We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel- great staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Desert Springs JW Marriott Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Desert Springs JW Marriott Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Desert Springs JW Marriott Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   74855 Country Club Dr, Palm Desert, CA 92260   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$100 Nightly Credit
Ranked #10 of 22 hotels in Palm Desert
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great hotel- great staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The staff is friendly and accommodating from the minute you arrive. Great property and the spa is fantastic. Full service Starbucks in the Lobby! Grass tennis courts. Great property! JW Marriott consistently delivers great resorts!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,184 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    461
    369
    171
    114
    69
See reviews for
252
344
29
281
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sioux City, Iowa
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We spent 4 nights at the JW Marriott in Palm Desert attending a national conference. The hotel and grounds are beautiful. The property is very large and you can expect to do some walking just getting around. We found the staff exceptionally nice. The pool areas are beautiful, pools were heated, lounge chairs and towells plentiful.

The food at the functions at the hotel was very good. We met some associates for breakfast one mornign in the Rockwood Grille on property - food was fine, but we thought the prices were outlandishly high for breakfast.

Room Tip: all rooms have nice balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The hotel and grounds are beautiful. Several good restaurants within the hotel, none are cheap but you aren't at a Budget Inn, after all. The gym is surprisingly well-equipped, and they offer classes every morning, with a varying schedule of types of workouts. Plenty of free weights, cardio and machines as well. The rooms are spacious. I would have liked a really soft pillow. The two choices are firm or softer, but not soft. My neck was cranked all night and I hate that. Everyone on staff there is friendly, warm and gracious. My only complaint is that starting on Friday it seems that the place fills up with families, and the kids take over the pools, running and screaming while their parents stare off, zombie-like. I wish they had a pool for adults only but they don't. There are also alot of older teens, young twenties folks who arrive, get drunk and bellow all night. OTOH, they are not up early in the morning so those are always peaceful. I'd say stay away on weekends unless you like hearing "MARCO! POLO!" all day.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't get a room that is behind the elevator, where the hydraulics are located. Yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The best Sunday brunch (buffet) in the desert. Reasonable price and great choice of food. Seeting both inside and out. I would recommend outside, but this can not be reserved (first come first served).

Room Tip: I did not stay at the hotel (Brunch only).
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

For such a large hotel, this property is lovely. While it is a convention destination and thus caters to large groups, it still maintains a caring quality. The staff are excellent, the rooms are clean standard rooms. However, ours had a huge balcony that was a nice addition. The pools are heated and sometimes visited by ducks from the surrounding ponds. which also host swans geese and even flamingos. The grounds are meticulous and well planted with flowers. The restaurant food was excellent. Really, there's not anything negative I can say other than since the hotel is atrium style the noise from the bar can be heard in your room at night, but I'm stretching it to even mention that. I tend to stay at boutique hotels but this was a delightful surprise. There's even a Starbucks in the lobby, how can it get better than that?

Room Tip: While the rooms facing the pool command a premium, ours faced the front and was just as nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We drove thru the desert and mountains to this wonderful hotel. Let the staff lead you to your room when you check in...this is an enormous hotel. We stayed on the top floor overlooking the golf course and ponds. The swans, ducks and geese were a hoot. Our room was large and bathroom marble and granite, nice big tub. All the staff were gracious and called us by name each time we picked up our car or arrived back at the hotel. Can't say enought good things about the staff, ate at the Japanese resturant and steak house. Both were exceptional. Made a trip to the spa....a beautiful facility. Only regret is our short stay...we will be back.

Room Tip: We stayed as far away from main lobby as we could for quiet. But be warned its a huge hotel and ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California, USA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I had a very nice time on the property during my stay. The televisions worked for gaming (720p highest)-and the maintenance staff was very helpful in my issues between my PS3 and the flat panel in the room. We had a corner room with the HUGE balcony and overlooking some of the golf course and the lagoon(?)
I only wish they had one other alternative for early morning risers and breakfast. Yes, the room service was tasted good-but as far as variety, that is my only issue.
I liked the gym-clean, friendly staff, and well maintained.
Fisherman's landing had good drinks, and the food was good. Rockwood has good food and service as well.

Room Tip: VERY nice Hotel experience. I would definitely return if possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Desert Springs JW Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Springs JW Marriott Resort & Spa

Address: 74855 Country Club Dr, Palm Desert, CA 92260
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Desert
#2 Business Hotel in Palm Desert
#8 Family Hotel in Palm Desert
#10 Romantic Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Desert Springs JW Marriott Resort & Spa 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Otel and Venere so you can book your Desert Springs JW Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Springs Jw Marriott Resort And Spa
Desert Springs Jw Marriott Hotel Palm Desert
Jw Marriott Palm Desert
Marriott Palm Desert
Palm Desert Marriott
Jw Marriott Desert Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desert Springs JW Marriott Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.