We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently OK” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Palm Desert

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Palm Desert to your Saves list
Residence Inn Palm Desert
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   38305 Cook St, Palm Desert, CA 92211   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Palm Desert
Seattle
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Consistently OK”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We chose a Residence Inn rather than renting a condo for our vacation so we'd know what we're getting. All-in-all, I think it was a good decision. We learned, however, that not all Residence Inns are equal since many of them are franchises rather than corporate properties. Thus, our experience was somewhat different from our last stay at a Residence Inn in Seattle.

The property is located very conveniently IF you're planning to drive to the various places in the area ... like golf courses and shopping centers or casinos. It's very close to I-10, but far enough away to not be noisy. The price of admission was very reasonable ... $350 a night for a two bedroom with kings in both bedrooms, big screen TVs in all three rooms, and a huge kitchen, perfect for a family of four that wants to avoid restaurants.

While not as "elegant" as the Seattle property, it was a good value, clean, and a pool/social/happy-hour area that was actually better than I expected. The staff was nice but not real good at solving a plumbing problem that I pointed out after our first night. The maintenance guy was quick to respond, but was unable to fix the problem ... even though he claimed her did. When I pointed out the problem to the front desk, they seemed irritated. My only complaint on an otherwise good stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    69
    36
    17
    4
See reviews for
52
76
9
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Corona, California
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
270 helpful votes 270 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We just spent 1 nigth at the Residence Inn Palm Desert. We are an adult couple and I was looking for a casual hotel for a weekend in the desert visiting Joshua Tree National Park and dining at El Paseo. I am a Marriott Silver Elite Member and used a rewards night for this stay. We have spent time at the JW Marriott Desert Hot Springs and the Desert Villas Timeshare resort many times in the past. The Residence Inn is just down the Street from the JW Marriott and a short easy drive for a evening bar visit there. I had requested a Studio unit upstairs overlooking the golf course and this is exactly what we got. The check-in and out both were very friendly, quick and efficient. Our Studio unit was in Building 3 unit# 321 with a nice view of the golf course and the mountains in the distance. This was a corner location and it was very quiet and peaceful. It was nice having the well stocked kitchenette and good size fridge. Bed was comfortable, nice large LG Flatscreen TV and good size Studio room overall. The bathroom was just basic but had everything needed and worked well. Same showerhead as in JW or Marquis Marriott. Overall the furniture was modern and updated, stylish lighting fixtures and sheer curtains, nice accent colors on the walls. But there were a few mismatching furniture pieces that should be changed out with something matching. The hotel has very nice landscaping that makes it feel like a resort. The pool area is medium size but very nice with good looking brown/turquoise patio furniture and umbrellas, 3 jacuzzi tubs and a lagoon style pool that was perfectly heated. We did not get chilled going into the pool at all and had a few nice hours there after the National Park. Lots of Palm Trees and pretty Mesquite trees surround the pool. It feels like a getaway. The included breakfast buffett was good and there are lots of nice areas to sit inside or outside with modern outdoor furniture and an gas fire pit for the evening to sit around. This hotel is really a good option for Palm Desert without the high price tag some of the larger resorts come with and is in the perfect location. We are already planing another 1 night weekend stay here in a few month. This hotel is also pet friendly. Highly recommend Piero's Pizzavino on El Paseo for fantastic real Napoli Pizza.

Room Tip: Building 3 and 4 are in the nicest area unless you get a room overlooking the parking area. Building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed our week long stay at the Residence Inn. Our room was very clean and the staff was friendly and helpful. Our room included a small kitchenette and patio. There was a large barbeque/eating area close to the pool area which was very handy for families and large groups. Our room was tastefully decorated and I did not mind the "mismatched" furniture in the bedroom area that other reviewers were so disappointed in. In fact, the different styles of furniture added to the eclectic feel of the room.
I can't say enough about the housekeeping service. One evening we ate in and I did not wash the dishes that evening and planned to do so later the next day after we returned from our hiking trip. When I returned, all of the dishes had been washed and put away!
The hotel was very quiet in the evenings. People who stay here tend to be families, business people, or older vacationers. We spent several pleasant evenings sitting on our patio drinking a glass of wine enjoying the peace and quiet.
The hotel is also conveniently located several long blocks just off the I10, which made it easy to access many areas outside of Palm Springs. There are also many fine restaurants and a small shopping mall close by.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed here for only 1 night. but what a great value. This unit had everything. Complete kitchen, which included refrigerator, dishwasher, microwave oven, cook top and kitchenware for 4 people.
We only stayed for 1 night, but this was a mini apartment. You can easily live here for weeks without needing anything. They include a complimentary breakfast. The pool is great. Tennis courts and basketball courts. Markets are in walking distance.

I highly recommend this location if you are planning a vacation to Palm Desert CA.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidney Bc
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

My wife and I stayed for one week as a part of a Westjet Vacation Package and we were not sure of what we would find. A long way from Palm Springs Airport, but the rental car agency gave us great directions and it was easy, Ramon Drive, Highway 10 East, Cook St, Frank Sinatra Drive and there it is. Applebees Restaurant is at the corner of the property.
We were given a studio unit overlooking the golf course next door. Room was clean and well furnished with a large sofa, desk and chair, large flat tv, a king bed with an excellent mattress, sheets, pillows and coverlet. The sink is outside of the shower/tub/toilet bathroom, which is always a plus. The kitchenette is well equipped with coffee maker, microwave, dishwasher, two burner electric top, and all the dishes and tools one would need. The refrigerator made ice. The air conditioning worked well in the week of 96 degrees and up temperatures during our stay.
Breakfast was provided in the main lodge, and absolutely well prepared and displayed for all guests. Great selections of hot and cold foods, drinks, etc. Free daily papers, and a computer and printer for boarding passes, with free wifi in the lobby and in our room.
The staff at the desk and the cleaning staff were all friendly and eager to help out with information and suggestions for restaurants and places to visit. The pool and two hottubs are delightfully clean and a great resting place between drives to the casino, Macys, theatres, etc.
Palm Springs is still the magnet, but Palm Desert is so much more attractive.
We are highly supportive of this accommodation for couples and families.
My only complaint, minor, is that the wifi connection must be made daily by the guest.

Room Tip: Ask for a unit away from Cook Street and overlooking the golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Hotel was not great and was not bad. Just average. It seems like part of the hotel room seems upgraded and part of the furniture needs upgrades. There are a lot of guests that have dogs. I'm not a huge dog lover but I just do not one sleeping in the bed the night before I get there. I can say that the place is quiet, the service at the breakfast area is great and the food is great. If I have to go back to the desert, I will most likely choose the Courtyard.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Was given a room without a pull out couch and they were nice enough to remedy the situation immediately. Did not have to complain or anything just did the right thing. Very refreshing. Breakfast in the morning was solid with good coffee. Great location for getting in/out of Palm Desert. Good Tennis courts. Nice people.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Palm Desert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Palm Desert

Address: 38305 Cook St, Palm Desert, CA 92211
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Palm Desert 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Palm Desert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Palm Desert Hotel Palm Desert
Palm Desert Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Palm Desert, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.