We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprising nice” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Shadow Mountain Resort and Club

Save Saved
You added Shadow Mountain Resort and Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Shadow Mountain Resort and Club
45750 San Luis Rey, Palm Desert, CA 92260   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 22 hotels in Palm Desert
Spokane, Washington
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Surprising nice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed here after our son in Washinton sent us a gift certificate site unseen. It was a nice property although not as extravagant as other ones in the area.
I would rate this similar to a 3 star+ property because we stayed in one of the remodeled studio rooms and it was very nice with a nice little granite kitchen with a full size refrigerator and wood floors. Our room was on the second floor overlooking the pool with a nice little balcony you could sit out on. Kind of motelish but at only $128 a night mid week with free parking it was a deal. Very close to El Paseo shopping which was nice. Lots of restaurants close by too. We would stay again if we wanted more than one night at an economical price. Bed was decent but not "heavenly".

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management C, Owner at Shadow Mountain Resort and Club, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
We're so glad you took advantage of your son's gift to stay with us. Our poolside studios are quite popular overlooking our figure eight pool, but we also offer larger one, two, and three bedroom condos if more room is needed. Glad to see you noticed how close we are to El Paseo's shopping and dining district too. We do hope you return and look forward to your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    32
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
12
26
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
DFW
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Our group of ladies have been going here for 7+ years. This past January was my 2nd year to come to the resort. We have rented as many as 7 different condos and I am assuming they are individually owned because they range from older plain 80's decor to very nicely updated condos with granite and updated appliances. All condos have been very clean. The resort is very accomodating to our sometimes rowdy group of woman!! But that's what you get when you have approximately 40+ women together!! They open their courts to us for our round robin and set partner tournament without complaint. This year we had our group dinner up in the restaraunt which the fajita's were just so so. The lunch menu is much better and we love eating lunch there overlooking the courts before we play for the afternoon. The tennis staff is very nice and the drills are very good. The biggest pool in the area and we even played a bit of volleyball outside of the pool area. Love coming to Shadow Mountain and can't wait till next year!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management C, Owner at Shadow Mountain Resort and Club, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Ladies Tennis Clinics, Girlfriend Getaways...it's all good! We appreciate your continued support and do hope to see ya'll back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salinas, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We've been going there for a few years now, and we love the place! Yes, of course, it is not the most modern place, but the studios we have rented for the weekend have been clean, nicely decorated, and spacious enough. We love the tennis clinics with Michael and John. Great fun! The pool is nice and big, the hot tub real cozy after tennis, hiking and swimming! Fun to have the ability to have your own food, and yet go out too!! We'll be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management C, Owner at Shadow Mountain Resort and Club, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
I will be sure to share your nice compliment to Michael and John. They are two of the best tennis pros in the valley, and both have quite a following of men and women. Check out Michael's Blog on our website for tips! We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Let me start by saying this, our family has been visiting this resort EVERY year since the late 1980's. We go with a huge group of about 25+ people every year. You can call it a family reunion, even though we see each other regularly, but focusing on the resort:

The Location: The resort is set in Palm Desert, CA and is about a quarter of a mile away from a part of the city that has a bunch of stores, dining places, etc. In the summer, Palm Desert reaches to about 105+ degrees fahrenheit and it is very humid, and it's EXTREMELY easy to get sunburned here, so wear sunscreen regularly.

What To Do: There are many things to do here at the resort. During the day and at night, the tennis courts are open, and the lights for the courts close at about 9 PM if I'm right (I don't remember, so check with the resort). There is a volleyball court in the grass field area in the center of the rooms and studio rooms. In the huge figure 8 pool in the center of the resort, there is a waterproof basketball hoop at one point of the pool. A volleyball or basketball are available upon request at the front desk, which is very quiet and cool inside. There's also a building in front of the figure 8 pool that has a cafe on top and a door on the bottom. The door on the bottom leads to men's and women's locker rooms, with saunas in each room, and a gym that you need a key for. The cafe on top is usually only open during the spring when Tennis tournaments are going on (usually April-May). Waiters would serve by the poolside and the resort would be very crowded.

*The Resort is VERY quiet in the summer, and is a place for relaxation with not too many guests.*

Amenities: The rooms at Shadow Mountain are very cheap, but well worth the money. There are studio rooms, 1 or 2 bedroom rooms, and villas, (villas being the biggest). It seems as if they give you more than you ask for, but I'm not complaining! The pools are very clean, and so are the rooms. Beds are high quality and there are TVs in every room. The sauna is free to use, but I don't know about the gym (ask the Resort). Also be careful with kids in the pools, especially the figure 8 pool. The deep end goes to about 12 feet in the big figure 8 pool, and about 8-10 feet in the other pools on the resort.

