We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Desert Springs Villas I

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott's Desert Springs Villas I to your Saves list
Marriott's Desert Springs Villas I
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1091 Pinehurst Lane, Palm Desert, CA 92260   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Palm Desert
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed here and are very pleased. We are in villas 1 which are newly renovated . Unit is very nice and roomy. Like the layout better than villas 2 and you get use of the health club at the JW resort. This hotel is in the heart of palm desert which is the nicer area in Palm Springs .

Room Tip: I would ask for an end unit second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    75
    26
    14
    14
See reviews for
101
86
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

More hotel room than villa. Layout was odd, nice to have a fridge and a small sink. Cups and spoons were the opposite side from the fridge. Coffee Maker never worked. Room had a jacuzzi but would be overlooked and seemed soulless. The whole room was just missing any thought of how to lay it out. Overall clean and my conference which was in the main Hotel was a 5 minute walk away. For the price I would have expected more facilities- small pool close by but everything else was centered around golf or tennis. Old clientele- if your 50 you feel young. Would stay at the main hotel if your just using a regular room as you have the restaurants, large pools, health club all at your doorstep. Again this review is just for the 'small rooms' which do not overlook the golf course. Still have to say this was much better than the Embassy Suites Palm Desert which we left after just one night.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We are Marriott platinum members, and have stayed at a number of the Marriott Vacation Clubs. This was the single worst Marriott property I have ever been to. The landscaping and pools are very pretty. Our room was absolutely AWFUL. Based on some of the other reviewers who said their rooms had been recently remodeled, I think that perhaps since we were staying using points we were put in the worst villa in the complex. It had obviously not been refurbished in many years. See attached pictures! The bathrooms were filthy and moldy, there were cigarette burns on the drapes, the furnace didn't work (and it was cold when were there), the door lock was broken, the lamp in the shower was broken, housekeeping left the bed runner balled up on the couch, AND left my patio door open and unlocked one night. They informed us that they would only give us clean kitchen towels once every 13 days, unless we wanted to pay an extra $96/day. When asking for help, the staff was rude and unhelpful.

It was the biggest waste of preciously saved points one could possibly imagine. Ruined our whole vacation. In retrospect, I wish we would have left and gone to stay at the Residence Inn down the road, it probably would have been better.

I loved Palm Desert. But I will stay at Hilton next time!

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Guest Relations Manager at Marriott's Desert Springs Villas I, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
We are sorry to hear that you did not have a positive experience at Marriott's Desert Springs Villas. There is no excuse for the poor housekeeping service and quality of your villa. This is not typical of the guest experience at our resort and we would appreciate an opportunity to personally address your concerns. Please contact us at customer.care@vacationclub.com or at 800 860 9384. We look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

There are 3 parts to this property - the Marriott Hotel, Villa's I and Villa's II. The Hotel is a 10-15 walk from the Villa's but there is a shuttle bus the makes frequent stops at all times of the day. The restaurants are at the Hotel with Starbucks and other snack areas scattered nearby the Villa's.
We had a one bedroom suite at Villa's I and it did not disappoint. Updated room with huge living space, balcony and full kitchen with laundry; comfortable, firm king bed; quiet area; parking right outside the door; amazing food at nearby Rockwood Grill in the Marriott Hotel. Staff were super friendly and quick to respond to any requests or concerns.
A quick shop in nearby El Paseo is fun but golf was the reason for our visit and Marriott Villa's is very close to countless amazing golf courses (off property is best if you prefer a challenge). Amenities and grocery shopping is very close by to stock up on food and drink.
Would most definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: If you are inclined, call a week ahead to request specific room needs - the staff are friendly and v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

Came here with the family (3 and 5 year old)and enjoyed the pools(3.5 feet in most places) and the kids club activities( ping pong, football, climbing wall) Nice sized rooms with all the supplies provided in the kitchen. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Ellyn, Illinois
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We have been owners of a Marriott timeshare property for about 10 years. This is our 3 or 4th stay at Desert Springs. We found the villa we stayed in to have been completely remodeled from out last trip. It was absolutely gorgeous! The size of Desert Springs villas seems to be much bigger than many other locations. The fact that the second bedroom is offset a little makes it feel even bigger. This location has the best tennis courts by far...clay, hard and even a grass court! So if you like tennis to play tennis you won't be disappointed.
Being a family of 5 we really prefer to stay in Villas due to increased space and the use of a fully equipped kitchen. We had extended family who stayed in nearby villas as well.
This property is especially wonderful because you also have access to the JW Marriott Hotel's amenities...that property is located on the other side of the villas. It has wonderful restaurants, superb pool area and a top notch spa.
We are HUGE fans of the Palm Desert area as well!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

This vacation was very different for us as we never vacationed during Xmas before. It was the best vacation we ever had. We had an end unit one bedrm on 2nd floor. We really enjoyed watching the golfers every morning on our balcony (but wish we had an inside unit meaning not along the major road it was somewhat noisy). The unit was clean but noticed a few minor things they should consider changing. The stacked washer n dryer was very very load. The bowls in the kitchen were way too small. Other than that, we are already planning our trip back.
We never experienced ants, maybe because we requested a second floor unit. But it was somewhat colder than normal when we went (highest temp was 65-68). Highly recommend to take shuttle to JW Marriott and go on the free boat ride out of the lobby. Very nice. We loved this area so much that we are considering it to be our winter home in a few years (as we went home to temps in the mid 20's).

Room Tip: End units, not along main road, mountain view and depending what time of year you travel we asked fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's Desert Springs Villas I? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Desert Springs Villas I

Address: 1091 Pinehurst Lane, Palm Desert, CA 92260
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Desert
#4 Romantic Hotel in Palm Desert
#9 Family Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Desert Springs Villas I 3.5*
Number of rooms: 472
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palm Desert serves as the exceptional setting for Marriott's Desert Springs Villas. Beautifully designed on 400 acres. Adjacent to the JW Marriott Resort & Spa. Enjoy 36 holes of manicured fairways, exquisite tennis facilities, a lavish European spa and tempting cuisine. On-site, soak up the sun and relax with 7 luxurious pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marriott's Desert Springs Villas I reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Desert Springs Villas i Hotel Palm Desert
Marriotts Palm Desert
Marriott Palm Desert
Palm Desert Marriotts

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Desert Springs Villas I, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.