We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful property” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Desert Springs JW Marriott Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Desert Springs JW Marriott Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Desert Springs JW Marriott Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   74855 Country Club Dr, Palm Desert, CA 92260   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 20% thru 5/3!
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Palm Desert
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful property”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

For such a large hotel, this property is lovely. While it is a convention destination and thus caters to large groups, it still maintains a caring quality. The staff are excellent, the rooms are clean standard rooms. However, ours had a huge balcony that was a nice addition. The pools are heated and sometimes visited by ducks from the surrounding ponds. which also host swans geese and even flamingos. The grounds are meticulous and well planted with flowers. The restaurant food was excellent. Really, there's not anything negative I can say other than since the hotel is atrium style the noise from the bar can be heard in your room at night, but I'm stretching it to even mention that. I tend to stay at boutique hotels but this was a delightful surprise. There's even a Starbucks in the lobby, how can it get better than that?

Room Tip: While the rooms facing the pool command a premium, ours faced the front and was just as nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    581
    441
    199
    122
    75
See reviews for
297
412
35
357
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (400)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United States
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We drove thru the desert and mountains to this wonderful hotel. Let the staff lead you to your room when you check in...this is an enormous hotel. We stayed on the top floor overlooking the golf course and ponds. The swans, ducks and geese were a hoot. Our room was large and bathroom marble and granite, nice big tub. All the staff were gracious and called us by name each time we picked up our car or arrived back at the hotel. Can't say enought good things about the staff, ate at the Japanese resturant and steak house. Both were exceptional. Made a trip to the spa....a beautiful facility. Only regret is our short stay...we will be back.

Room Tip: We stayed as far away from main lobby as we could for quiet. But be warned its a huge hotel and ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California, USA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I had a very nice time on the property during my stay. The televisions worked for gaming (720p highest)-and the maintenance staff was very helpful in my issues between my PS3 and the flat panel in the room. We had a corner room with the HUGE balcony and overlooking some of the golf course and the lagoon(?)
I only wish they had one other alternative for early morning risers and breakfast. Yes, the room service was tasted good-but as far as variety, that is my only issue.
I liked the gym-clean, friendly staff, and well maintained.
Fisherman's landing had good drinks, and the food was good. Rockwood has good food and service as well.

Room Tip: VERY nice Hotel experience. I would definitely return if possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

There are many beautiful resorts and many equally beautiful locations. This JW Marriott resort marries both. I have stayed here 3 times now - once on business and twice for personal holiday. This resort just feels clean, fresh, visually interesting and impeccably kept. I especially enjoy the pool area (I purchased the PURE REGGAE soundtrack they were playing) as well as drinking coffee and reading my Wall Street Journal just outside my room in the morning desert air. There are many shops and incredible nature attractions all around the area (take the boat ride, see the fish!) and we enjoy driving into Palm Springs for dinner. Just remember, at times it can be 105 degrees in the parking lot yet only 55 and cool atop the surrounding mountains just a short distance away. Be sure to wear good flip-flops!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Although I only stayed one day, I was very pleased with all the staff. Pleasant, helpful and always smiling. Even when my room wasn't ready on my arrival I felt taken care of. When it was ready they called me on my cell phone and I was in my room within a half hour. The accommodations were very nice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Despite its age, this is still and excellent hotel with a great staff. Golf courses are in great shape. Pool area expansive and clean. I do wish they would keep thier jacuzzi at 104 degrees. It felt like about 100. It was warm but not hot enough to give you the heated relaxed muscles that I like in spa that is at proper temp. Your kids will love riding the boats to the restaurant.

Room Tip: Mountain view facing north are quieter rooms as many of the rooms facing the pool get the noise from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

My biggest disappointment was that we were only able to stay one night! The rooms are glorious and the property is dream-like. We had a slight glitch at check-in - the property is huge and we were given poor directions to our room. We ended up wandering around like fools for 30 minutes. But after that was solved, we have no complaints. With a mini-golf course on the property - along with beautiful pools, it's great for kids and adults.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Desert Springs JW Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Springs JW Marriott Resort & Spa

Address: 74855 Country Club Dr, Palm Desert, CA 92260
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Palm Desert
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Desert
#6 Family Hotel in Palm Desert
#7 Romantic Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Desert Springs JW Marriott Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 884
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Desert Springs JW Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Springs Jw Marriott Hotel Palm Desert
Desert Springs Jw Marriott Resort And Spa
Jw Marriott Palm Desert
Marriott Palm Desert
Palm Desert Marriott
Jw Marriott Desert Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desert Springs JW Marriott Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.