Places Near: The city is near the resort with about a 10-15 minute drive. There are many stores at the city area and it's always crowded. Stores are located close to the resort as well, as I mentioned before (ask for places of attraction from the front desk if you want), and there's a Boomers for kids with go-kart racing, mini golf, bumper boats, and an arcade about 20-25 minutes from the resort! We always go there for fun, and it's great at nighttime!

Overall: Shadow Mountain has been apart of our family traditions for a while, and we always go back. There have been many memories there, and the times we've had there are unexplainable. By the way, about three nights are the limit for me to stay at this resort. It gets boring for children 12+ years old after a while. Kids younger than that always find something to do, so go with a big group! Trust me, it'll be well worth it. Go to Shadow Mountain for a relaxing, fun, and enjoyable vacation! Have a great and safe trip!

Room Tip: Rooms right near the pool and tennis courts are studio rooms, and are great on the first floor, so y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management C, Owner at Shadow Mountain Resort and Club, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to provide such a detailed review. We enjoy the many families that have made the resort a tradition, and even have third generations continuing the trend. We appreciate your family's patronage over the years and welcome your comments and suggestions on keeping the resort such a special place. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I joined several college roommates in a weekend at Shadow Mountain Resort so we rented several rooms. At first sight, I was not all that impressed with the place. I arrived at night and it was dark and directions getting into the gate and to reception were not easily found. Once we checked in, it was great. The pool was nice and big, food was close by so we didn't even have to leave the pool for lunch. There was tennis, and golf right there. The rooms are all individually owned (I believe) so decorated differently. Ask for a 'nice' place to be sure you get the better quality decor. The staff was very helpful and friendly but we did not have wi-fi in our room (some do if you ask for it.) It wasn't a huge problem though because you can get wi-fi at the pool, lobby, or snack bar (just steps from my room). Another great thing about this place was the location - short walk to El Paseo with great shopping and restaurants. Close to Palm Desert shopping and the wild animal park. Although i had reservations at first sight, this place was clean, quiet, friendly, cozy, and had all the amenities we needed or wanted. We plan to come back next year with more roommates!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management C, Owner at Shadow Mountain Resort and Club, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
We're glad you found us, although wish it wasn't so difficult getting through the gate. Shadow Mountain is often considered a "secret gem" since our location is tucked away just two blocks from El Paseo where girlfriends can swim, sun, shop, wine and dine to their hearts content. We hope you visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitchurch-Stouffville, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

This course is located near where we stay in the desert, so I like it based on that and the low rates (especially if booking through a discount golf website). I'll certainly not fault the place for being built long ago and within a busy residential community, but with that comes some drawbacks - a lot of flat, straight, back and forth holes, narrow fairways with homes immediately adjacent, and tee boxes right behind the greens. Lots of "Fore" and balls hitting hard objects could be heard around the course... Seems to me we liked the back nine better than the front. Hilarious dog on fenced property at hole number 12, I think. He drops tennis balls to passing golfers through the fence for you to toss over for him to fetch - highlight of the round! Clubhouse is nothing to speak of and is due for a complete overhaul.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management C, General Manager at Shadow Mountain Resort and Club, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thanks for trying out the golf course, we appreciate your candid comments about the clubhouse and our great location. The club is under new management as of September 2012 and we have since then made many improvements to the course itself and a complete overhaul of the Mens Lounge. We hope you will check back with us as we continues to make things even better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

We dropped in for tennis clinics which were excellent. The pros were great. The sessions were fun. Not boring. Great instruction for all levels of expertise. All of staff was wonderful. Welcoming environment. 5 out of 5.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management C, General Manager at Shadow Mountain Resort and Club, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
We're so glad you enjoyed your tennis clinic and do hope to see you again soon. Our pros can help teams fine tune their skills and make it fun while you work hard, so please tell your friends and let us put together some great tennis for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shadow Mountain Resort and Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shadow Mountain Resort and Club

Address: 45750 San Luis Rey, Palm Desert, CA 92260
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming resort, breathtaking views, figure-eight swimming pool, home to Desert Tennis Academy lessons & clinics. Located in the heart of Palm Desert, CA the Resort is walking distance to the shops, restaurants and art galleries along the famed El Paseo. Guests have access to cafe & bar, complimentary tennis on 16 tennis courts, tennis pro-shop, pools, jacuzzis, fitness room, massage services, saunas, poolside patio BBQ, volleyball, basketball, bicycle rentals, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Shadow Mountain Resort and Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shadow Mountain Resort And Club Hotel Palm Desert
Shadow Mountain Hotel
Shadow Mountain Resort Palm Desert

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shadow Mountain Resort and Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.