We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing peaceful stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shadow Mountain Resort and Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Shadow Mountain Resort and Club to your Saves list
Shadow Mountain Resort and Club
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   45750 San Luis Rey, Palm Desert, CA 92260   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 22 Hotels in Palm Desert
San Francisco, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Relaxing peaceful stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

First time visitor in January... had a lovely visit! Staff was courteous and relaxed, beautiful and quiet area and facilities. 16 tennis courts, multiple pools, gated low-key community. Set in a residential area but only 2-3 blocks from El Paseo - the high-end shopping area which is fun to walk around. We were upgraded to a 2-bedroom unit (requested 1-bedroom) and it was lovely. Had a garage (bonus!) and beautiful high ceilings with lots of light (condos so all are unique, but architecture is the same assumedly). Simply furnished by perfect for us. Highly recommended. Will definitely be back.

Room Tip: We were in a unit that backed up to the main road and there is zero noise - quiet residential area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management C, Owner at Shadow Mountain Resort and Club, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thank you for the kind words about our staff, many of whom have been working here for several years. Your visit in January most likely included our warm, sunny days we have experienced this winter, a bit warmer than usual. And, our location is prime being walking distance to El Paseo yet tucked away in a quiet residential area. We are glad you enjoyed it and look forward to having you visit again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    34
    10
    3
    0
See reviews for
15
31
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

We stayed here for 6 wonderful nights -- probably influenced by the fabulous weather we experienced. We were in a studio on the 2nd floor in room 224 which provided us a very scenic views of the mountains and the central pool. The room furniture was a bit dated but for the most part very clean and suitable for our short stay - we'd want a bigger place if we were here for a longer time. The room was very well priced and our whole stay as excellent value for money - including the prices in the small café which serves breakfasts and lunch. The resort was built in 1946 and prides itself in that as evidenced by the Palm Desert photos from the late '40s on the walls.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management C, Owner at Shadow Mountain Resort and Club, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit in one of our poolside studios with great views. Unit 224 is new on our program and the homeowner has plans to upgrade furnishings, so perhaps you can request it again to see the improvements. Thank you for noticing our nostalgic photos of our history that we are very proud of. We are fortunate to have a strong return clientele with fond memories of the good ole days! Hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
454 reviews 454 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Like the location near shops and dining. A big tennis club. Gated community. Did not care for bed, pillows or linens. Crumbly bits in the sheets. Enjoyed the pool view. No dining on site during our stay. A kitchenette in the room. Wood shutters and tile floors good for those with allergies. Tableware, a sofa and cafe dining area, along with a larger, flat screen TV in the room. Dark hallways for entry doors but lots of light in room with back shutters open. Golf course. Friendly staff and visitors. Management needs to care more about guests getting a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management C, Owner at Shadow Mountain Resort and Club, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to comment. I'm sorry you did not sleep well and certainly need to know when the bed is not up to par (or sheets and pillows). I hope you will try us again, and am glad you enjoyed the visit and amenities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland. Oregon
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

We were lucky to be able to rent a studio just 2 weeks before Christmas for Christmas week the studio was adequate, could use some updating, but was clean and nothing to complain about, and the price was reasonable. The studios are individually owned, so I am sure they vary in quality..
The location of the resort is fantastic...2 blocks from El Paseo shopping and restaurants. The coffee shop on the premises is nothing to write home about, so we were glad to have a microwave, coffee maker and small fridge in the unit. I also think it is a disadvantage not to have an actual front desk person to ask for travel and restaurant tips. Once we had checked in, we never saw the front desk person again...of course we could have detoured to the lobby ...wifi in our room was off and on.
The unit was just steps from the beautiful tennis courts. I was disappointed that there were no organized group clinics..I was told that this is because it is holiday time (!). I could take private lessons, but did not want to do that. I was matched up in one doubles game each day, which was fine. The courts are oriented so that the sun will be in your eyes on one side in the morning.
All in all a beautiful facility in a great location, reasonably priced.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management C, Owner at Shadow Mountain Resort and Club, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you for your candid comments. I will review them with staff in hopes your next visit is even better. While our condos are individually owned we do hold high standards and appreciate your feedback. I'm glad you enjoyed good tennis and our prime location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Our family loves the time we spend at Shadow Mountain. Our children love the freedom of opening the condo door and playing volleyball, soccer or ping pong in the vast greenbelt area. We love that they can swim, play tennis and golf every day. The children and adult tennis clinics are superb, and Sharon at the Golf Club is a wonderful teacher, as well.
This is a fabulous family vacation destination. There is something for everyone, and the location is so convenient to shops and restaurants on El Paseo.
We have visited in the winter and in the spring and find the ammenities stellar regardelss of the time of year. All of the condos are privately owned, and maintained very well by the management. We had an issue with a shower faucet, and it was reparied immediately.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with children, I recommend a condo on the greenbelt.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management C, Owner at Shadow Mountain Resort and Club, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you for sharing such wonderful comments. We hope you and your family continue to visit and make lasting memories of fun in the sun at your home away from home! The grassy greenbelt is a popular location for families with children. We also appreciate your kind comments of staff, and are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver BC
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We are members of the tennis club, and feel we have found the secret to fun in the desert. Cheryl or JR in the tennis office will call me to see if i want to play doubles "tomorrow morning at 9". Regular tennis matches, clinics, USTA matches, the ball machine, Linda's "upstairs" for breakfast, Wednesday parties, maybe a Calcutta, or a bbq by the fire pit. Or, hanging out by the pool in the sunshine, or some muscle relaxation in the hot tub. And how about a round of golf on the Shadow Mountain Golf course - not too long, but a challenge nevertheless. We haven't stayed at the resort, but have heard excellent comments from guests. You have to see for yourself.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the tennis courts if you want to sleep in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management C, Owner at Shadow Mountain Resort and Club, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
We so appreciate our local members. You are a major contributor in keeping the tennis and golf club so vibrant and active. Our many members enjoy a multitude of activities and social events. We thank you for spreading the word and bringing your friends and families to our lovely resort. Looking forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

We had a fabulous time with our 4 grown children as their spouses stayed home with the grandchildren. It's been many years since we with with our own 4, and had the best time ever. Dancing ,swimming, playing tennis ,pingpong and just laughing for hours and bringing back fun memmories. We stayed in unit 410 and can hardly wait to do it again next year.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management C, Owner at Shadow Mountain Resort and Club, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
How lovely to have your family together for a special time of old memories and making new. We are honored you choose our resort for such an occasion and hope to see you all back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Shadow Mountain Resort and Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shadow Mountain Resort and Club

Address: 45750 San Luis Rey, Palm Desert, CA 92260
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shadow Mountain Resort and Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming resort, breathtaking views, figure-eight swimming pool, home to Desert Tennis Academy lessons & clinics. Located in the heart of Palm Desert, CA the Resort is walking distance to the shops, restaurants and art galleries along the famed El Paseo. Guests have access to cafe & bar, complimentary tennis on 16 tennis courts, tennis pro-shop, pools, jacuzzis, fitness room, massage services, saunas, poolside patio BBQ, volleyball, basketball, bicycle rentals, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Shadow Mountain Resort and Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shadow Mountain Resort And Club Hotel Palm Desert
Shadow Mountain Hotel
Shadow Mountain Resort Palm Desert

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shadow Mountain Resort and Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.