We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real place to relax” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Desert Springs JW Marriott Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Desert Springs JW Marriott Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Desert Springs JW Marriott Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   74855 Country Club Dr, Palm Desert, CA 92260   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 20%
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Palm Desert
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Taunusstein, Germany
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A real place to relax”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

During our round trip in California we had the chance to spend a night in this lovely place. Great rooms, nice spa and wellness area and a that time no people around. It is a realy nice place for vacation or a stop over.

Room Tip: There a rooms with the view of the small lake and the pools. Strongly recommended!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    549
    424
    184
    118
    71
See reviews for
283
394
35
328
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (374)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ladera Ranch, California
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

The resort is very nice. If I was to complain about anything, it would only be that they shut the bar down at the pool at 5:00 which I think is way too early. Other than that, the room was great and service awesome. Jose at the pool bar is the man!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

The grounds of this hotel are incredible! We had a spectacular view from our room and the customer service was outstanding. This is a place that would be a special destination for honeymooners, families or seniors. The site is a bird sanctuary and the minute you arrive, you are in a true oasis. I would highly recommend this to anyone, as I was quite impressed wirh every aspect of this resort.

Room Tip: We were here in the off season and got incredible rates. Ask for a Signature room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Only one night and this hotel and staff impressed me so much. I wanted to self park (no charge...what a glorious change of pace from being charged $25, $30 plus tax at other places) so I left my bag with the bell captain and told him I would be back to take them to my room. By the time I parked & walked to their desk, he informed me he had taken my bags to my room. I had to force him to take a tip. Everyone was so helpful. Ask for Patty Maverick at the Concierge desk. She knows everything about the area and more!

Eat at Rockwood, where the menu and Executive Chef Oliver is crazy fantastic - locally sourced foods, expertly prepared and you must ask for Ms. Sembenini - one of the most energetic, knowledgeable and genuinely nice persons you will meet. She even has their top selling margarita (at the Blue Star Lounge) named after her!!! No kidding. Of course I had a drink there first and you can't miss it- their cocktail list will amaze you and keep you coming back.

Only one night here - what was I thinking??? I am coming back - and this year! They are celebrating an anniversary and room rates start at $89...what, 1970 room rates? Next visit: golf and the pool...which by the way, is beautifully set against the mountains. Did I say it was over 100 degrees? Didn't matter; this was an oasis in the desert.

Since I am a platinum member, the resort fee was waived: no worries, I spent it on food & drink!!

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view of the pool & mountains. sitting on the balcony overlooking these sig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

There is always something great to do at this property. If you're traveling with kids there are a ton of activities, pools, boat rides, mini-golf, tennis, feeding the flamingoes or ducks, etc. If you're going with a group of friends or a significant other head over to the adults only pool at the spa or enjoy all the great restaurants on site at the resort. Very close to El Paseo & The River. Can't go wrong with the JW!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, NV
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Spent two days at the JW Marriott Desert Springs resort. Although in the middle of the desert, it reminded me of a hawaiian resort, with all of the water features, swimming pools and lush golf courses. The room we stayed in was in the main building and it was modern, bed was comfy, bathroom very clean and the staff was very attentive. For Palm Springs area hotels this is one of the larger resorts, but the staff was always available to help you locate a restaurant, or location of one of the amenities. I used the fitness center and found it in great shape. Overall, I was satisfied and would go there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building, we went to see friends in rooms next to the convention center a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Stayed midweek during July, so great price. Resort fee is worth it, considering the phenomenal workout room and room internet access. Great friendly staff and spectacular grounds. The only downside was the "party" clientele that gravitated to the pool during the week when no wristbands were needed. For a JW Marriott, you expect to be spared dealing with the spring break-like crowd, so be wary if you're with the kids. Overall though, good deal in the desert

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Desert Springs JW Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Springs JW Marriott Resort & Spa

Address: 74855 Country Club Dr, Palm Desert, CA 92260
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Palm Desert
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Desert
#6 Family Hotel in Palm Desert
#7 Romantic Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Desert Springs JW Marriott Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 884
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Marriott, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Desert Springs JW Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Springs Jw Marriott Hotel Palm Desert
Desert Springs Jw Marriott Resort And Spa
Jw Marriott Palm Desert
Marriott Palm Desert
Palm Desert Marriott
Jw Marriott Desert Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desert Springs JW Marriott Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.