We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Vacation In Palm Springs” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Desert Springs JW Marriott Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Desert Springs JW Marriott Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Desert Springs JW Marriott Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   74855 Country Club Dr, Palm Desert, CA 92260   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$100 Nightly Credit
Ranked #10 of 22 hotels in Palm Desert
new york city
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Family Vacation In Palm Springs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at this Marriott. The staff were all friendly & the restaurants were great. Even during Christmas week...the waits were minimal. The Habachi style Japanese restaurant , the boat rides for the kids, and morning bird holding at 10am were a great experiences. The rooms are decent & clean...nothing special. The balcony off my room was great to see the Sunrise and morning rainbows. The hotel is huge so make sure if you have multiple rooms you all are together otherwise you'll never find each other.
:)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,184 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    461
    369
    171
    114
    69
See reviews for
252
344
29
281
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
zzzzzz
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I must admit I had reservations about the hotel when we booked it – on paper it looked too big, and for the price we paid maybe a bit tacky – and where was Palm Desert for that matter, we had only ever been to Palm Springs.
Well we were wrong on all counts, great place, good service and given the size of the resort IT WORKED! The ground are immaculate, pool areas clean, service 5 star – all for a great price.
And Palm Desert? , well forget Palm Springs it seems really run down since we last visited, Palm Desert is the place. We will be back.
Well done JW Marriott!

Room Tip: Signature view rooms overlooking the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Elite status got me an upgraded room with a view of the mountains... but that's about it... no club floor, lounge or free breakfast... I guess that's not included at the resorts (vs. city hotels). Still had to pay for the resort fee which includes parking and internet. Room looks to be renovated and has both a tub and small separate shower stall. Mostly clean except I found a spider in the closet the size of a quarter! Did not eat dinner at the restaurants so can't comment but ended up in the lobby bar one night and ordered snacks/appetizers including sushi and stayed for over 3 hours. Be prepared to do a lot of walking. The place is a sprawl unless you get rooms closer to the main lobby building. The breakfast buffet was disappointing... BEST KEPT SECRET: I think the Spa facility is the gem here. Its not connected to the main building and is at one end of the property. It has a separate outdoor pool and the steam/sauna/jacuzzi areas are great for relaxing!!! Unlike other comments here, I had a really good massage... maybe its just the luck of the draw if you get a good massage therapist! I will probably come back to the spa again but would opt to stay elsewhere in the desert. This property is also about 20-30 mins away from the downtown area of Palm Springs.

Room Tip: Get a room closer to the main lobby building or you'll end up walking a lot!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

This is what you would expect from an upper scale hotel/resort. We'll definitely go back.

Pros: Nice sized room (executive suite) bathroom and shower. ALL personnel were very attentive and courteous - very well trained. Great food/drink/service in all restaurants/bars and pool side. Beautiful views from room of lakes, pools, golf courses and mountains. Mountains especially beautiful in the morning with sun highlights and casting shadows and sunsets over the back of the range. Smooth and very fast elevators.

Cons: Fair sized in-room tub. Small refrigerator but no microwave for heating leftovers. Not a huge problem for us but for some it's a loooong walk to lobby/shopping/food, etc. within the resort.

Room Tip: For the elderly or people that tire easily, get a room close to the lobby. This place is very spraw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

This hotel property probably was very nice twenty years ago but it just isn't competitive anymore in my opinion. It needs something special to have me as a repeat customer.

Room: my room was upgraded to a small suite with pool view on the top of the hotel which has great view, a large dining table, a sofa, and folding bed to the wall unit. This is nice when bed is folded up but uncomfortable when you sleeping. The mattress is thinner and lighter which slides easily side to side. There were so much dust behind the folding mechanism which probably hasn't been vacuumed for years which hotel staff probably have forgotten.

Bathroom: it is small bathroom with a tub/shower combination which is a surprise at JW Marriott hotel. It has very nice and thick towels but that is about it.

Resort: the property has two 18 hole courses which is nice if you want to play and hotel guests can get a rental clubs from Taylor-made center for discounted price if you don't have one. The resort has $26 per day resort fee which includes Internet and parking fee but it is waved if you are platinum member with Marriott.

Restaurant: we had breakfast at the hotel which was $25 per person Buffett which includes coffee and juice. It has egg station for ordered eggs or omelet. For Gold and Platinum members, it is not included and you will have to pay for breakfast which was a surprise.

Parking: there are ample parking spaces and valet available if you wishes to have it parked that way.

Pool: there are two outside pools which both are heated available as well as hot tub during winter season. Spa is included with resort fee if you are into spa.

Impression: Since there are many great hotels to choose from Pam Springs area, I am not sure if I would choose JW Marriott again. A different folks look for a different things from hotel so your mileage will vary at this hotel. It has a great lobby and gondola ride through hotel which may be unique for some visitors. It also has golf courses with the property so this may attract some people to choose this hotel. However, for me, room comfort will always come first above great lobby and other amenities. The worst part was it does not have a guest lounge to spend time after hours.

Room Tip: Stay at Renaissance hotel instead if you want Marriott brand.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

You can usually get a good rate if you do a little checking around or subscribe to their emails so you get sent the specials. Not worth it at the "rack rate" but definitely at a reduced rate. Stay away from here on major holidays as it turns into a mob scene and you have to get out at the crack of dawn to stalk out and hold a lounge chair at the pool. Sometimes there is a wrist band policy in effect which is a pain. The pool is a "scene" so if you are looking for quiet relaxation dont go during weekends or holidays. Off season is a lovely time, less cost, less crowds and milder temperatures in the desert. Pool food prices are high- TIP: order off the kids menu, portions are big and prices are reasonable. The buffets at the restaurant are great and worth the price. You may want to check out the Villas on the property if you have a larger family that would require more than one room. Within walking distance and you get a much roomier accomodation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

I got engaged here in 2006 so this hotel has special meaning to me. 6 years later, visiting with my husband and 1 yr old, it still was pleasantly nice. the lobby is one of the loveliest around and very warmly decorated for the holidays. it's great to have a starbucks there to grab something quick. the boat ride is great for kids as well as the fun tropical birds. the staff was extremely friendly. the rooms are ok. beds are comfortable but the furnishings were a little dated. bathroom was big but the stall shower was barely large enough for one rail thin person, let alone a "normal" sized one. also, the towels were so rough and scratchy that my skin was red after drying off. we opted not to have the sunday brunch. it just didn't look as good as it had in the past, so for us not worth the money. but we did eat ala carte breakfast at their signature restaurant. it was ok. the grounds are as lovely as ever and over all it was a relaxing get away. would definitely go back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Desert Springs JW Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Springs JW Marriott Resort & Spa

Address: 74855 Country Club Dr, Palm Desert, CA 92260
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Palm Desert
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Desert
#8 Family Hotel in Palm Desert
#10 Romantic Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Desert Springs JW Marriott Resort & Spa 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Expedia, Otel and Venere so you can book your Desert Springs JW Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Springs Jw Marriott Resort And Spa
Desert Springs Jw Marriott Hotel Palm Desert
Jw Marriott Palm Desert
Marriott Palm Desert
Palm Desert Marriott
Jw Marriott Desert Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desert Springs JW Marriott Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.