We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceed our expectations!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Desert Springs JW Marriott Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Desert Springs JW Marriott Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Desert Springs JW Marriott Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   74855 Country Club Dr, Palm Desert, CA 92260   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Daily Credit
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Palm Desert
Lake Forest, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Exceed our expectations!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stay almost exclusively with the Marriott chain, and this was our first stay at a JW Marriott resort. I read the reviews on this hotel, and I was a little concerned about it's "party" reputation. It seems that the worst reviews for this Resort occur around a holiday. I booked the "Spa Getaway" package for one night, and breakfast for two, and a king room with a "Signature View." We arrived over three hours early, on a Saturday, but Daniel as able to check us in early. He got us a room with a wonderful view of the resort and San Jacinto Mountain in the distance. We had the opportunity to have lunch in the Rockwood Grill, appetizers in the Lobby Bar, dinner at Mikado's, a teppan style restaurant, and then a buffet breakfast at Rockwood Grill.

Our stay exceeded our expectations! The grounds were well kept, the staff was friendly and helpful, the room was great, and the room view was to die for. Was the resort crowded? Yes. Was the young crowd there to have a good time? Yes. But, we were able to avoid the crowds when we wanted to. The night life definitely starts after sundown. If you wish a quiet stay, I suggest requesting a room away from the pool side of the hotel. That is where the "action" is, so to speak. The quieter side of the hotel is on the Rockwood Grill side. The covered parking structure is on that side as well.

Room Tip: If you wish a quiet stay, I suggest requesting a room away from the pool side of the hotel. That is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    505
    400
    176
    117
    69
See reviews for
265
367
33
306
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dingle, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
250 helpful votes 250 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Just back this evening from a one night stay with friends in their villa. Absolutely wonderful one-bedroom ground-floor villa with a studio 'lock-off'. Everything working perfectly from the fold-out sofa bed to the dishwasher. The lay-out and decor are well above standard - comfort and quality all around. The best impressions I got were from the hotel itself - the pool area is wonderful - and the staff are professional and genuinely friendly - especially a pool-side server, Kyle, who's sound character and welcoming manner made us smile (and order more haha) and Jonathan, a manager, who likewise enhanced the holiday and certainly increased my confidence in the resort as a whole.

Note: the guacamole was excellent - and the attractive ice-water dispensers placed within easy reach of any poolside position were a definite day-save factor - it was wicked hot today..

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights, the first being a Saturday. Unfortunately, the Saturday we stayed the hotel was more like Las Vegas than Palm Desert. The hotel, which is big, was heaving. We had to wait 30 minutes for a room, which wasn't ideal. We were told our room only needed a final inspection and we could get our keys, and to check back in 15 mins. Went back after 20 and was told room still not ready and the receptionist pointed out that as we were trying to check in 45 minutes early (i.e. at 3.15pm) what do we expect!! As about 30 other people were checking in at the same time we were expecting a room in the same way that others were getting theirs. After politely reminding her that there were plenty of other hotels in the vicinity she miraculously found a room instantly. The rest of the day resembled being an extra in a Hangover film, mainly due to the numerous hen parties whose only purpose was to get as drunk as possible as quickly as possible in the bars and restaurants. I guess we're getting old! We were disturbed again when they staggered back to their rooms in the early hours.

Sunday was better, particularly in the morning when they were sleeping off the alcohol and we were left with a much smaller number of guests, other couples and families.

Monday was the best day as the resort was really quiet.

The food was OK, but considerably overpriced. We went on a package with $100 credit per night but this did not include alcohol and did not go far on their prices.

The grounds were immaculate, but the swimming pools and sun beds looked dated. The main pool area was also full of sunbeds such that there was very little space. The main pool also had music blaring out on the Saturday until 6pm.

The hotel, as said before, is really big and whilst they have tried to hide the fact it is just a cheap concrete construction, they didn't do as well as they could, because that's what it is.

We went for a peaceful get away from it all break, which we eventually got but the Saturday was very disappointing and I'm surprised this hotel wants to attract the party crowd.

