We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Destination!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Desert Springs Villas I

Save Saved
You added Marriott's Desert Springs Villas I to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marriott's Desert Springs Villas I
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1091 Pinehurst Lane, Palm Desert, CA 92260   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #12 of 22 hotels in Palm Desert
rhode island
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous Destination!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2010

Hey Travelers: this is a Marriott Time Share...we have been going here for 15 years...this property has some nice things about it, and some not! Let me explain: You get great square footage...incredible, as a matter of fact. But you don't get the most updated in decor. (I don't mind...I'd rather have the square footage) You have a gas fireplace-very cool. You have a sunken living room. You have a comfy sofa. You have your own kitchen...perfect! BIG master bedroom. The views are simply phenomenal. End of report. The views. Fabulous.
The biggest negative, it's not new and shiny, it's tried, true, functions with perfection, great service if you need something, well trained front desk personnel, and you are minutes from the most fun: restaurants, sights, casinos, and a trip not too far to LA, and San Diego. When you arrive at this Time Share, you are HOME...no matter where your home is! It's a place that fits everyone! Oh, it's wonderful. Walking is a joy here with snow on the mountains, blue skies, clear air. Lovely.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    95
    68
    25
    14
    13
See reviews for
90
73
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orange County, CA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2010

We've stayed at the Desert Springs Villa I condo's every spring for the last 6 years and it became a family tradition -- until now. As some of the other reviewers have noted, there has been a major change this year: Villa I guests can no longer use the JW Marriott hotel/spa (previously included in the room rate). This was the final straw for us. Each year they've been cutting back on the services less and less (check out time is now 10am --- what a joke!), but the decision not to renew the access to the JW Marriott hotel pools/spa for Villa I guests clinched it for us.

We have learned that the JW Marriott hotel is owned by Host Corporation (not Marriott) and they upped the pool/spa access fees that the Villas management didn't want to cover for the Villa guests. While I might understand the business decision, I don't agree with the Villas management not telling everyone about the changes . For those repeat travelers who have reservations this year, they'll hear this news upon check-in. I can only imagine the angry guests standing in the lobby being forced to pay the very high and new "access fees" ($10-$25 per person, per day depending on if it's a weekday, weekend or holiday). Rather than tell everyone in advance, the Villas management chose to remain silent on this in hopes of keeping the reservations from being dropped.

Don't be fooled if they tell you the change was noted in your email confirmation or on their website --- it isn't.

Once news gets out on this change, expect to see wide open room availability at the Villas (I or II) since the yearly vacation travelers will go elsewhere. If you don't mind staying within the Villas complex (using the small, local pools) then you won't be impacted by the changes. However, we're done with the poor customer service, high prices and lousy management attitude.

We don't recommend the JW Marriott Hotel as an option. The services have been cut here as well and they now charge a mandatory $25 "resort fee" per person and a parking fee as well (which I believe is seperate). Make sure you check out all of the costs before staying here in case they've made some recent adjustments and came to their senses.

We're looking forward to the new Fairmont Hotel and the Ritz Carlton (Rancho Mirage) opening up in the Palm Springs area. We'd rather pay a little more and not get nicked/dimed to death at a Marriott.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2010

We recently stayed here while attending the Indian Wells Tennis Tournament.We booked our room months in adavance and paid an average of $250. a night(with taxes). The location was good for our purposes, but our room was a major disappointment. (remember what we paid). The room was small, had no comfortable chair to sit in, AND the cabinets, countertops and shower were old, cracked and stained. I don't know when these villas were built, BUT they are in dire need of a makeover. The room was dark and to get light, we had to open the patio door to a dingy, high walled patio. This certainly wouldn't convince me to buy into the vacation club...................

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2010

We enjoyed our stay in December 2009 when we were able to use the JW Marriott Spa, as in the past. When we retuned for one week in January, the spa was no longer available, with no advance notice. The Villas I properties were special because they included access to the JW Marriott SPA - with a very quiet adults only pool with lap lanes, pool-side food and beverage service, up to date gym, beautiful indoor jacuzzi, saunas, steam, showers with all amenities, peaceful lounges with apples and tea, etc. Now the hotel owner (Host Properties) has terminated that access, and negotiations ended for a new contract. If you vacation with kids and don't mind noisy, crowded pools, no place to swim laps, a small and always crowded exercise room, you may find this property fine. It's one of the oldest of Marriott's timeshares and now the units are being slowly renovated. We opposed having to pay excessively to use the Spa and hope others will boycott the spa and write to Marriott with their complaints if they feel as we do.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles, california
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2010

they were in partnership with the Marriott and you could use the hotel facilities,as owners of Villas 1, without paying the new fees. Are you an owner? Are you upset about all the changes? I'd like to hear other opinions about the situation as I used to love playing tennis daily(complementary for an hour) and the adult gym and spa were so relaxing without kids running around and playing on exercise equipment or shouting at a pool. Are we the only ones not happy with the changes. Please respond if you have a comment. Perhaps we're in the minority on this situation, and if so we'll have to get used to the fees for the spa, tennis and gym, as well as a chair at the hotel pool on those days when we wanted to be around a large crowd.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2009

My experience at Marriott's Desert Springs Villas was a fantastic one. The resort itself was conveniently located to shopping areas and outside restaurants. Also, the resort had enough amenities than one did not need to travel anywhere. The shops and restaurants on site were first class! Our unit was just adjacent to the golf course and in a very quiet and serene area which backed to a small lake with ducks. Pools and spa were right next door. It was a week of total relaxation and rest, enjoying the beauty of the California scenery. The unit was a lock-off and slept 3 comfortably. Mini frig, microwave, and sink made eating a light breakfast in the room convenient. The beds were very comfortable and the extra large bathroom was very roomy even for three women! The room was very clean and maid service came daily to address any needs. Even though it was a very large resort it was very quiet and comfortable. I would definatly return to this resort and highly recommend it to anyone else.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2009

We are in our thrities and stayed at this hotel for a girls weekend. We booked a 2 bedroom villa after seeing pictures on Expedia. Well, one half of the room looked like the pictures on the web site, and the bathrooms looked like they belonged in a hospital. They were apparently not remodeled when the rest of the room was, and the pink tile and white handicapped bars were an eye sore. It should also be noted that the second bedroom was separated from the rest of the villa by an awkward tiled entrance (imagine a one bedroom villa with another hotel room next door). Our trip was nice and without any other issues, but I would choose to stay at another resort for the price. Our group did enjoy using the JW spa without fees though!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marriott's Desert Springs Villas I? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Desert Springs Villas I

Address: 1091 Pinehurst Lane, Palm Desert, CA 92260
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Desert
#8 Family Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Desert Springs Villas I 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palm Desert serves as the exceptional setting for Marriott's Desert Springs Villas. Beautifully designed on 400 acres. Adjacent to the JW Marriott Resort & Spa. Enjoy 36 holes of manicured fairways, exquisite tennis facilities, a lavish European spa and tempting cuisine. On-site, soak up the sun and relax with 7 luxurious pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Marriott's Desert Springs Villas I reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Desert Springs Villas i Hotel Palm Desert
Marriotts Palm Desert
Marriott Palm Desert
Palm Desert Marriotts

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Desert Springs Villas I, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.