene.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Debbie H,

We couldn't have said it better! We strive to provide accommodations that exceed our guest expectations on every visit, every day for every guest. Your positive feedback makes it all worth our efforts in creating guest experiences from “hotels guest's love”!!
I have shared your compliments with Charlene and the rest of the staff. Thank you for giving me the opportunity to recognize her for a job well done!!!

Thank you for reviewing the Holiday Inn Express in Palm Desert.!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
upstate NY
Level Contributor
201 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Last minute plan to stay overnight in palm desert. Holiday inn is convenient. Very comfortable rooms and beds. Microwave and refrigerator in each room. Pool is outside but well heated. Desk staff friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear lisa9962,

Thank you so much for posting a review about your great experience with the Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert. We sincerely appreciate your comments about our location, rooms, pool, amenities, and team members.

Again, thank you for your great comments and feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Pros: OK location, friendly staff.

Cons: Double beds (not queen), small rooms, tiny sink/vanity area, no movie rental.

The double beds are too tight for a couple to sleep in. My husband is 6'-0" tall and his feet were sticking out. When we pay for a hotel, we hope to at least sleep confortably. Also, our family enjoy to wind down in the hotel room after a long day and watch a movie. Can't do that in this hotel which was surprising to us since most hotels these days have this service. The tiny sink area is outside the washroom. No room for your toiletries.

It did the job but we believe that there are better hotels out there for similar price. Next time we will try the Holiday Inn Express in Rancho Mirage which has queen beds and in-room movie rental.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear Frenchladyalberta,

I would like to first thank you for staying with us and sharing your view of our property on Trip Advisor. I understand that everyone travels for different reasons but one thing remains consistent and that's a good nights rest, and I apologize that that didn't happen for you. Unfortunately some things are out of our control; however, we are appreciative when guests voice their concerns about the things we can change as we strive to provide excellent service on a daily basis.

Again I apologize and hope you will stay at other Holiday Inn in the future, just make sure they have queen beds and per-per view movies before you reserve a room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We have stayed at the Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert a couple times a year for the past several years. It is a wonderful hotel and a great value. The staff are all friendly and attentive. Rooms are clean and quiet. Both WiFi and breakfast are free. Lovely pool area in the back. The hotel is conveniently located along Hwy 111 in the heart of the desert cities. We love the hotel and highly recommend it, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear loyal guest,

We are most heartened by your generous compliments and recommendation, and it is certainly very rewarding for my team to know that they contributed significantly towards your very pleasant stays.

Thank you for your wonderful review!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south pasadena, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I've been staying at this property for 28 years and I love the location, the terrific beds, roomy accommodations, quiet guests, attentive staff who remember my name, great complimentary breakfasts and nice pool area. It is tucked off of HWY 111, close to major shopping areas and attractions which makes it easy to get around..

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Jacqueline c,

We understand that you have many choices when it comes to hotels in Palm Desert so we are honored to have you stay with us during the last 28 years. We take pride in our property and have set very high standards for ourselves to ensure every guest receives the best possible experience.
Thank you again for reviewing the Holiday Inn Express in Palm Desert.!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
91 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

I was visiting for my fathers birthday. The staff was very helpful, the room clean and the bed just perfect. The room and bathroom are both very large. Also very quiet even though you are near Hwy 111. Very good value for the money.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your nice comments about the Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert, We are happy to hear you enjoyed the cleanliness of our guest rooms and the personalized attention of our team members. My staff and I really look forward in serving you in the future. We would like to wish your father many many more Happy Birthdays!!!!

Again, thank you for your positive comments and feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage

Address: 74675 Hwy 111, Palm Desert, CA 92260
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Palm Desert
#8 Family Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage 2.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert Rancho Mirage/Golf Hotel, directly in the city of Palm Desert, is in the heart of the 'World Capital of Golf'. This award winning quality Palm Desert hotel, known for its 'friendly and helpful staff,' awaits your next visit to Palm Desert, California. Stay where the leaders stay. Players from the PGA, LPGA and Senior PGA have made this hotel their home away from home. The Holiday Inn Express hotel is centrally located to over 120 'world class golf courses' and Coachella Valley's corporate community. Minutes from El Paseo, Palm Desert's renowned Shopping District, the Living Desert, Desert Willow & Indian Wells Golf Resorts, famous Palm Desert restaurants, the Bob Hope McCallum Performing Arts Center, Indian Wells Tennis Gardens, La Quinta Art Festival and world famous Palm Springs. When you are ready to unwind, take advantage of our large heated pool and spa, play an invigorating game of tennis or shuffleboard or workout in the executive gym. All rooms have semi-private patios or balconies. Start your day off right with our complimentary Express Start breakfast. In addition to breakfast, watch the events of the day on the 47' plasma screen TV and notice the new decor that includes fine leather furniture and granite throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage Hotel Palm Desert
Holiday Inn Palm Desert
Palm Desert Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.