We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still Great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mamma Gina Ristorante

Mamma Gina Ristorante
73-705 El Paseo, Palm Desert, Palm Desert, CA 92260
+1 760-568-9898
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Mamma Gina Ristorante is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 240 Restaurants in Palm Desert
Price range: $0 - $45
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Ristorante Mamma Gina has been a landmark in Florentine cuisine in Italy since 1956. Thirty years later, in 1986, California residents were able to get their very own taste of Italy as Ristorante Mamma Gina made its way to the United States.Since then we have been serving the desert with the best Italian food you can find on this side of the world. We pride ourselves on our authentic Italian cuisine, kitchen, and service. With white linens and a very classy atmosphere, Ristorante Mamma Gina is the perfect spot for your next date night or family get together. Bring your next special occasion to Ristorante Mamma Gina. Our Wine Room and Lounge are available for small private parties. For an intimate gathering our Wine Room accommodates between 10 to 18 people comfortably. For larger groups our Lounge accommodates parties up to 60 people. We have 4 sample menus to choose from, or you can always create your own. We're the next best thing to Italy itself! Come in for a traditional and authentic Italian dish. White wine with barrel on vineyard in Chianti, Tuscany, Italy Thinking of traveling to Tuscany, Italy for the real deal? Weekly or monthly rentals available at great apartments in Florence and Villas in Chianti area. We know just the right spots to travel and of course eat!
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Still Great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Had to wait for the lounge side for about 10 mins. But as always a very good meal , extremely reasonable prices with what you would call Appetizers. The place is always busy , so the waiters are rushed but they are working their butts off. Glass of decent wine only $5.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    65
    33
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A little slice of Italy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We ate dinner here on our way to Las Vegas for a poker tournament, we found the restaurant to be very clean and the staff more than helpful, our starter was the minestrone soup which I could have had extra servings but needed to leave room for the rest of the courses :) We were offered a wide choice of wines and as I was NOT the nominated driver opted for a nice Pinot Grigio. My main was the grilled rib-eye a monster of a 20z 30 day matured steak with a side dish of sauted mushrooms, in total this cost me just over 40 bucks but it was the best cooked steak I have ever tasted!! (Even though the service for it to come was a little on the slow side|) Unfortunately I didn't have room for a sweet but my wife had the homemade tirimasu which looked heavenly. Overall the restaurant staff were very pleasant and loved the our English accents :) the place was clean and the rest rooms were also spotless, apart from the slow service for our main (no doubt due to the size of the steak I ordered) we would recommend this to anyone who is a fan of Italian cuisine.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batley
1 review
“A great night with the family!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We went to Mamma Gina a month ago, my wife and myself and 2 teenaged 17 & 19 daughters, we booked for 7pm and was seated with 5 minutes.o say the. The ambience is very laid back and the staff were very helpful. I ordered steak and my wife and kids ordered pizza, I have to say the steak was superb, done just how i like it, although having said that its not hard to mess up a steak.

The wife and kids loved the massive pizzas and eat the lot!.

overall the prices were very reasonable, the whole meal for 4 with drinks for around $60.

A great night out and we will be going there again next time we're in the area.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Great food, halting front desk”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We walked into this restaurant that had wanted to go to from reading about it online and also having eaten in its still-functioning earlier version near the Ponte Antico in Florence. At 5:30 with only 3-4 tables occupied we were told in business-like terms (could have been a lot friendlier, in keeping with what all of Palm Desert is like - friendly, helpful, accommodating) that so long as we were out by 6:45 we could be seated. This rubbed us the wrong way but was forgotten when the couple two tables over, we found out, shared the same feeling and also had eaten at their original in Florence as well. All was forgotten when the osso bucco and the saltimbocca we ordered was served, along with a lovely Terrabianco red. Table service was good, the meal was just delicious, and we left feeling it would have been perfect except for the rude start.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pieratt, Owner at Mamma Gina Ristorante, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
I apologized for the outcome and perceived attitude from my management.
Let's look in the situation and let's try to find out what it may happened.
We have a CLEAR understanding, from our point of view, in how to address a situation when the customer is walking in without a reservation (which we deeply appreciate).
If we have an open table is quite easy, we simply bring the customer to the table..period.
If we don't have an open table and we simply sad "I'm sorry but I don't have anything available". Period.
Quite often, which is what happened with this particular customers, we have a WINDOW of opportunity at the table that it may be shorter then an hour and half to two hours seating and this is when we have a "business like approach" : Sorry but all we have is a table that is already booked at 6:45 (example) ...Is it enough time for you? can you finish by then?
Not sure if all this is wrong to be honest..
We have to honor the upcoming reservations..WE don't PLAY the Bar game, which in my view is totally wrong in our industry therefore we ONLY give our customers the choice to sometime have a quicker dinner with us instead of getting back in the car and go somewhere else. It's a choice and we never offer all this if we have is less then and hour at the table. When offered 80% of the people say: Yes, we don't mind..In this case somebody sad YES but then had issue with "the deal".
I'm truly sorry but quite often, in this business, we never win..I'll keep trying and thanks for all of you that is TRYING US every day as well.
Piero Pierattoni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Fantastic service, cozy but lively ambience, great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The title says it all. We loved this place. They provided service that made us feel like special guests..yet it was packed! You had to call for a reservation- they don't use open table or another type of online service- but they managed to find us a nice table at 7pm, despite a very full restaurant.

It was a nice blend of romantic, relaxed, cozy, friendly, and really great wine and food. What more could you ask for?

Was kind of an older crowd compared to us, but might have been because it was Sunday night or the nature of the neighborhood (which we aren't familiar with).

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mamma Gina Ristorante also viewed

Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs
 
Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs
 

Been to Mamma Gina Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mamma Gina Ristorante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.