We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a Plus hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Palm Desert Resort

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Palm Desert Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
BEST WESTERN PLUS Palm Desert Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   74695 Highway 111, Palm Desert, CA 92260   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn a $50 Gift Card
Ranked #13 of 22 hotels in Palm Desert
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Not a Plus hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

After reading the reviews, I was excited to stay at this hotel. I definitely did not see how this hotel received a 4 star rating on trip advisor and 85% recommended on Hotwire. First, this is a motel not hotel. I would give it a healthy two star at most. The room was in need of new paint and TLC. Very blah. I think the main floor rooms had laminate flooring but not the 3rd floor. The fixtures in the room are old and tired and 1/2 lamps had lights that did not work. The big energy saver bulbs were a nice touch. The bathroom shower seems original and it's just old. The Internet was so slow that I could not send this review from the motel- it wouldn't work. The deck has chipped paint and old furniture. Being close to a major road brings sirens and some traffic noise. Also, being in a motel you hear a number of parking lot doors closing which is distracting. The pros: Very nice staff. Service was prompt. Also, the breakfast was very good. It's made to order and fresh. Finally the AC was perfect. Overall, Not impressed. Unless you are getting a really good deal, I'd look elsewhere. Highly disappointing for a Plus property.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternpdmanager, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Palm Desert Resort, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for staying at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Palm Desert Resort. We apologize that we did not meet the standards expected by all our guests. We use all feedback given to better improve our guest satisfaction. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the breakfast and that our staff was nice and curious.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    103
    113
    74
    26
    18
See reviews for
91
123
23
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, WA, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

The room and bath were in disrepair. Simple things that should have been taken care of but weren't. Luggage carts, I think there's 2, were located in the main lobby and a long walk from the room towers. The breakfast was very good and the staff friendly. The hotel is located almost 5 miles south of the interstate and we had difficulty locating it. So much so we had to call for directions.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternpdmanager, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Palm Desert Resort, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Palm Desert Resort. We are pleased with all feedback given to us and will use it to better improve. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed our full cooked to order breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Requested 2 months ahead for a room with 2 beds facing the courtyard for 2 nights. We received a 2 bed room outside on the 2nd floor. No breakfast was included. The only Best Western Hotel where that was the case and the manager had only booked us for one night, therefore we needed to find another hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternpdmanager, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Palm Desert Resort, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We apologize for any inconvenience you had while staying with us. We do offer a full cooked to order breakfast in our lobby from 7am-10am. I apologize if your reservation was incorrect and wish you had stayed with us because we did have rooms available. We hope you stay with us again in the future so that we can prove to you that we are much better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranston, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

I was very impressed and happy with my stay. I can't say enough about the hotel and its staff members. I was very far away from home, and they made me feel great after a terrible arrival in Ontario. I wanted to go back to the East Coast upon arrival in the Ontario airport, but then the Best Western staff in Palm Desert made me feel welcome and happy. Upon arrival, a staff security member walked me to my room since I arrived so late in the evening. The breakfast was absolutely amazing. I couldn't have been happier with the food and your friendly staff. I sat in the breakfast room for 2-3 hours every day watching TV and just enjoying myself on my phone with the free Wi-Fi. We were there on a tennis trip and they offered to blow the courts off for us, which was very nice. We ended up playing elsewhere, but that's fine. Overall, I was very happy and would definitely stay there again. Pet-friendly is a wonderful attribute too!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternpdmanager, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Palm Desert Resort, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Thank you so much! We are glad that you enjoyed your entire stay with us. We try our very best to make sure every guest has an experience like this. We hope you will stay with us again if you return to Palm Desert.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
too far from the wild west!
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
373 helpful votes 373 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

This BW is in a great location for shopping, restaurants and just relaxing. Love the desert dry heat, even in the summer :)

After lots of national park hiking, we relaxed here for two nights. Since I stay in mega resorts for business, I prefer smaller sized places for personal family travel. Its not fun walking 1/2 mile to a casita regardless how stunning.

