We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice overall, only 1 issue” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Desert Springs JW Marriott Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Desert Springs JW Marriott Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Desert Springs JW Marriott Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   74855 Country Club Dr, Palm Desert, CA 92260   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Palm Desert
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
99 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Very nice overall, only 1 issue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

First time stay at this resort. The place is huge. Several restaurants, bars and shops on site, plus two 18 hole gold courses. We did not eat at any of the restaurants, but had drinks in the lobby bard both nights. Selection was good but pricey (as expected). Rooms are very nice, standard size, comfortable beds. Bathroom has both tub and shower, nicely appointed with granite and marble, although the showed door did not seal completely so the mat was soaked after using (failed to report to hotel). Although I did not use the on site fitness center, I did go for runs each morning. The area is very conducive to running, since most streets in the area have cart/walking/running paths. A $24 daily resort fee was charged to room that included Internet, fitness center and use of other amenities such as their mini golf course. Mostly a very nice stay.

Only real displeasure was with their onsite night club (Costas). As we entered the club, a patron was being escorted out by security for being intoxicated. Later on, we realized he was just "dumped" out the front door with his wife/girlfriend. There is a patio for club patrons near the front entrance. When we stepped out onto th patio for some fresh air, the patron was passed out on the concrete near the entrance (wife by his side). Not sure why security did not escort him to his room (or off the property) initially. After roughly 30 minutes of lying on the concrete, he started to get sick (not a pretty site, espcially for a JW Resort). Ony then, did security hauled him away.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    641
    475
    221
    134
    84
See reviews for
336
450
37
385
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (440)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

We had a little bit of a rough start here (self parking is a nightmare and front desk wasn't very helpful) but things got better as our stay progressed. Very peaceful and comfortable resort. Highly recommend the buffet at the rockwood grill, the pasta bar and service there are excellent.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We had such a wonderful relaxing stay last week of December into January. When we checked in we were upgraded to an incredible room with a view of the pools and mountains. Nicole (Front Desk manager) helped us with restaurant recommendation and surprised us with a bottle of champagne New Year's eve (thank you Nicole!). The salt water pool is a nice option. The pizza at the Rockwood grill is incredible. We love this hotel!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed here two years ago and the place was tired and frumpy. The rooms had junk quality furniture. Wow...what a restoration. This is good news because the hotel really is nice. Better yet, the staff seems to have been to Ritz Carlton training. Every single person we encountered greeted us like long lost friends. The transformation has been dramatic. I do recommend insisting on a water view with a balcony. The outdoor views are stunning. Also get the breakfast package. They have a terrific breakfast. We dined outdoors by a fire pit table. Nice! Ok-They still have some work to do on the doors between the elevators and the hallways. There is also some broken tile and details that don't live up to the JW standards.Those details distract from what a JW really should be...perfect. Overall...it is a great stay and the rooms are clean and new. The staff is VERY friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Get a balcony overlooking the water an a high floor. Ask for the breakfast package.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

My husband and I were here for business and both REALLY enjoyed the resort. We had a very comfortable King bed with a very large balcony. The bathroom was very spacious and everything was VERY clean. There is a full-service Starbucks right off of the lobby which we visited several times. Also a bar in the lobby area that was great and the staff was very friendly. We didn't eat at the hotel but others at the event told us the food was great! There are big tropical birds in the lobby and a boat that comes in and picks passengers up for a boat tour! Very cool... we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fitchburg, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This hotel/spa is a wonderful excape. The rooms are spacous, the hotel facalities are beautiful, the pools are huge and the dining options on the facility are outstanding. It is only a short drive from Palm Springs. If you are a golfer, this is also a great option. If you miss the days when you were a biker, you can rent a Harley and go for a ride.
The staff is friendly and make you feel like a guest.

Room Tip: Make sure you try the Mikado Japanese restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Calder, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband and i stayed here in june 2012 we had a marvellous time the staff could not do enough for us. The hotel rooms were lovely and the balcony was huge. I highly recommend this hotel it was fantastic will stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Desert
0.8 mi away
Westin Desert Willow Villas
Westin Desert Willow Villas
#2 of 22 in Palm Desert
4.5 of 5 stars 605 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II
2.8 mi away
Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Riviera Palm Springs, A Noble House Resort
5.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Rancho Mirage
The Ritz-Carlton, Rancho Mirage
#1 of 8 in Rancho Mirage
4.5 of 5 stars 368 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Indian Wells Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Springs JW Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Springs JW Marriott Resort & Spa

Address: 74855 Country Club Dr, Palm Desert, CA 92260
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Palm Desert
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Desert
#9 Family Hotel in Palm Desert
#9 Romantic Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Desert Springs JW Marriott Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 884
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Desert Springs JW Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Springs Jw Marriott Hotel Palm Desert
Desert Springs Jw Marriott Resort And Spa
Jw Marriott Palm Desert
Marriott Palm Desert
Palm Desert Marriott
Jw Marriott Desert Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desert Springs JW Marriott Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.