We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No bells and whistles, but a comfy and cozy place to hang your hat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shadow Mountain Resort and Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Shadow Mountain Resort and Club to your Saves list
Shadow Mountain Resort and Club
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   45750 San Luis Rey, Palm Desert, CA 92260   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Palm Desert
Top Contributor
455 reviews 455 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
“No bells and whistles, but a comfy and cozy place to hang your hat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here before and loved the location but hesitated returning due to a few past issues. We are glad we returned! The grounds, especially the pool area, are expansive. Several two story buildings house creek side and poolside rooms. No elevator but steps have low risers. Our king studio was updated with tile, walk in shower, flat screen, decor and shutters. A balcony provided long and interesting views of the pool and mountains. A fully equipped kitchen w/dw. Full size coffee maker, wine glasses, picnic basket and more. We were pleased with the bed and linens. An evening swim is a must. We walked and biked from the resort while the car stayed in the lot. Very cordial, helpful and responsive staff. This is a venue that would be terrific for reunions and retreats.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management C, Owner at Shadow Mountain Resort and Club, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
We're so glad you returned for another visit. Thank you for mentioning our attentive staff, and our great location. You may have also noticed we are upgrading our lobby and sure hope you come back to see it. We appreciate your patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    34
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
14
29
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on a Business Retreat. At first sight my thoughts were outdated, not sure what to expect. What a pleasant surprise. Our Room was very nice despite it is an older resort. It actually was a 2 bedroom condo unit that was in impeccable condition. Very comfortable. The Pool is Great!

The one BIG Bonus for me is the location of the resort. Very close to El Paseo with all the shops and restaurants.

Great Stay!

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management C, Owner at Shadow Mountain Resort and Club, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Many thanks for the nice comments. The resort is tucked away but still walking distance to so much the south Palm Desert offers. We appreciate you giving us a try and hope to see you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorba linda
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I love to come to this resort. Why?
1. The pool is amazing. Salt water, clean, and cool.
2. The manager and staff are amazing. My husband and I try to come at least 3-4 times a year. The last couple of visits there were issues with first the heat and then the air. But the manager and staff were so wonderful and accommodating it made no difference in the quality of our stay. We still had a wonderful time! Only a great staff and manager could do this!
3. The grounds are beautiful and perfect.
4. Close to everything!

I'm so excited for our visit in June!! Thank you Shadow Mountain!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management C, Owner at Shadow Mountain Resort and Club, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thanks so much for your kind remarks of our front desk manager. I agree, she is wonderful! We look forward to having you both back soon to relax in our huge figure-8 pool.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The only positive I can think of is that the main pool is nice.

There are so many negatives. But I'll highlight just a few.

The room was dated and shabby. The bedspread had giant stains but they were nice about switching it out. The room smelled, every now and then, like diarrhea. There were NO nice touches that made you feel like you were on vacation. The walls are thin and we were woke up at 7 am everyday by someone walking upstairs.

There was no communication from the staff regarding amenities. It took us a day to figure out the rafts belonged to the resort and were first come, first served and 2 days to figure out we could get pool towels from the lobby. Of course, we could have gone to the lobby to ask but I think they should have given us the lay of the land at check-in.

Don't waste your money. Next time I will spend a little more and stay at Rancho Las Palmas or The Saguaro.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management C, Owner at Shadow Mountain Resort and Club, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
So sorry for your first visit being a bad experience. If you are so inclined I would like to welcome you for a return visit, please contact the GM. We appreciate you giving us a try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, California
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
232 helpful votes 232 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

We came here because the golf course was the location of a car show we were exhibiting in and we felt the hotel would be most convenient. Upon checking in we were informed that this isn't a hotel, every unit is privately owned and different. Our room seemed dated and the bed & pillows were past their prime. The parking near our building had very tall and shaggy pine trees with numerous fallen pine cones on the ground; a falling pine cone can cause a large dent if it falls on a car. The property offered complimentary wifi but it simply didn't exist in our room, I called the front desk several times and they just told some room owners had installed stronger wifi and some owners didn't. We were not offered any assistance with our luggage when we checked in, but fortunately our room was on the ground floor (no elevator). The pool area near our room was nice and the jacuzzi was very good; no towels were available by the pool, we needed to walk to the lobby. The hotel is in a great location, I just feel they need to make sure every unit meets higher standards. If that is the case, I would recommend this property, especially for tennis players or golfers. Finally, being 2 blocks from El Paseo makes this property's location exceptional.

