We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hard to believe we had problems never reported before...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Palm Desert

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Palm Desert to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Palm Desert
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   74-900 Gerald Ford Drive, Palm Desert, CA 92211   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points Package
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Palm Desert
Cobble Hill, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“hard to believe we had problems never reported before...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

Arrived and as our room was not available were updated to a suite by friendly staff .First impressions were great.
During the night I had a cockroach walk across my bare chest (a feeling I will never forget).
Next morning another was inside the shower curtain for another close encounter.
This one I delivered live to the office in a covered cup. They arranged to have the room sprayed by pest control and promised that this would not happen again after the spraying.. Further they would not charge me for the first night.
Later that day after resting on the bed, we noticed another cockroach on the bed blanket which I must have unknowingly stepped on and staining my sock and blanket. That one we flushed down the toilet. By now we checked our clothing, shoes, and all our bags and my wife was afraid to go to the bathroom at night.First thing in the morning she went to the bathroom and we could not believe there were more one of which we took to the front desk .
We checked trip adviser before we booked this hotel and were satisfied with all the positive comments.There was also a sign on the front desk stating they were awarded by trip adviser 2011.
Several discussions with the front desk and management revealed that they had rare occasional problems and all facilities were being sprayed regularly ..
It seems extremely hard to believe that we were the chosen ones and nobody before us ever reported this problem. We travel frequently and for the benefit of other travelers like to be honest about our experiences.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonPD, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Palm Desert, responded to this review, November 16, 2011
Hello, my name is Megan and I'm the front office manager at the Hampton Inn & Suites in Palm Desert, CA. On behalf of the hotel, I can say that we sincerely apologize for the unpleasant issue you experienced during your stay. It is true that complaints about bug problems are very rare occurrences at our property. As you know, we tried very hard to solve matters promptly and effeciently. First, by offering to move you to another room and then by having our pest control company come and spray thoroughly. But again, we are very sorry that you experienced any trouble to begin with, but want to assure you and other prospective guests that a problem of this nature will not happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    82
    31
    15
    4
See reviews for
71
90
21
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

We have no big complaints about this Hampton Inn - it is pretty much typical of them all. We were there for my high school reunion so did not spend much time at the hotel.

We found the room to be good but not as clean as we would like with seeds of some sort under the table and long hair in the refrigerator. Both were there for both nights we stayed. Although a minor thing, it would be nice to have plastic glasses in the room instead of the cardboard ones supplied.

The room was very quiet as we were not on the freeway & railroad side of the hotel. The breakfast was good with two very helpful and friendly ladies keeping things fresh.

We would not hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: South side is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

We found this Hampton Inn after we failed to get a room in the nearby Indio and was forced to head back towards St. George.
'The price was right' and the hotel was - as all Hampton Inn's - nice and clean - and boasting of the Hampton Inn signatur breakfast buffet - very, very nice...
The staff was courteous, friendly and very helpful; the room was nice with great beds and the breakfast was ( as stated above ) very, very nice..
So all in all: Just as a Hampton Inn should be - like your home away from home, and can be recommended especially if you're on your way to either Joshua Tree Nat. Park and/or Lake Havasu...

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonPD, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Palm Desert, responded to this review, August 1, 2011
Hi there, my name is Megan and I'm the front desk representative at the Hampton Inn & Suites in Palm Desert, CA. On behalf of the hotel, I can say that we truly are glad to hear the positive response and feedback from you! We are very pleased that you enjoyed your experience at our hotel, as well as other Hampton properties you've stayed at. Again, thank you for taking the time to write this review and we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit out to Palm Desert!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, CA
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
144 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
221 helpful votes 221 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

This Hampton is just off the I-10 and near some fast food and restaurants. Check-in was quick and easy. We had a large room, pleasantly decorated, with a comfortable sofa and chairs, flatscreen TV, and mini-fridge and microwave. The room was well lit and had good temperature control. The bed was very comfortable. The small bathroom had some counter space and an excellent shower head. These were the annoyances:
*The closet was tiny and difficult to use.
*The bathroom lacked a convenient towel rack.
*A loud fan comes on with the bathroom light.
*The air conditioner was loud enough to wake us up in the night.
*The breakfast needs improvement. The scrambled eggs were disgusting and the breakfast mini-pizza had been left out too long.
Despite these annoyances, we had a pleasant and quiet stay.

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonPD, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Palm Desert, responded to this review, June 25, 2011
Hello, my name is Megan and I'm the front desk representative at the Hampton Inn & Suites hotel in Palm Desert, CA. On behalf of the hotel, I'd like to let you know that we truly appreciate your detailed and honest response regarding your stay with us, because our guest’s feedback is very important for continually improving our hotel. We want our guests to have the best experience possible where every part of their stay is pleasant and comfortable. During these slow months of summer, our hotel does have plans in place to upgrade all of the older AC units to brand new systems! Also we are currently in the process of finding a solution to making the bathroom light/fan fixture much quieter. And as for the other concerns you listed, you can be confident that I will personally make sure to do some follow up as well as discuss with my management areas which we can improve on. We value you as our guest and hopefully we will see you back again so that we can demonstrate our commitment to your comfort! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Not the cleanest or newest of Hampton Inns, but still sticking to their price structure! Seemed crazy busy as there was a tennis tournament on. Adequate "suite", but I was unsure whether the bedding was entirely fresh, and the fridge still held the previous guest's salsa and sandwich.
Good variety of restaurants within easy walking distance.
Breakfast was ok

Room Tip: book ahead - I nabbed the last room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

On the way to Disney land and decided to stay as it had ben a long day. One minute off I-10. Check in was less then 5 minutes. Room perfect and bed so comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver, British Columbia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2011

We were pleasantly surprised to find this gem through our AAA membership. We then read the reviews,which were mostly positive but we were somewhat apprehensive re proximity to freeway and railway line. Both were distantly visible but no noise heard within our room. A bonus is it is a 100% non smoking facility. The complimentary breakfast offers a variety of hot and cold items with whole or freshly cut fruit. There were specially bagged and ready breakfasts for those on the "fly." The bags included bottled water - a nice touch!
The front desk staff were friendly and helpful. Our check-in woman had been with Hampton for 18 years so that says a lot about the employer. Our room had king bed, coffeemaker, fridge, microwave, 37 inch flat screen TV, high speed internet and free local calls. A complimentary copy of USA Today was slipped under our door for an early morning read. We found this hotel to be away from the downtown maddening crowds but it's easy access to the local roads to enjoy sight seeing or visit with friends. The parking area is spacious and there is diesel/gas fuel available across the street.
Would we stay there again? YOU BETCHA!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Palm Desert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Palm Desert

Address: 74-900 Gerald Ford Drive, Palm Desert, CA 92211
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Palm Desert
#4 Family Hotel in Palm Desert
#6 Romantic Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Palm Desert 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're staying for business or vacation travel, here at the Hampton Inn & Suites in Palm Desert, we're passionate about taking good care of you and providing you the best place to stay. That's why we offer a broad range of services and amenities at our hotel to make your stay exceptional. The best part is we have a very enthusiastic and friendly staff that aim to make your stay more personable...we like to call it having great "Hamptonality" to share with each and every guest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Palm Desert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites - Palm Desert
Hampton Inn & Suites - Palm Desert Hotel Palm Desert
Hampton Inn Palm Desert
Palm Desert Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Palm Desert, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.