We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Leisurely "Girls" vacation on a budget, with all the perks.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of International Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added International Lodge to your Saves list
International Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   74-380 El Camino, Palm Desert, CA 92260   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Palm Desert
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Leisurely "Girls" vacation on a budget, with all the perks.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

Stayed her many times at various units, this time unit#45, which was on bottom floor, facing the smaller pool. It was so convienent to walk out from our patio door and sit at a patio table by the pool and enjoy some late night snacks. Three of us slept in 2 queensize beds, which we found very comfortable. Our kitchen unit had paper towels, dishsoap, coffee, teas, creamer etc. which was nice in the morning. Had a micro, coffeemaker, toaster, oven, and frig., along with plenty of utencils. The unit had nice clean tile floors and a remodeled bathroom with two pedestal sinks seperate from the toilet-shower area. The only negative was the fan in the toilet, which sounded horrible, so we turned on the heat lamp timer for light or left the door open. The place was quiet and very close to a market, liquer store, and shopping. Got baked chicken and made a salad, from the market one day for lunch, then went out to a french bakery in Target shopping center for desert! We love this place, it's fun to float our air mattress in the big and little pool, and have movie theatres, the mall, and The Elephant Bar, just down the street. Splitting the room and groceries, made it a fun but budget friendly mini-vacation.

Room Tip: Ask to be close to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    58
    9
    13
    16
See reviews for
42
74
20
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tustin, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

After golfing all day, Checking in was quick and friendly. Key did not work in my door, since there is no phone I had to return to the front dest 4 buildings away to get another key. The room was clean and upgraded. There was no bathroom soap or kleenex and the bahtroom door slider was broken. Room did not have the assumed comforts of a regular motel/hotel room.
I asked for a 1st floor room, but the only person on staff said she could not help me, but she send an email to the manager and wait for a response. NO ONE ON THE GROUND TO MAKE DECISIONS? Don't assume your stay will come with everything you need like the average motel/hotel has.

Room Tip: Ask allot of questions before reserving a room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert, California
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2011

The International Lodge was recommended by a good friend of ours, and we weren't disappointed. We were looking for a clean, comfortable, family place without a lot of hoopla, at a reasonable price. The pool was spacious, not crowded, the BBQ grill was hot and the unit had BBQ tools and plates. We are planning on being a regular at this out-of-the way, quiet and comfortable place. We love the ILODGE!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011

Normally we don't stay in places like this, but it was recommended by a friend, who said the pool was never crowded. If you go to the desert a lot, you know what I am talking about here when it comes to pools and chaos.

The friend is now on the "Do Not Trust " list. You can't really rate this hotel by stars, it should be rated by cabbages. It is not a hotel or resort.

The room was clean and renovated. The rooms are individually owned, so they may vary. The bed was saggy, but NO bedbugs. The outside of the hotel, is barrack style, with old blue awnings with rips and tears. Screen doors and the patio had green astro turf, complete with mismatched furniture. The AC could have been colder.

The pool was a nice pool, and there was no one there. However, a chain link fence surrounds the pool, with those plastic slats that go through the fence. It was right on the street, and you could see the street sign and hear traffic and people parking.

The view from the room.....wow....looking out at the blue canopied rooms across from us and an office building about 100 yards away. We had to drown our sorrows the first night, but made the best of it. This place most closely resembles an apartment complex in El Cajon, CA. It was all just very weird.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2011

I stayed at the I Lodge with my girlfriend for Stagecoach and we were very unhappy with our stay. They were very casual when we got there and seemed like very nice people. The room was sub par. We asked for non smoking and the room still smelled like cigarette smoke. The pool and all the other amenities were a big let down. After we checked out and left they claimed that we smoked in the room and charged $300 to my credit card. I couldn't think of a worse place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2008

This hotel was like an upgraded motel – the facilities are not luxurious, but were clean and sufficient for a short stay.

We had a premium room with two queen beds, which was selling for about half of what the 4 and 5 star resorts in the same town were charging. There was enough room for a kitchenette (counter overlooks the room), sofa set, small table and large bathroom. There were two sinks in the dressing area, separated from the toilet and shower in a small room. Overall, plenty of space and the kitchen was fully stocked with enough to cook and feed four or six, and coffee (incl decaf).

There were several sets of bathroom toiletries—same quality as offered by Hilton Garden Inn, Residence inn, or similar places -- and plenty of towels, important because they are replaced (and the room cleaned) only every third day.
The person who checked us in was very friendly. But the office is not open outside of office hours (9 to 5).
The pool is good for lap swimming but since it is U shaped and not very wide on each of the sides, not too good for playing around. It was not heated too strongly, but that was good for swimming laps. The longest side is around 20 meters.

Only two complaints:
The wifi router is not strong enough to cover the whole area of the hotel. Thus, the network signal around the office and buildings C and D is strong, but in buildings A and B, non existent.
The water pressure in the shower is not very strong.

All in all, a good deal, especially when the rest of the resorts are overpriced.

  • Liked — full facilities, good value
  • Disliked — wifi too weak
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2007

We stayed at the International Lodge for one night. The front desk let us check in early. We spent most of the day away visiting relatives and returned in the evening so we did not use the pool.

Our studio room had a king size bed, full size couch, coffee table, plus full kitchen and dinette. The motel supplied soap, paper towels, everything you would need including dishes, bbq utensils, corkscrew, etc. The units are individually owned so apparently each one is decorated differently. We only paid about $113 with a AAA discount which was pretty reasonable considering the location. Lots of shops and restaurants nearby. The unit had a nice patio adjacent to the pool. There were several bbq's by the pool and a jacuzzi behind the office. I think there were other small pools at the other buildings. We were in building one by the main pool.

Not a problem, but the bathroom looked like it was for a handicapped person, very low counters, etc.

Problems: The place just smelled funny. I guess if it we had been there during the day we could have opened the place up and aired it out. The morning we checked out, we took a shower but there was no hot water -- only warm and then it got cool. We didn't take a shower til about 10 am. Guess the hot water ran out. If we were staying longer we would have talked to the front desk about it. Also, there was a family with two small children upstairs and it sounded like elephants running around all evening.

All in all though, it seemed like a decent place to stay because of the full kitchen, pools and bbqs. Great for families.

  • Liked — Full kitchen
  • Disliked — No hot water and too noisy from people upstairs
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to International Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about International Lodge

Address: 74-380 El Camino, Palm Desert, CA 92260
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Palm Desert
#11 Romantic Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — International Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your International Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
International Hotel Palm Desert

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage International Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.