We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Desert Springs JW Marriott Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Desert Springs JW Marriott Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Desert Springs JW Marriott Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   74855 Country Club Dr, Palm Desert, CA 92260   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Daily Credit
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Palm Desert
phoenix,az
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Stayed at the JW in Palm Desert between Christmas and new years in 2011. Great experience, No Glitches except- the main pool was closed for repair/service.Since it seemed more like routine maintenance than an unforseen repair that had cropped up we felt the timing was POOR on the marriots's part.Morton's restaurant nearby was nice also

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    511
    401
    177
    118
    69
See reviews for
267
371
34
307
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carrara, Australia
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Driving from Vegas to San Diego we stopped off for one night in Dessert Springs. Didnt book a hotel but was recommended to this one by the hostess at Tommy Bahamas restaurante in Dessert Springs.

It was there off season (due to the heat) and we drove up to an impressive hotel. Went in and secured a room 8129 for $14( usd per night and another $27.00 for resort fee which included free parking and wif fi. Excellent value.

Lovely open atrium bar area, even have their own Starbucks. Rooms corridors all look down over the atrium bar area which is nice. Room was clean and comfortable. Separate shower and bath and own fridge. Balcony with charis. Very friendly staff and also has golf course and three pool areas. As we were there only one night didnt really get a chance to experience the full resort but it looked really nice, would be a great place for families. Wished we actually could have stayed another couple of nights. Breakfast buffett was included and it was very nice, the pastries were delicious.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Went for a conference. Beautiful location and great hotel. Overall the staff was great. I had left my hair cream at home and they actually gave me some hair gel to user (life saver). Only complainants on service was a bad waiter at the bar (he was the only bad egg). I will say, I was EXTREMELY disappointed in their seafood restaurant- Fisherman's Landing. Not one plate was good. I recommended going, just stay away from that specific restaurant.

Room Tip: Get a room with the view and the mountains- worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

It is a big hotel, really big. I took five minutes walk to my friend's room. But it is nice, clean and comfortable. The downside is no lounge. It seems that no special treatment for platinum member. But overall it is a nice hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Stayed at the Desert Springs Marriott for business while attending a conference. Despite many attendees, check-in was smooth and fast. Was given a room on the top floor looking over the lake and golf course. Although it was hot outside the room balcony was in the shade and very pleasant to sit outside.

Room was clean and full of options. Bed very comfortable.

Ate a couple of times at the lobby bar and really enjoyed the food selection and atmosphere.

Flamingos in pond out the front of hotel are a great accent.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We stayed here after winning a 3 night stay at a silent auction so we weren't sure what to expect. Boy were we surprised and impressed. Very beautiful property which is well maintained. The staff is exceptionally trained to provide friendly and attentive service. The pool area was clean with good wait service at all times. The golf course was beautiful and well maintained as well. The fitness center is well equipped with plenty of treadmills, bikes, machines, and free weights. Very impressive resort.

Room Tip: Ask for,room close to the elevator otherwise you could have a very long walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

My husband & I stayed at this resort over the Labor Day weekend. We were there with a large group of dancers for our annual ballroom dance convention. From the time we checked in until be checked out we got outstanding service from any/all employees.

Yes, there were a lot of young partiers there for the weekend but they did not bother us since we had no time to use the pools anyway. We ate once at the Rockwood where our meal was good although a bit pricey. The rest of the time we had catered meals which were also good. I would, however, have liked to have more fresh vegetables at our dinner & less gravy. A healthy option would be appreciated. I was happy to see Starbucks open for longer hours. It was a good alternative for a quick breakfast.

Room Tip: If you have children, ask to be put in the section closest to the family pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Desert Springs JW Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Springs JW Marriott Resort & Spa

Address: 74855 Country Club Dr, Palm Desert, CA 92260
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Desert
#3 Business Hotel in Palm Desert
#8 Family Hotel in Palm Desert
#8 Romantic Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Desert Springs JW Marriott Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 884
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Desert Springs JW Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Springs Jw Marriott Hotel Palm Desert
Desert Springs Jw Marriott Resort And Spa
Jw Marriott Palm Desert
Marriott Palm Desert
Palm Desert Marriott
Jw Marriott Desert Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desert Springs JW Marriott Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.