We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding property, beautiful resort!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Desert Springs JW Marriott Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Desert Springs JW Marriott Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Desert Springs JW Marriott Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   74855 Country Club Dr, Palm Desert, CA 92260   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Daily Credit
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Palm Desert
Lake Mary, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Outstanding property, beautiful resort!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Stayed here with my family around Easter, and found the resort to be awesome. All the staff was friendly and accommodating. Our room had a stunning view of the mountain range, prefaced by the golf course. The pool area is to die for, but get there early for the best chairs. The staff does a good job at the pool cycling vacant chairs to accommodate as many guests as possible. Overall, a wonderful resort!

Room Tip: Golf/mountain view is better than the city view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    511
    401
    177
    117
    69
See reviews for
267
371
34
306
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Upper Saddle River, New Jersey, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We arrived here from Four Seasons Las Vegas, so not sure if our expectations were too high. But we have always found JW Marriott's to be of a very high quality and as Gold Members we expected more. This place is tired and is in desperate need of a makeover! I would not recommend this hotel to anyone! The staff are not very nice and certainly not helpful, from the front desk, to concierge to bell boys, everyone we came across had an attitude. The pools were like a scene out of Spring Break, with 35 year olds, the bars at the pool closed on a Friday night at 6pm, it is not a resort at all!

Couldn't wait to leave here to be honest, don't bother!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesertSpringsJW, General Manager at Desert Springs JW Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review your visit to our resort. My sincere apologies for the impression that was left following your stay, and I’m sorry it prevented you from enjoying the type of premier experience we are typically known for and strive to provide. That was a particularly busy time at the resort, and I hope you will consider coming back during the season and giving us another opportunity to provide you with a true luxury experience that is centered around customer service! If you wish to speak with me personally about your stay, please call 760-862-1586.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Everything about this resort is perfect except for the restaurants and the boat ride.
The prices in the restaurants are very high compared to the food they give you. Also the free boat tour of the resort runs for 1 hour starting at 5 PM and there was only 1 boat running, so we did not get a chance to ride it. Overall it is a very nice resort/hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I’ll start by saying the grounds are really pretty with the lakes and golf course and palm trees everywhere. The lobby is also done very well. If you get a pool / golf course view you will love the view. I was here a year ago and at about 230am we were awoken to people parting in the room next door. I called the front desk but that didn’t help. On check out I told the front desk manager she said let us know next time you come back and we will make it up to you. Fast forward to this weekend. I called the front desk manager and told them I was coming back to try it again because I love the grounds here. She said she didn’t have any notes in the system about my prior problem. WTF? She said all she could do was upgrade my room to a view room. The next day I tried to reach the hotel manager to inform him about this and was only able to speak to his assistant. Told her the story she called me in the afternoon to say they could offer me a $50.00 hotel credit. I asked for at least an early check in and late checkout till 3 pm and she agreed. That’s all they were willing to do since the other manager didn’t do the job right and make notes on my reservation.

Ok got to the hotel room was ready and they did what I had asked which was a room high up at the end of the building on the other side from the stupid club there. I had a great view very happy until we went to sleep. The air-conditioner wasn’t working. When the thing reached the desired temp it shuts down and made a loud noise until it went back on, so we had to set it to freezing so it wouldn’t shut off. Called front desk in the am they gave me $100.00 back.

The bed was sooooo hard and uncomfortable neither of us slept well and woke up with back aches.

Employee’s we all very nice and helpful when we were there.

Got to tell you I like the hotel itself but I can’t stand that it’s full of 20 year old's partying. You should have seen the pool it was packed like a Vegas pool with them and the music was sooo loud you could hear it from the spa pool and couldn’t even hear the spa pools music. Had to go there cause there was no way we were going to the main pools like that. They should just close that club down to make it a more enjoyable hotel for everyone not just the young ones and BTW I’m only 41 but when we go away we want to chill and out relax. You can’t relax like that.

If you want a Vegas style party atmosphere you will love this place.

Probably will be my last time here unfortunately. Next time going back to La Qunita Resort much more peaceful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesertSpringsJW, General Manager at Desert Springs JW Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review your experience with us. I am disappointed to hear you encountered some issues that prevented you from enjoying the type of premier experience we are typically known for and strive to provide. Summer is a very busy time at the resort – particularly by the pool – and I hope you will consider coming back during the season and giving us another opportunity to provide you with a true luxury experience that is centered around customer service! If you wish to speak with me personally about your stay, please call 760-862-1586.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

A group of us women (10 of us) stayed at this resort over the weekend for a mini-retreat. We wanted a resort that was close enough from OC and offers a lot of nice amenities, should some of us decide to use them. We could not have picked a nicer place for this purpose. The staff was very accomodating and very pleasant from the time we checked in to the time we left. For those of us who booked doubles, they even split our hotel folio AT CHECK IN! We did not leave the grounds the whole weekend, opting instead to stay by the pool and do nothing, it is an R&R after all. The pool area got very crowded on Saturday, but it was still a lot better than the pool scenes in Vegas. They have the "quieter pool" where we stayed. You can still hear the music from the main pool but all in all, it was good. And the attendants made sure that everyone was safe and cognizant of the rules. They had to tell another party to stop throwing a soccer ball around since the ball had been flying into other people. Our waiter, Sal, was very professional, checking every so often to make sure we are still okay. For dinner, we made reservations at the Rockwood Grill for 8:30 pm since that was the only time available. We showed up an hour early to get some drinks at the bar, but they were able to accomodate our party earlier. We all opted for the buffet and the choices were worth the price ($35/pp). Our waitress (sorry but I forgot her name) was also exceptional, even offering to split our check among 10 women! We gladly declined. But she was very attentive and we never had to ask for water! A major point when 10 women are all engrossed in the conversations going on. Overall, it was a very good choice for a getaway. We all decided that we should return for another getaway soon!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesertSpringsJW, General Manager at Desert Springs JW Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review our resort. I am so glad to hear your party had such an excellent stay – and I’m particularly pleased you felt you received such outstanding customer service. We work hard to provide the type of experience you have described, and it is wonderful to hear when we have achieved that for our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