If we had rated this on Sunday morning it would have been terrible. By Sunday night it was poor and the fact that Monday was quiet meant it got an average. We won't be returning.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
269 reviews 269 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

I stay at JW marriotts all over the world . Thought this would be a great place to stop for the nite heading back to the airport .

Great grounds , location , etc but no executive suite for platinum members , and the room was a disappointment .

I had a "pull out from the wall " bed , no stocked refrigerator , and the room service dining was not good. Food was cold , they did not have many scotch's and it took over an hour to get .

I love the j w Marriott chain but I will not come back to this one . They should have paid me to stay here .

I would not recommend this location .

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesertSpringsJW, General Manager at Desert Springs JW Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for taking time to submit your review. As a Top Contributor with TripAdvisor and a frequent Marriott customer, we know you are an avid traveler and have high standards in your hospitality experiences. We strive to provide a premier experience for our guests, and all feedback helps us continue to work towards that goal. I will share your suggestions on how to improve the experience – particularly for Platinum members – with my team. I hope you will consider returning and giving us another opportunity to provide you with the type of experience we are typically known for centered on fabulous service and luxury!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, USA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

A gargantuan sprawling resort with stunning mountain views. This is an Audubon sanctuary with diverse wildlife, which eased my conscience about the usage of water to create monumental surrounding lakes, greens, and foliage. Rooms are spacious but dull, so it is worth the effort or even money to get a higher-floor room with mountain views. Otherwise you are apt to feel trapped in a Dinah Shore tranquilizing chamber with annoyingly large popcorn nodes on the ceiling. With 12 days logged here, I testify to an outstandingly helpful staff for all needs. Fitness center closes at 6 pm most days. Four stars only because the resort is not worth it without a view.

Room Tip: Mountain side on the far wings, pool views even on upper floors are iffy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesertSpringsJW, General Manager at Desert Springs JW Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for taking time to submit your review. While we did update our rooms recently in a $25 million renovation, I’m sorry to hear they did not meet your expectations. I’m very pleased to hear you enjoyed the beauty of the resort during your extended stay with us, and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

A wonderful place to stay. Beautiful grounds. Very helpful staff. The only issue was that the pools are hot, feels more like a Jacuzzi tub. They could also use double the umbrellas in the pool area, especially since you can't cool down in the water. Other than this a great place!

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper choose the second floor. Also the only reason to give a lower rating o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Valley, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

The service really is amazing at this hotel! My husband and I came here for our anniversary. I had mentioned it to the front desk and they gave us a room with a view of the pool. They also gave us a gift certificate to the lounge. A few things to note if you come to the resort... Request a room near the lobby. We had to walk pretty far to get to the pool, lobby or restaurants. If you are from the east coast, I wouldn’t recommend coming in August unless you like 112 degree weather. The other issue we had was the room was a bit warm for our liking. We called the front desk asking for an engineer to come take a look and see if everything was working properly. They came when we were out and front desk informed us that it was working, but the rooms won't go below 72 degrees or any other room for that matter. I asked for a fan, but they didn’t have one. The spa is really nice. We got massages twice during our stay. My husband didn't enjoy it very much. For myself, the first time was excellent; the second time was not so great. The Rockwood Grill Restaurant on the other hand is incredible all around. The service and food is a 10! The design of the restaurant is stunning and the breakfast buffet is great! The resort really is beautiful and I would definitely recommend this resort.

Room Tip: Close to lobby or pool. If not you have to walk pretty far away. Also if you go during the summer ti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Desert Springs JW Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Springs JW Marriott Resort & Spa

Address: 74855 Country Club Dr, Palm Desert, CA 92260
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Desert
#2 Business Hotel in Palm Desert
#8 Family Hotel in Palm Desert
#9 Romantic Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Desert Springs JW Marriott Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 884
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Desert Springs JW Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Springs Jw Marriott Hotel Palm Desert
Desert Springs Jw Marriott Resort And Spa
Jw Marriott Palm Desert
Marriott Palm Desert
Palm Desert Marriott
Jw Marriott Desert Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desert Springs JW Marriott Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.