We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experience sub-par, poor service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Pacifica Seafood Restaurant

Pacifica Seafood Restaurant
73505 El Paseo, Palm Desert, CA 92260-4343
760-674-8666
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Pacifica Seafood Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 243 Restaurants in Palm Desert
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Entertaining clients, Large groups, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: San Pablo
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Experience sub-par, poor service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We had a reservation and sat at the table for 30 minutes before our server "Summer" came to our table. (Wintery service!) She didn't ask if we would like a drink, just wanted to take the order and run off. She lacked global perspective on her section. I observed several patrons hoping to get her attention (including the table next to us who were apologizing to their friends for the poor service) but she focused on one thing a time. We never had our wine nor water refilled. My flatware was taken away with the appetizer and I sat there while food got cool waiting to get her attention as she walked back and forth, almost intentionally not making eye contact with any patrons. The section was quite full, so I gave the benefit of the doubt, ready to blame overbooking on management, but even as her section emptied, the service did not improve! The food was decent- Seabass, as usual, very good; Lobster ravioli with Shrimp, not so good. The sauce was too overwhelming for the lobster but great with the shrimp. Couldn't detect lobster at all. I'm not sure if we will be back. It's too bad, we were frequent patrons here and the experience was ruined by the poor service as it seemed to be by those around us.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    371
    200
    58
    16
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
SoCal
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good service/food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Scallops were great. Don't get the white fish though it appears to be a staple in all the restaurants in palm desert.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Eat at octogenarian hour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Well executed dishes. Generous portions. Attentive service. Hit the sunset dinner menu (before 530) - otherwise very expensive.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Overated Food and Poor Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We had reservations and still had to wait for 20 minutes. We ordered a nice bottle of wine and the waiter put in our orders. We had salads and our main courses arrived probably 25 minutes later. There were 4 of us and one diner didn't get any food. We waited and waited and our waiter finally told us he made a mistake and didn't put the order in corredtly. We had finished our meals by the time the 4th diner received his meal, 30 minutes later. No appitizer arrived to fill the space. He had ordered chicken which came with no sauce or spice. He told the waiter it was bad and he couldn't eat it. After the diner asked for the manager and told him the problem. There was no free meal or any apology. The manager just said "next time ask for me and I'll take care of you". There will be no next time.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“You can't go home again”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We ate here five years ago and it was our favorite. This time, it was our LEAST favorite. Crazy expensive for what you get, and odd portion control--my fish was half the size of the same entree served to the gentleman at the table next to me. Terrible service, recommendations pushing the most expensive and disgusting cocktails (which they kept on the bill when we sent them back--"Oh, sorry") waiter never came back to check on us, 30 minute wait for entrees after the salads, which didn't come for 30 minutes. Won't be coming here again.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pacifica Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 
Palm Desert, California Desert
 

Been to Pacifica Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pacifica Seafood Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.