We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still good food/service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sammy's Woodfired Pizza & Grill

Sammy's Woodfired Pizza & Grill
73-595 El Paseo Rd., Ste 2208, Palm Desert, CA 92260-4350
760-836-0500
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #50 of 234 restaurants in Palm Desert
Cuisines: American, Lebanese, Pizza & Pasta, Asian fusion
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Vancouver
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Still good food/service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

This was my fourth time here for lunch since November 2012 and the food has always been good as well as the service. We shared the Roasted Vegetable Salad, the Artichoke & Shrimp Dip and the Kobe Sliders. Everything was very good but the sliders were outstanding once again. The prices are reasonable for the quality and quantity of food you get.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

73% Recommend
    23
    26
    14
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yakima, Washington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not so good this time”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We always visit Sammy's at least once when we come to the Desert and this time was no expection. Had the Chopped Chicken Salad which was excellant but the Classic Margarita Pizza was one of the worst we have ever had. Think this place is off our list-too many other great places in the desert to eat. I agree with another reviewer pizza was dry, too much cheese and just not good!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good. Casual and different”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Large restaurant. Surprisingly good, hot and well served food. Our waitress was really good and friendly. Genuinely concerned that it was all delivered correctly.
Great prices. I can recommend this place. Good for a family.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“We loved it !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Great food , great service and a great menu ! We all enjoyed our meals and the whole experience .
The only thing was that it was a rainy day and the escalators are outdoors so they were closed and one in our party fell down the stairs as they were wet . I almost did as well . I'm not sure if there is an elevator or not .
This has nothing to do with the actual restaurant which we enjoyed very much !

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Bay, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“This is wood fired pizza?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We chose this because it says it was wood fired pizza, which, I think tastes a lot like the great pizzas we had it Italy. It wasn't. The crust was crunchy and dry, not bready and chewy. There was way too much cheese on top. The wine was very expensive ($9/glass).

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sammy's Woodfired Pizza & Grill also viewed

Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs
 
Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs
 

Been to Sammy's Woodfired Pizza & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sammy's Woodfired Pizza & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.