Room Tip: Rooms vary, be selective.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management C, Owner at Shadow Mountain Resort and Club, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
We are very grateful you stayed with us for the amazing Desert Concorso car show at the golf club. I'm sorry the property did not meet your expectations. While we offer services of a hotel, our resort consists of individually owned condos and each one has different decor. We do, however, have certain standard requirements and will remedy the situation. Unfortunately, the building you stayed in does not have covered parking, however all others have carports or garages. The resort does pride itself in having a variety of accommodations ranging from studios (where you stayed) up to three bedroom condos. Our strong return clientele love the property for their families and friends, and the recreational amenities we offer in addition to the prime location. I hope you will try us again. And, we look forward to see you at next year's annual Desert Concorso.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

We enjoyed a nearly ideal Christmas vacation at the Shadow Mt Resort Dec. 2013. Following the advise here we requested a newer unit and were happy to find a spacious, hotel like room that was newly remodeled. Every detail of the remodel was of the highest quality and we felt cosy and comfortable in our ground floor room with a view of the giant pool. My wife likes it dark at night and the shades worked well. The bed was very comfortable and nice. It was very quiet. (Several days into our visit a guest took the unit next to ours and we could slightly hear his tv, but not badly.) Everything was very clean. The staff was friendly and competent.

A true high light is the on site restaurant at the club house. That means that we could enjoy breakfast a few steps from our room with a view of distant mountains, palm trees and the gorgeous historic pool. The prices for breakfast were very low so we felt that the entire experience was a fantastic value. Our room was only around $100 for the first few days before the Christmas price increase.

We wanted to stay in walking distance to the art galleries and restaurants in the El Pasio district that Shadow Mt fit our needs exactly. We were only about four blocks away -- a nice change from other condos and resorts which require car trips for every meal. We enjoy walking and were able to park the car and walk around the community. Perfect.

There are many great places to eat too a few blocks away. We ate breakfast and dinner several times at a small French cafe called Cafe Des Beaux Arts. Wow. Not too expensive and wonderful dishes.

The weather was what we hoped as well, sunny and bright, getting up to nearly 80 one day.

The value of staying here is really a plus. This was the second time we visited the area and two years before we paid twice the price for a much larger condo, but it was far from amenities and we had to drive to any meal that we didn't cook ourselves. The one draw back of the Palm Springs area is the car culture. Shadow Mt Resort mitigates that a bit since you can walk.

Our room was more like a larger hotel room than a condo, which for the price we felt was perfect. We could do all of the things that we enjoy about spending Christmas in Hawaii, but for less than half the total cost. The Palm Springs area has just as nice weather, better art, better restaurants and better hiking trails than anyplace in Hawaii. Also, only a couple hours on the plane from our home in Seattle. (OK, no Hawaiian ocean but that is it.)

The only negative thing I could say is that the bathroom is small and the vanity lighting poor. Couldn't really see to shave. An easy solution would be for the resort to buy a vanity top lighted mirror. Also, the VHS player didn't work and they didn't have a DVD player. They have some old movies which we tried but the player didn't work and we never complained about it. We just watched the television instead. A very small negative. Everything else exceeded our expectations.

We are planing to return and recommend this place for art lovers.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet, newly remodeled room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management C, Owner at Shadow Mountain Resort and Club, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
We appreciate your detailed comments on our resort, our location and the value you experienced before the Christmas holiday. It is truly one of the most beautiful times of the year and a nice reprieve before the hustle and bustle of the season. We hope you make it back again soon as our temps are still in the 70s and 80s. Thank you for sharing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

First time visitor in January... had a lovely visit! Staff was courteous and relaxed, beautiful and quiet area and facilities. 16 tennis courts, multiple pools, gated low-key community. Set in a residential area but only 2-3 blocks from El Paseo - the high-end shopping area which is fun to walk around. We were upgraded to a 2-bedroom unit (requested 1-bedroom) and it was lovely. Had a garage (bonus!) and beautiful high ceilings with lots of light (condos so all are unique, but architecture is the same assumedly). Simply furnished by perfect for us. Highly recommended. Will definitely be back.

Room Tip: We were in a unit that backed up to the main road and there is zero noise - quiet residential area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management C, Owner at Shadow Mountain Resort and Club, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thank you for the kind words about our staff, many of whom have been working here for several years. Your visit in January most likely included our warm, sunny days we have experienced this winter, a bit warmer than usual. And, our location is prime being walking distance to El Paseo yet tucked away in a quiet residential area. We are glad you enjoyed it and look forward to having you visit again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shadow Mountain Resort and Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shadow Mountain Resort and Club

Address: 45750 San Luis Rey, Palm Desert, CA 92260
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shadow Mountain Resort and Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming resort, breathtaking views, figure-eight swimming pool, home to Desert Tennis Academy lessons & clinics. Located in the heart of Palm Desert, CA the Resort is walking distance to the shops, restaurants and art galleries along the famed El Paseo. Guests have access to cafe & bar, complimentary tennis on 16 tennis courts, tennis pro-shop, pools, jacuzzis, fitness room, massage services, saunas, poolside patio BBQ, volleyball, basketball, bicycle rentals, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Shadow Mountain Resort and Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shadow Mountain Resort And Club Hotel Palm Desert
Shadow Mountain Hotel
Shadow Mountain Resort Palm Desert

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shadow Mountain Resort and Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.