We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, great food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Desert Springs JW Marriott Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Desert Springs JW Marriott Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Desert Springs JW Marriott Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   74855 Country Club Dr, Palm Desert, CA 92260   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and save 20%!
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Palm Desert
Certificate of Excellence
London, UK
Level Contributor
44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I sayed here for a week in January 2013 for a company conference. The room was fine, clean and serviced well. The bed linens are lovely and there is a good choice of pillows. The only issue with the room was the noisy aircon - it is the older type that switches itself on and off automatically, but with a big bang and crash each time. I turned it off at night so that I would not get woken up each time, but that would be a real problem if the weather was hot. I thought that the grounds were beautifully maintained. Food throughout the conference was very good as was service - particularly at the many restaurants, especially the Italian restaurant, which was excellent. Personally, I would not choose a mega-resort hotel for a family holiday, and this one did not change my mind, but I would cheer if it came up as a conference venue again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank uksa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I arrived at the JW Marriott and I was given a room that was promoted to me as one of the better rooms at the hotel. The room was awful to say the least. The commode would not flush, the telephone would not work, the thermostat was broken and the bed was not made.
I went back to the desk and asked for the manager. He apologized and said that he would move to a nicer room and that it would be higher and a better view. The new room was actually in at a lower level and in the same wing. When I entered the room, it smelled like a sewer! The bell captain agreed and we then moved to the third room. Believe it or not, the next room did not have hot water!
The bell captain called and asked the manager for another room but they did not have a king size bed remaining. So, I moved to my fourth room and I told the bell captain that anything that was clean and worked would be fine. Believe it or not, the manager did not offer to make things right. The bell captain called the manager and said that they had to do something for me because I was so patient. They finally agreed to give me a $50.00 credit.
I was very disappointed in this highly touted property.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Al B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

I used my Marriott rewards points to get away for a night and feel like it could have been a lot better. First of all, you have to use a lot of points for this location (30,000), which takes quite some time to accrue, so I really was hoping that it would be worthwhile. I asked the girl at check in for a room that didn't have a view of the parking lot...she was a bit annoyed and commented that I was using points, so she couldn't do much. I would think that she would take the other approach and find a nice room for us. She found a room and it didn't have a view of the parking lot...it was a view of construction. After paying for an upgrade, we received a view of the duck pond and pool which was nice.
The valet service was disorganized (they were all talking when we came out) and when the car came around, they drove it halfway up, got out and handed me the keys...I was wedged between 2 cars that weren't going anywhere and one of the valets nearly hit my car. Room was nice and the housekeepers were very friendly.

Beautiful hotel, but don't expect 5 star service like they have provided in years past.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charliecutler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooloolaba, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Just turning into the drive way you will start to go oooh! We drove here and the greeting from the front door of this hotel through to our farewell was totally exceptional. The receptionist was terrific, and the assistance of the bell boy to get our bags to the room was great. He explained where things were and the places to eat.

Our room was not big, and the beds are small. We had a family of four with two beds but they were standard doubles not queen size so that was a little tight.

A feature of the hotel is the 'gondola' ride to get to the restaurants. We thought this would cost money but it is a free service. We dined at the seaford restaurant and it was terrific value and very reasonable for a family.

Breakfast was again exceptional, the buffet is not only well priced but endless.

The fresh water around the hotel for you to drink is a wonderful touch and the fact there is a starbucks in the lobby is a great bonus for a coffee addict like me.

What I did love is that they were great, we accidentally left a couple of things in our room and they were wonderful to send them to us. A follow up phone call as well as an email just added to the great experience.

Room Tip: If you have a family get adjoining rooms, do not try a two bed room, just too small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerrivv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaysville, Utah
Level Contributor
301 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here 3 nights for our 10-year anniversary. It was great. The hotel is older but updated. Has enormous swimming pools, deluxe spa, nice restaurants, and gondolas. Very beautiful resort and the staff was extremely warm and welcoming. We will be back here again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kearney, Nebraska
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We absolutely loved our stay here ! The service was outstanding throughout the entire hotel. We were here on my Husbands business trip and my Sons wedding. The staff was so kind and helpful, I dont know what more you could ever ask for. This is definitely a place we will return to.

Room Tip: There are no "bad" rooms. All have a balcony or patio with a beautiful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We recently stayed 5 nights at this resort while at a business conference. We attend this particular meeting each year and it is always held at a 4-5 star resort, but I could not bring myself to hold this JW anywhere close to some of the other resorts we've had the pleasure of visiting. Our main point of complaint was this resort is sprawled out (see review below that describes it as "amusement park" big) and we were put in one of the farthest rooms away from where all of our business meetings and dinners were held. This is very inconvenient if you need to just "run up to the room" if you forget something, etc., when the walk to your room takes almost eight (8) minutes!! In evening wear and high heels I would have to carry my shoes until we finally arrived at the elevator! In addition, this room was directly above a pond next to the golf course - beautiful view - but the pond was full of Candian Geese who acted as roosters and woke us each morning at 5:00am with their incessant HONKING!!! We called and complained to management and were told of course there was nothing they could do outside of moving us which after two days you know what a hassle it is to re-pack all of your belongings. Please, if you plan to stay at this hotel make sure you are not stuck in the rooms in either of the two atrium towers - you will hate having to walk the distance to your room! In addition we never received "turn-down" service - even after calling and asking why - we were told we had to request it - so after requesting the service we heard the maid come to the room NEXT to ours two nights in a row and never to our room. This hotel was a big dissapointment to us at $300/night and no where comparable to what we are usually treated to on this conference. Also, another reviewer mentioned the comfortable beds - we thought they were as hard as rocks and requested a foam pad - they had none...

Room Tip: Make sure you request a room in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tafeick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Desert
0.8 mi away
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
0.3 mi away
Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II
2.8 mi away
Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Indian Wells Resort & Spa
12.2 mi away
The Riviera Palm Springs, A Tribute Portfolio Resort
2.0 mi away
Marriott's Shadow Ridge
Marriott's Shadow Ridge
#8 of 23 in Palm Desert
4.0 of 5 stars 918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Springs JW Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Springs JW Marriott Resort & Spa

Address: 74855 Country Club Dr, Palm Desert, CA 92260
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Desert
#4 Business Hotel in Palm Desert
#7 Family Hotel in Palm Desert
#9 Romantic Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Desert Springs JW Marriott Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 884
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to an oasis of luxury at our Palm Desert hotel. From the moment you approach the palm-lined path leading to JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa, the experience of renewal begins. Our Palm Desert hotel offers the utmost in luxury and relaxation, including a stately lobby complete with cascading waterfalls and meandering waterways, six restaurants serving everything from fresh sushi to hand-stretched pizza, two championship golf courses, and spacious guest rooms appointed with high-tech amenities and elegant decor. After an exhilarating day of sightseeing and exploring, indulge in a personalized massage or detoxifying body wrap at The Spa at Desert Springs, or soak up the sun at any of our four resort-style pools. Active travelers will appreciate our Palm Desert resort's onsite fitness center, tennis and volleyball courts, and scenic jogging path. Our JW Marriott also features 210,000 square feet of dazzling event space for weddings and conferences. Discover a leader in style and service - book your stay at JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Desert Springs JW Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Springs Jw Marriott Resort And Spa
Desert Springs Jw Marriott Hotel Palm Desert
Jw Marriott Palm Desert
Marriott Palm Desert
Palm Desert Marriott
Jw Marriott Desert Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing