We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recent Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of International Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added International Lodge to your Saves list
International Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   74-380 El Camino, Palm Desert, CA 92260   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Palm Desert
White Rock, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Recent Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

We have recently returned home after a two week stay at the International Lodge in Palm Desert. The hotel was centrally located and we found our suite to be clean, comfortable and quiet.
The kitchen was well equipped and we enjoyed many meals on our 2nd floor balcony.
The staff were helpful and accommodating and looked after our requests promptly.
The grounds were well maintained and the heated pool was a pleasure to swim in.
We would not hesitate to stay here again on our next visit

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    67
    15
    15
    20
See reviews for
54
89
23
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

I really enjoyed my two weeks here. It was quiet, clean and comfortable. The kitchen area had everything I needed. The staff was efficient, and non-intrusive. A very pleasant get-away, and I will return. I had a private balcony, and was on and end unit. It was a true vacation. The pool area was peaceful.

Room Tip: Upstairs is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Stayed here Friday through Monday for the Wine & Food festival. Room was clean and quiet. Perfect for making some small meals in for breakfast or dinner. Cooked some steaks on the outside grill! Highly recommend this place. Only issues we had were getting extra towels - the service was pretty slow and a sponge would have been nice to have (to wash our dishes). Perfect apartment for a weekend away.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We spent 4 nights here during our son's spring break from college. I'll admit, I was a little worried about booking a room here because of the price relative to other hotels in the area. However, we were looking for a place in which there were separate bedrooms because we have a snorer who needs his own space, and a 3rd person, our teenager. I thought there were 2 (2 person) beds in each room but found out upon arrival that there was only one bed per bedroom and there are 3 of us. That problem was quickly solved by the staff, who brought over an extra set of sheets, a blanket and pillow and showed us that the living room contained 2 fold down futons which consequently served quite well as sleeping quarters for our teenager.

There were plenty of mostly minor issues with the apartment - yes, it is an older former duplex apartment. The hot water handle broke off in the downstairs bathroom. The manager said he would send a repairman the next day but that never happened. My husband didn't really care in the end as he just came upstairs to shave and shower in the huge upstairs bathroom. Both because of the fact that the downstairs bathroom also did not have a mirror on the wall, and because the upstairs bathroom had double sinks and an unimaginable amount of space! The bathroom fixtures were old and in need of replacement but they did seem to be clean, therefore were acceptable.

The biggest problem I could foresee with the unit for some people, is the fact that the kitchen as is, is virtually unusable. Fortunately for us, we hadn't planned to cook at all anyway and only kept a few drinks in the fridge. The manager had told us that some upgrades had been completed but that the unit did not yet have planned granite countertops. I hope they plan to replace more than the countertops in the kitchen because the unit has an old original built in electric stovetop that looked broken, and there was no microwave at all. The laminate countertops looked original, and the sink and cabinets were just downright old and worn out. There were a few but not many dishes available to use. They really need to redo the window coverings too. The mattress on the king size bed upstairs was crazy hard too, but the one on the queen bed downstairs was not. That might vary from unit to unit.

Also, I really didn't enjoy getting woke up on my vacation at 7 a.m. each morning by shrub trimmers 2 days in a row, by trash pick-up one morning, and by late night revelers on our last night. However, other than these things, it was a relatively quiet stay which is very important to us. Another issue as others here said too, the wi-fi is spotty and I wouldn't count on it always working. And, after our first night, there was also nobody on site who spoke English. When we tried to ask a few questions, we were told to call the manager's mother (who didn't seem to actually work there) to translate. Fortunately, they weren't very important questions. He was not back when it was time to check out and we were left a note on our door thanking us for our stay and stating that the room charge would show up on our credit card. Hope that works out...

Now for the positives. You are not going to find more space for your money anywhere else. As far as renovations go, all of the floors had been redone with tile downstairs and laminate upstairs. The walls have also been repainted and there is new furniture and a flat screen TV in the living area. Granted, some of the work looks like it was not very professionally done but nonetheless, it's new. Someone came in and made the beds every day too, which isn't really necessary to us but indicates atttention to customers. Also, the duplexes have their own private swimming pool and hot tub. And, the neighborhood is close to nice shopping areas and feels safe enough.

So, despite some of my negative comments above, all in all we had a decent stay here. It's a place that could definitely work well for some people but it might not be for everybody. It's not a luxury hotel. It's more like having your own apartment to come back to every night. It has it's pros and cons. It's got potential and if they get the renovations completed, it will be a very nice option.

Room Tip: Most units in the main buildings apparently have already been updated. If you're looking for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

I really love this hotel. I've spent a lot of time in Palm Desert since 1982 and stayed in several high-end hotels in the valley. Palm Desert was my getaway from Los Angeles for the past 25 years.
Three years ago I semi-retired and moved back to NY so this time around I was looking for a nice, reasonably priced hotel in a great location. The International Lodge was perfect. The hotel has a few pools, nice sitting areas and well taken care of landscaping.
I had a second floor room of this two story hotel. An open, one bedroom efficiency, with a large sitting area, a galley kitchen with a peninsula and bar stools, kitchen table, a very good sized bathroom, and a balconey over-looking the out door sitting area. The management and staff were pleasant and extremely helpful. I have already booked my stay for next year, at the lodge, for a total of six weeks. This year I stayed for four weeks. I highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

My experience started when I called the office 2 1/2 hrs before the check in time and asked Alan if I could check in early. He said my room was ready, but the carpets were being cleaned. He encouraged me to come and drop off my luggage and food, but asked if I would wait until the carpet was dry before I totally checked in. When I got there he had already found a room that was completely ready, and had Leo take me to see it. I loved it and decided to take that room. From start to finish my experience was great. Customer service as well as cleanliness is a must for me. I was very happy with everything. The room was quiet, well stocked, comfortable, and the wifi was great. I was so happy, that I have already booked 3 more nights for next month. Thank you Alan and Leo for your exceptional service and friendliness.

Room Tip: Just tell the office what your needs are and they will find the perfect room for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights (unit 39) to attend the BNP Paribas tennis tournament in Indian Wells. Thought the price/night was excellent and the drive to the tournament was less than 10 minutes. The room was very clean, the kitchen large, with a full size refrigerator. The beds were comfortable and the room was very quiet. It's not fancy, but we were only in it to sleep. The wifi was spotty for my sons Mac and the tv does not have HD, but we weren't there to watch tv, so no problem. We will book again here each year for the tennis...a great price performer.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to International Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about International Lodge

Address: 74-380 El Camino, Palm Desert, CA 92260
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Palm Desert
#10 Romantic Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — International Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your International Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
International Hotel Palm Desert

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage International Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.