We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Party scene” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Desert Springs JW Marriott Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Desert Springs JW Marriott Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Desert Springs JW Marriott Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   74855 Country Club Dr, Palm Desert, CA 92260   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Palm Desert
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Preston, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Party scene”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

This hotel wasnt what I expected from the pics, it was having work done so was shut off in places but still wasnt as scenic as I expected. The room was nice but the shower was very dark and lacked a light. The pool area got very busy and was full of young people drinking and hen/ stag parties quite loud at night. The staff werent too helpful when we asked where the restaurants were as they sent us to a restaurant which was shut off. There wasnt really any food places on the resort other than a really expensive posh restaurant and a Japanese so we ended up going to a nearby Applebees instead.

Room Tip: Ask at check in as they dont respond to email requests
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    581
    442
    199
    122
    75
See reviews for
297
413
35
357
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (400)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glendale, Az.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Stayed at this hotel with my wife for celebrating my 55th on June 8-10th and the place is great but you pay for it. Our view was the front but still nice. The room was very nice and just cool enough. The rest of the resort was actually cooler than we could get our room. The Palms course was great except for the greens which they lost when planting the summer seed a month ago. They said they would have them back in a couple weeks. The pace of play was terrible and I'm not sure why. Our round took 5 1/2 hrs and even though we enjoyed our grouping this shouldn't be the case. I definately want to return but only in the summer months when rates are best. The bar doesn't even have a "happy hour" which was sad as their prices for drinks are Marriot priced.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Stayed at this property 6-6 through 6-13. Our room faced the front of the hotel - so we did not have a view of the pools and golf course, but we still thought our view was nice. We ate at the new restaurant on the property - The Rockwood. Not bad - although the menu was a little limited. Service was very good. We also enjoyed the sushi bar in the main lobby bar.

For those of you who may be attending or planning a corporate or similar event during which you'll have to feed many folks, I cannot say enough about the breakfast buffets in the mornings and cocktail hours in the evenings. Top-notch food served hot for to up to 300 folks. Well done!

There are a few downsides one should consider at this property. First, if you're staying in the main tower, the atrium design makes for a rather noisy room. The main lobby bar is big, and fun, but the sound echos throughout the artium and will eventually end up in YOUR room. Better to ask for a room in one of the adjoining towers if you plan on staying here over the weekend and you want to turn in prior to 1:00 am. The second issue is with the main pool. You see, the same folks that kept you up last night in the main lobby bar (you know, bachelor and bachelorette parties, girls/guys weekends, etc.) will no doubt make their way to the main pool (even though they're still hungover) beginning at about 8:30 am. Sooooo you need to get there early to reserve your chairs (one of my personal pet peeves...but I digress). The competition gets pretty fierce as young 20-something girls in 6 inch "wedge" heels jockey for the best chairs. On our stay, the pool attendents actually checked everyone's pool bag for beer or liquor which are "verbotten" in the pool area - unless of course you buy your cocktails from the hotel. The pool attendents reminded us of TSA agents! Bad form Marriott!

By late afternoon Sunday, things had settled somewhat. The entire property was much quieter. Even the hotel staff (who by the way was outstanding) seemed a bit more relaxed.

So - my final thought: Nice place to visit. If you want to party, stay over the weekend. If you want quite, chose to stay during the week.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Hill
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

This property is just amazing. The room we had overlooked the swimming pool and logoon. I was told the odd number rooms overlook the pools and the even numbers overlook the putting green and parking lot. We had a nice balcony, Refrigerator, nice big T.V. nice size bathroom. The people that serve you are all very friendly. The bar setting is great, We ate at the grill one night and the food was very good and reasonable. We had the four cheese pizza and enough food for two. My wife had chicken and it was very good.We will return and be happy we did. We stayed for four days during the week and it was not crowded. Might be different on weekends.

Room Tip: Choose a odd number room if you want a view, and ask to stay on the higher floors on the weekends so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Vegas in the desert! As a 40-something, I felt right at home here amongst others around the same age. There was a mix, but it did seem like most people were in their 30s and 40s and had money, which made for great people watching.

The one bad thing is that there were only two restaurants. We couldn't get into the Japanese restaurant and ended up having to eat at what is basically a buffet.

The service was awesome no matter where you were in the hotel: poolside, bars, restaurant, front desk, valet. Just a friendly group of people.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

My husband and I went five years ago during Christmas and the decorations were breathtaking. The lobby has a boat dock that you can get into the boat inside and it takes you outside around the lake or over to one of the awesome restaurants. The property has an awesome putt putt golf course for us beginners and a top notch golf coarse for the pros. There are pink flamingoes walking around the grounds, white swans floating in the lake, water features, flowers. They have one of the best shoe boutiques on site so make room in your luggage. The Breakfast buffet is top of the line! All of the usual items but they include imported cheeses, Lox, omlettes and crepes to order, unusual fruits and pastrys- very European! The Pools and Spas are incredible as well. This resort has continued to put money back into the property to maintain it's beauty. We have been back three times in five years. If you want a great deal then go in October- The golf course is closed for maintenence so the rates are much less.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

First off, the service is impeccable. Each and every worker I came into contact with was first-rate, just wonderful. The staff at this hotel is the reason this review came from negative stars to two.
The rooms are very, very noisy. Many of the main hotel rooms are arranged around a central courtyard. The courtyard has a bar in it, and it gets very loud. I was kept awake by people screaming and laughing in the bar very late into the night. Even when there's not screaming and laughing, the general noise level is quite loud. It was so bad I had to sleep with earplugs in my ears and pillows around them. For such a nice hotel with good service, and for so much money, one would expect a quiet room.

Room Tip: Don't get a room in the main building facing the courtyard!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Desert Springs JW Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Springs JW Marriott Resort & Spa

Address: 74855 Country Club Dr, Palm Desert, CA 92260
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Palm Desert
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Desert
#6 Family Hotel in Palm Desert
#7 Romantic Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Desert Springs JW Marriott Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 884
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, Marriott, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Desert Springs JW Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Springs Jw Marriott Hotel Palm Desert
Desert Springs Jw Marriott Resort And Spa
Jw Marriott Palm Desert
Marriott Palm Desert
Palm Desert Marriott
Jw Marriott Desert Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desert Springs JW Marriott Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.