We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good, clean room at a very good price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of International Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added International Lodge to your Saves list
International Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   74-380 El Camino, Palm Desert, CA 92260   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Palm Desert
San Diego, CA
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“A good, clean room at a very good price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

First off, the weekend we were there was a big weekend in October in Palm Springs--a huge bike rally--so to get a room for $99/night was a fantastic deal. When we drove up I was wondering what we got ourselves into. It's old, cinder-block style is much different than the resorts and hotels throughout the desert area. (I should probably confess that we also have a time share at the Westin Rancho Mirage, so I am used to "resort style" hotels) But when we walked in, the room was very clean and nicely decorated. I think the only complaints about the room itself would be the curtains--which were quite dirty--and some of the bathroom vanity area wasnt quite finished--ie the canned lights were not sealed off and were also very hot. However, the kitchen was very well stocked, which is wonderful! We also, thank goodness, had brought olive oil, which helped so we could get the sliding door opened.
There was also an issue with toilet paper and tissue paper. Alan did call me on Sunday once we returned home & apologized for that issue. Appararently there was a lack of ordering supplies on the part of the new housekeeping mgr.
Overall, the vibe there is very chill. The housekeeping staff is nice. While the pools aren't spectacular, on the other, had we could bring our own drinks and some appies out and it didn't cost us $100 for lunch and drinks by the pool
We will return again!

Room Tip: Definitely ask for one of the upgraded rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    57
    9
    13
    16
See reviews for
42
73
19
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Service was fast and friendly. Room was modern, newly furnished, and very clean, and very quiet. There was a heated pool right outside the back door, but I didn't get a chance to use it. There was a Cactus Jacks restaurant and bar that was well rated on Yelp right across the street, a 5 minute walk, which was great. This place allows single night stays on the weekend also. I'd stay here again anytime.

Room Tip: I had a ground floor opening to pool, it was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan G, General Manager at International Lodge, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
It was a pleasure meeting you during your stay. Thank you for the kind words and we all hope to have you back shortly. Next time we hope to have you for an even longer stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belle Plaine, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

After renting a condo at the International Lodge in February 2011 and 2012, we decided not
to return in February 2013.since we had not received the contract for 2013 as promised. We
sent an e-mail to Alan on 8/15/2012 asking for a copy of our contract and received no response.
We sent another e-mail a month later cancelling our reservation (if we indeed had one) and
requesting our $300 deposit be returned - no response. We called Alan on 9/21/12 and asked him to cancel our reservation and return our $300 & he said he would and our deposit would be
mailed within 2 days. Never received it. Called Alan on 10/15/12 and he stated the check had
been sent and must be lost in the mail, he would place a stop payment on it and send the check
by registered mail and would call to let us know the tracking number. NO CALL AND NO CHECK. We then sent another e-mail over a week later and this one he actually responded to and again apologized said he was on vacation and would definitely return the deposit when
he returned on Monday. Guess what - no check. Our last contact with Alan was a week ago
when we text him and asked where our check was - another apology and said we would
again receive it in two days. We notice on this website he has time to respond to reviews but
somehow cannot find the time to return deposits to previous renters.

Room Tip: We received the room we reserved in 2011 but when we arrived in 2012 we did not receive the room we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

When i saw the outside of the hotel i thought it was going to be a standard everyday type of room. When i walked in i was greeted with great looking furniture, a full kitchen, and a balcony over looking the spa. We spent alot of time sipping wine on the balcony. It is a four minute drive to the living desert zoo. Half hour from the salton sea and twenty minutes from palm springs. If your into desert wild life thats a perfect place to stay.

Room Tip: I like the upstairs but downstairs opens strait to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I spent most of March 2012 at the International Lodge and enjoyed my stay so much, I've already booked for 2013. Alan and the staff were awesome, very accomodating! Great value, awesome location. The exterior may appear a bit dated, but my room was very nicely furnished, very comfortable. Travelling alone on business and felt very safe. Have recommended this to my friends travelling in the area!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan G, General Manager at International Lodge, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
I wanted to take a moment and thank you on behalf of my staff and I. It truly means a lot to us when our guests enjoy their stay. As you know we are a mid size hotel with a big heart and attempt to make each guest stay a memorable one. I am very thankful that you have decided to make the International Lodge your Palm Desert Oasis in the near future once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

This place is OK by me! We stayed there in one of the refurbished studios, I think # 24, for 4 nights October 2012 at a BARGAIN PRICE, well under $100/night. I left my iPod in the room and the staff was great about sending it back to me--I talked to Leo, who checked on it and returned my call. I sent them a prepaid, pre-addressed box and it was returned promptly with a nice note from Alan. It's not a 5-star resort but we definitely got our money's worth.
Pros: Nice stone tile flooring, new furniture, cabinets and refrig, location near the tennis garden, nice size room with kitchen on one wall. Flaws: Not quite decorator-perfect with a few places needing paint touch up or repairs to finish work.
We'd go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a refubished room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

I was recently in the Coachella Valley and stayed @ the International lodge. My private condo was extremely clean & furnished during my entire stay and i quickly felt at home after a day or so into my 3 week stay. The staff was friendly & professional and always made sure I had everything (including high speed Internet). I recommend this place to anyone looking for a clean, nicely furnished condo @ at an excellent rate! 5 STARS!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to International Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about International Lodge

Address: 74-380 El Camino, Palm Desert, CA 92260
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Palm Desert
#10 Romantic Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — International Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your International Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
International Hotel Palm Desert

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage International Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.