The pool is a nice size with lovely landscaping, clean spa, although with the temps at 104 that week, we didn't use it. There are water mist-ers at the pool but we had to ask for them to be turned on since there were only a handful of us there. We also had to ask for pool towels to be brought out.

Our first room was essentially bad. Very small, crowded and somewhat outdated.

But the furniture on the balcony was ridiculous & almost laughable; not only was it rusty, but it was falling apart. We were shocked it would still be there, and that we'd be given that room with so few guests.

When I tried to call the front desk, the phone wasn't working.

So i walked over to the lobby and before I could fully say we were disappointed in the room, we were upgraded to a suite. Thought that was odd, almost like they expected that? The suites are designed like the older Embassy Suites, with living area upon walking in, to the bathroom on one side & kitchen on the other, with the bedroom in the back. There was a small patio off the bedroom with sliding glass doors.

The made to order breakfast was very good & we enjoyed it outside on the adjoining terrace.

This resort is above average, but not quite 'very good'. There are many options in Palm Desert & Springs (the Palm Springs BW Brisas was very nice when we stayed there in 2005) so not sure we'd stay at this BW again.

Room Tip: Request an upgrade to a suite with patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternpdmanager, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Palm Desert Resort, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank you for staying at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Palm Desert Resort. We apologize that the first room you receieved was not up to your standards and we are happy to hear that the front desk helped you right away. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the cooked to order breakfast in the morning. We hope you come and stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Very nice hotel, convenient location, took pets--which is critical for those of us who must travel with a pet, and especially in a place like Palm Desert where the temps were so high. Also, pet room was very clean when we arrived--not always the case in hotels that take pets. Great location for a visit to the whole Coachella Valley. Will stay there again when I return to the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternpdmanager, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Palm Desert Resort, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are a pet friendly hotel and we want all of our guests to enjoy the rooms they stay in. We look forward to seeing you return to the desert!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Have stayed here several times - a really nice place to stay and one of our favourites. Some of the rooms have patios looking on to gardens. Lovely freshly cooked breakfasts.

We thought the pool was a little cloudy this time. It is normally very clear.

We were charged extra for having a dog in our room even though we don't have one - we are English tourists on a five week trip. It seems that the cleaner heard a dog in our room - perhaps it was my partner snoring! However the charge was taken off our bill when we queried it.

Room Tip: get a room in the garden area where the pool is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternpdmanager, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Palm Desert Resort, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for staying at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Palm Desert Resort. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are also glad to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast in the morning and the view of the courtyard. We apologize for the additional charge but are pleased that it was taken care of.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Palm Desert Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Palm Desert Resort

Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Palm Desert Hotel Palm Desert
Best Western Plus Palm Desert Hotel
Best Western Palm Desert
Palm Desert Best Western
Address: 74695 Highway 111, Palm Desert, CA 92260
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Palm Desert
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Desert
#8 Family Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Palm Desert Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose this pet-friendly Coachella Valley hotel located centrally in Palm Desert close to Indian Wells Tennis Gardens, PGA WEST golf course, and Joshua Tree National Park.Welcome to the BEST WESTERN PLUS Palm Desert Resort where guests can expect a friendly and knowledgeable staff, clean guest rooms with outdoor patios or balconies and a hot cooked to order breakfast. The hotel is situated in the heart of Palm Desert close to Highway 111 and minutes from Interstate 10.Enjoy the view from one of our 130 guest rooms or 22 suites with cable television with HBO and complimentary high speed internet access. Relax in the heated pool and spa with outdoor cooling mist system. Additional amenities include 2 tennis courts, exercise facility, business services and meeting facilities.The BEST WESTERN PLUS Palm Desert Resort located conveniently close to the Palm Springs Intl. Airport, Palm Springs Convention Center, and El Paseo Shopping District. Also within 20 minutes are 3 casinos (Fantasy Springs, Spa Resort Casino, and Agua Caliente Casino), Big League Dreams Sports Park, College of the Desert where they hold the street fair every weekend and the McCallum Theater. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Best Western, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Palm Desert Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Palm Desert Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.