We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service in the Bar” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tommy Bahama's Restaurant & Bar

Tommy Bahama's Restaurant & Bar
75-595 El Paseo #2200, Palm Desert, CA 92260
760 836 0188
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Tommy Bahama's Restaurant & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 240 Restaurants in Palm Desert
Price range: $0 - $50
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Doing business, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Transit: El Paseo & Larkspur Lane. El Paseo Courtesy Cart available for free transportation to the shops along the paseo.
Description: Tommy Bahama combines a tranquil environment and good food with an emphasis on hospitality to make for the perfect place to recharge or unwind while indulging in a unique dining experience. The experience is sure to feel like a getaway, whether you’re on vacation or looking for a vacation from your everyday life. For more information: www.tommybahama.com
Washington
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great Service in the Bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

A group of us stopped here and some shopped but half of us went up to the bar for a drink. The Bartender and server were absolutely great! Very personable, helpful and on top of everything. We watched the bartender make a drink and he was wonderful when we asked him questions about the ingredients. This high end store has a top of the line bar and bartender. I would recommend this to everyone for such great service!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    144
    51
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Beverly Hills, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great casual couple or family restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Fun, casual atmosphere. We have eaten there many times. I would not call this restaurant a special occasion type of atmosphere, but there is a guitarist on the balcony in the evening and the mood is lively. Their "captive cocktail" is not on the menu but you can still get it if you ask for it. It's v8 type based cold soup with shrimp and lobster and is low in calories and great for lunch or even dinner. We have been there with other couples but our friends just went with grandchildren and said it was great. Our last visit was on the 4th of July. Very crowded because the balcony overlooks the entire desert so many booked it to view fireworks. Service was not great but we were told that in advance because it appeared to be a one seating evening and just jammed because of the view. Balcony has misters but we ate inside. Very hot in the summer.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
“Great food & views!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Amazing food - had a steak that was incredible with all the fixings - just delish!! The rest of my party loved their dinners too! And for dessert I had an incredible "butterscotch pudding" layered with whipped cream and chocolate - ahhh! GREAT VIEWS

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert, California
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Back after a long absence, some friends and I were celebrating the last day of school and decided to check out Tommy's. We were lucky that we were able to get right in, and the table was very comfortable. I actually prefer the lunch at Tommy's over the dinner, as the portion sizes are more reasonable. I had the tacos, which were amazing, so flavorful! My friends had pulled pork sandwich which was also quite good. We all took food home! The waiter was friendly, although a bit overworked. The atmosphere was fun and the remodel really made the restaurant function better. Love the interior look!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Very good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We had a late lunch at this restaurant and were really pleased with the quality of food and drinks. It was a bit pricey but the steak salad was very tasty and the steak perfect. My husband had jerk chicken tacos and he said were also good, We will stop by again! The outdoor patio looked very nice and inviting but it was hot so we preferred to sit inside. I am sure we'll try it for dinner too!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tommy Bahama's Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs
 
Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs
 

Been to Tommy Bahama's Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tommy Bahama's Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.