We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious Units with Amenities of Home” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Desert Springs Villas I

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott's Desert Springs Villas I to your Saves list
Marriott's Desert Springs Villas I
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1091 Pinehurst Lane, Palm Desert, CA 92260   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Palm Desert
Certificate of Excellence
Palm Springs, CA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Spacious Units with Amenities of Home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Desert Springs Villas I are some of the most spacious timeshare properties in the Marriott system. Being attached to the JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort and Spa provide a nice option for hotel stays, if one prefers a more homey and private stay with all of the resort benefits!

Be aware that this property has BOTH Villas I and Villas II! Villas I are a few years older than Villas II but offer much larger units (approx. 1600 sf), with step-down living rooms with fireplaces!
Fully equipped kitchens and W/D are part of the 1-BR and fully 2-BR units. Good news is that the units are being refurbished with new carpeting and furnishings in more subtle and warm colors.

The Villas are gated and offer a few Clubhouses, 7 pools, small but efficient workout rooms, free weekday USA Today at the Clubhouse. Small mini-mart at clubhouses. Various activities (some for fees, others free) are also offered on a daily basis.

Pluses:
1- Feels more like a 'second home' than a hotel stay
2- Great option for guest who need multiple rooms. Let's everyone stay together and get the bonus of a full kitchen, W/D, large living room and dining table for 6!
3- Parking is short walk from the unit (and there is no charge)
4- Large patio/balcony with table, chairs, and chaise
5- Villas I (NOT Villas II) offers complimentary hotel spa access M-F. (Great deal! A savings of several hundred dollars for a party of 4 over the course of the week!!!!)
6- Discount card offers discounts for hotel services and amenities (and some local restaurants too)

Minuses:
1- Because of the large units and timeshare element, there can be a lot of families. So, if you prefer to be away from kids and noise, stay away from most of the pools. Use the spa benefit and use the spa pool (no children allowed)!
2- Although there is a full kitchen, be aware that you may not have all the necessary kitchen needs to cook fully meals as you would at home. There were no mixing bowls, small fry pan, hand mixer, roasting pan, etc.
3- If you plan to cook, you should plan ahead. Remember the basics: salt, pepper, sugar, etc.
4- Housekeeping on this recent visit proved lacking in that there were no kitchen dish towels, dish cloths, and pot holders and additional plastic garbage bags for under kitchen sink garbage can. Also, no face cloths in the master bath (should have been 4).
Needed to call the front desk to get these items delivered.

If you stay at the Villas I and decide to do cooking, there is a large Ralph's grocery store just across the street from Hotel on Cook and Country Club.

The shuttle service is convenient and offers all day service throughout the Villas property and to the main hotel and spa.

Note: If you are flying into Palm Springs and not getting a car, be aware that your taxi ride will be about $50 one way

Room Tip: If you are reserving a 2-BR unit, the end units offer better views and balconies for the 2nd bedroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    87
    28
    14
    14
See reviews for
115
99
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We had a great 2 bedroom corner Villa. Spacious, clean, we'll equipped. Villas are adjacent to the main Marriott Desert Springs hotel. Easy walk or shuttle to the Marriott Hotel. Free use of hotel facilities during the weekdays. Many options for pools scattered through the property - 7 in total. Villa was well laid out. Would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Many but not all buildings back on to the golf course. Bldgs A -E or F back on to a narrow fairway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bozeman, mt
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We had another great stay here, this time in a 2-bedroom unit in building "O." Because it's directly across the golf course from the hotel, it was noisy during some the the days and evenings, but didn't really bother us. Just be aware of this. It looks like buildings "R" and "S" would be quieter, and we'll make this request on our next visit. The unit we were in seemed to be the same (furniture and layout) as the one we were in a couple of years ago, but still in good condition and very clean. We like staying here because of the proximity to the golf and the ability to use the spa. The spa pool is great for lap swimming, and I had it to myself all three mornings I was there. Building "O" is next to the quiet pool. It's small, but shaded, so nice for hot days. Villas I renters can also use the pools, etc. at Villas II, and the larger one looks very nice, although we didn't use it. We had a great stay and will be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dixon, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for one week here and were pleased with the visit. The two-bedroom condos have generous space and very comfortable features. Plentiful and close parking. The location is great to head into the mountains. We will come back.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saginaw, MI
Level Contributor
128 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

These people know how to deliver a quality vacation. The accommodations are exceptional with a large living room with seating for about 7 on a wrap around sofa and lounge chair. Kitchen is lovely granite and spacious. Balcony is exceptional with table, 4 chairs, a lounger, table, and still more empty space to move in or out of the sun as needed. The staff has been trained to anticipate a guests needs and make sure the guest is satisfied. Pools are clean and kept at comfortable temperatures.

Room Tip: There are no elevators, so choose second floor for a great view, but expect to carry bags up steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, CA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

My husband and I stayed in a spacious two bedroom unit in Bldg I, with a beautiful view of the golf course, lake and mountains. Our children and grandchildren came at the end of the week. Ducks came to our porch each morning to visit. Before the kids came, W
we used the adjacent JW Marriott spa and pool free of charge M-F. The private spa pool area is adults only and is very peaceful. We enjoyed a delicious and healthy lunch from the spa cafe. So relaxing. When the kids came, we went to the Palmeras pool and enjoyed fountains, a large toddler wading pool, a bigger kids pool, and another larger pool. Lunch was reasonably priced with a varied menu. We also went to The Shade, an activity center with a movie theater, pool table, climbing wall, shuffleboard, Wi, and more. We walked to the hotel and took a boat ride on the hotel lake. It was a fun half hour together on the lake. There was something for everyone. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitoba
Level Contributor
75 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

A wonderful holiday unit with a location right on the golf course. Spacious, bright, well-designed and immaculate made this an ideal location. It is also within 5 minutes of grocery stores, and 15 minutes from great restaurants and attractions. Concierge service sets this apart from your normal hotel stay. Also having a complete unit with bedrooms, kitchen, dining room, private lanai or balcony means there is so much more space than one could hope for...a definite must location to which to return.

Room Tip: Villas whose living rooms face South tend to be brighter, but those that face North are just as nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Marriott's Desert Springs Villas I? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Desert Springs Villas I

Address: 1091 Pinehurst Lane, Palm Desert, CA 92260
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Desert
#4 Romantic Hotel in Palm Desert
#5 Family Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Desert Springs Villas I 3.5*
Number of rooms: 472
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palm Desert serves as the exceptional setting for Marriott's Desert Springs Villas. Beautifully designed on 400 acres. Adjacent to the JW Marriott Resort & Spa. Enjoy 36 holes of manicured fairways, exquisite tennis facilities, a lavish European spa and tempting cuisine. On-site, soak up the sun and relax with 7 luxurious pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Marriott and Hotels.com so you can book your Marriott's Desert Springs Villas I reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Desert Springs Villas i Hotel Palm Desert
Marriotts Palm Desert
Marriott Palm Desert
Palm Desert Marriotts

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Desert Springs Villas I, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.