It is my understanding that the JW Marriott brand represents one of the finest collections of Marriott hotels in the world. This resort is anything but that. Management is obviously catering to the 20 something crowd of rowdy and obnoxious people who want to get drunk and party like a rock star with complete disregard for anyone else around them. On the night we checked in, around 11PM there was a paramedic and a stretcher in the lobby. Apparently two guys got in a bar fight. We saw one guy holding a towel over his bloody face, and they were loading the other guy on the stretcher. As we continued walking, we couldn't help but notice several tables filled with 50-100 empty bud light cans of beer, empty bottles of alcohol everywhere, very trashy and definitely not classy for a Marriott. There were drunk people everywhere, some of which could barely walk. Don't get me wrong, I LOVE to drink, but I also know my limits and know how to compose myself in public when drinking.

If you're expecting a good night sleep you better get a room in the far corners of the hotel at the very end of the hall because the beds are right against the same wall as the hallway, and the door is right next to your bed, and as the rowdy drunk people come back from their parties at 3 or 4 in the morning you WILL get woken up, unless you take an Ambien CR the night before. The insulation in the rooms is non existent. We could hear running water from the other rooms, and plenty of noise all around. Our room had a VERY musty smell to it that made me wonder if I was breathing mold the whole time.

The hotel states it was remodeled. I must say it was a very light remodel. Many fixtures were not changed out, the ceiling is still popcorn, and our room had a little bit of a gap between the bed and the headboard that was mounted on the wall. Not too classy. There was also a giant chip in the wood on the door of our room and other signs of visible wear, which could be expected given all the drunk partiers in this hotel.

On the plus side, our room was on the top floor overlooking the tall palms in the front of the property. It had a nice balcony, but it was too hot out to really enjoy it. The bathroom was pretty good sized with great water pressure and a separate shower from the tub. The only problem with the good water pressure was the water splashed all over the floor in the bathroom.

They had a couple small bottles of water next to the coffee maker which were free. I thought that was a nice touch given most hotels charge $4 bucks or more for a bottle of water. The grounds are BEAUTIFUL, and the lobby is very nice, but unfortunately it all just gets ruined with the drunken crowd that fills the hotel. There is a nice sized Starbucks in the lobby which is very handy.

We went to the pool during the way, and as many other reviewers say, it's completely packed with a bunch of loud drunk people who have no respect for anyone but themselves. Apparently this hotel SELLS DAY PASSES TO THE POOL for $20 per day, and that's probably why they attract the crowd that they do.

Parking is $17 bucks a night. Fortunately, we got a great deal on the room on one of those travel bidding sites. If I had paid $200-300 a night for this place I would have felt completely ripped off. So, I believe, in summary if you're a 20 something college kid looking to get drunk and party like a rock star, this could be the place for you. For everyone else who wants to have a nice relaxing vacation and some peace and quiet this is DEFINITELY not the place.

I did leave out one redeeming thing about the property. Every staff member we interacted with were friendly and very customer service oriented. That's very important in the hotel business.

Room Tip: All the way down at the end of the hall so you don't have too much traffic walking by your room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesertSpringsJW, General Manager at Desert Springs JW Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share a very comprehensive review of your stay at our property. We strive to provide a premier experience for our guests, and any and all feedback helps us continue to work towards that goal. I’m happy to hear you appreciated the beauty of the resort and were able to enjoy some of its amenities; however, I am sorry to hear about the issues you encountered that detracted from all the resort has to offer. We actually do not allow the public into our pools, but guests from the Marriott Villas adjacent to the property at times are allowed to use the pools based on a specific fee. I hope you will consider returning and giving us another opportunity to provide you with the type of experience we are typically known for – one that is centered around service and luxury!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

I was at this hotel for business for 3 days. This is a nice place with well kept grounds and a nice large bar and sushi bar located on lobby floor. The indoor/outdoor spring is neat. This is a larger resort compared to some I have stayed at, nothing like the massive Vegas resorts but larger than your average Marriott or Hilton. I wouldn't take my family to vacation here, nothing against the hotel I just didn't like Palm Desert, not much to do other then sit at the pool and dive in every 5 minutes.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Desert Springs JW Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Springs JW Marriott Resort & Spa

Address: 74855 Country Club Dr, Palm Desert, CA 92260
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Desert
#3 Business Hotel in Palm Desert
#8 Family Hotel in Palm Desert
#9 Romantic Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Desert Springs JW Marriott Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 884
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Marriott, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Desert Springs JW Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Springs Jw Marriott Hotel Palm Desert
Desert Springs Jw Marriott Resort And Spa
Jw Marriott Palm Desert
Marriott Palm Desert
Palm Desert Marriott
Jw Marriott Desert Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desert Springs JW Marriott Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.