We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“charging station for electric cars! Great white glove service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Desert Springs JW Marriott Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Desert Springs JW Marriott Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Desert Springs JW Marriott Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   74855 Country Club Dr, Palm Desert, CA 92260   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 20% thru 5/3!
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Palm Desert
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“charging station for electric cars! Great white glove service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

smores when you check in, great hospitality with details to everything. i love my feather pillows. complimentary charging station to electric cars - awesome. nathan at check in was great (5/2 8:30 pm)

Room Tip: rooms surrounding the lobby/restaurants are a little louder
See more room tips
Green Features: free electric car charging, havent seen recycling bins yet -none in room
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    581
    441
    199
    122
    75
See reviews for
297
412
35
357
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (400)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My better half and I spent 5 nights here for his work related conference (and a short vacation for me) which was happening in the hotel Springs Ballrooms over a couple of days. We had no idea it was also the same weekend as a huge country music festival, Stage Coach, so we were pretty overwhelmed with the amount of -- extremely loud and almost always drunk -- people staying there. They weren't too disruptive at night (with the exception of a 5am hotel room fight that woke us up and scared me and ended with the police showing up at the hotel within the hour). Once the festival was over and the festival guests all left, the following weekdays after that were much more enjoyable.

Hotel staff were helpful, friendly, and courteous. The pools are great with enough space and lounge chairs. I really appreciated that there were self-serve water stations everywhere around the pools. The hotel itself is huge with hallways that seem never-ending and that constantly smell like shampoo (this could be good or bad, depending on the person). The rooms are a little dated as far as the fixtures are concerned. The carpet everywhere could use an overhaul and the pillows should be replaced. The location isn't very convenient if you don't have a vehicle or are willing to spend some money on a cab.

Overall, I honestly had a good time and received better service than I expected by the hotel staff.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northfield, New Hampshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

This place is beautiful...the service is hands down five stars and food is five stars too!!! The views 360 degrees are breath taking....they have exotic birds from all over the world there... Black swans, Canadian geese. This place is highly recommended

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The hotel is a first class establishment with beautifully laid out grounds and amenities.
Our room, a king size was very nice, and clean but all the accommodation's are a long way from the central lobby. However if you have a car you can park fairly close to the entrance nearest your room.
Our room overlooked the golf course, fountains , ponds with ducks and fish.
The weather was not to hot and at night we could leave the balcony door open.
The big negative is that the outside maintenance staff start working at 6am and it seems that every machine within 10 miles was going outside our room. It became very noisy and spoilt the ambiance and of course woke us up.
The concierge staff are very poor and had no idea about the greater Southern CA area.
All they could do was say look at the map. This was 3 different ladies.
The staff is very friendly and helpful. We ate in the "Fish restaurant and it was reasonably priced with good service.
The pools are very nice, but do not use the main "party pool' as the music is very loud and obnoxious. Use the upper pool. The service at the pool was bad.

Room Tip: do not take a room facing the outside, you have a room facing the pool and golf course
See more room tips
Green Features: with the drought in CA, the endless fountains and flowing water was surprising and a waste of a precious resource
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

As the previous reviewer, we stayed as part of the Coachella package and specifically chose the JW as we thought it would be worth the extra money and distance from the venue as a trade for the usual Marriott quality. Alas, this was not the case.

The hotel is very run down and needs serious investment. The hallways between the lifts are crazy. You need a lay down at the end of them. They need more staff working the poolside area, you can easily wait over an hour for service.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
esther f, Guest Relations Manager at Desert Springs JW Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on our resort. Customer input ia always welcome and is a vital part of our ability to better serve our guests. I have made our management team aware of your concerns. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to welcome you back to Palm Desert soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed here as part of the coachella and valley music travel packages, what can I say I am feeling let down. The hotel is huge, when checking in we had to walk to the lifts go up to level four, walk down 3 passages then down another lift and across a courtyard to our rooms. No idea what they were thinking when designing the hotel but also not something you want to be doing when arriving home late each night tired from a night out. Im not sure whats worse having to walk all the way to my room or the people who had to put up with noise with their rooms on the 4th floor coming off a main passage way linking hotel blocks together. The hotel needs serious refurbishnent adding in extra sky bridges making access easier for guests. The room itself was okay, nothing special. I noticed a dirty old computer chair outside in the courtyard alongside an abandoned microwave outside the door next to us...the rooms dont even have microwaves so no idea why is was there. I feel bad for the staff as they are very friendly and do the best they can however the hotel layout and rooms let the whole experience down. The pool was nice with lots of music and a little action during the day. The shuttle service organised was execellent and poolside food and drinks great.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
esther f, Guest Relations Manager at Desert Springs JW Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Thank you for your specific feedback about your experienced and in particlar your room location. Please accept my apology for the challenges your exoerienced. I have shared these comments with the ledership team to reevalute. Again, thank you for your feedback and I look forward to welcomeyou again the Desert Springs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mybeach101
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Beautiful resort which even has part of their lagoon in the lobby. There are boTs which will give you a your from the lobby.

Imagine tropical birds all over the lobby on perches. Pink flamingos and swans swim in the ponds.

Our room overlooked the main pool. The view was great and the bird sounds really fun.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Desert Springs JW Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Springs JW Marriott Resort & Spa

Address: 74855 Country Club Dr, Palm Desert, CA 92260
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Palm Desert
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Desert
#6 Family Hotel in Palm Desert
#7 Romantic Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Desert Springs JW Marriott Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 884
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, Marriott, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Desert Springs JW Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Springs Jw Marriott Hotel Palm Desert
Desert Springs Jw Marriott Resort And Spa
Jw Marriott Palm Desert
Marriott Palm Desert
Palm Desert Marriott
Jw Marriott Desert Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desert Springs JW Marriott Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.