We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ALREADY BOOKED FOR 2013” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Palm Desert Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Palm Desert Resort to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Palm Desert Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   74695 Highway 111, Palm Desert, CA 92260   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #16 of 22 Hotels in Palm Desert
Eastbourne
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“ALREADY BOOKED FOR 2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

Have stayed here for 6 years - during the Indian Wells Tennis Tournament - and always look forward to returning - the Manager and all staff are very helpful - nothing is too much trouble - location most convenient - lovely walks - well cooked breakfasts - would highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    140
    88
    28
    24
See reviews for
108
159
31
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alberta
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

My recent stay was during the BNP Paribas Indian Wells Tennis Tournament. The hotel is about a half hour drive from the PS Airport, around a $45 taxi ride. When I was given my first room, I discovered it faced the 111 Highway and was moved a main level room facing the parking lot. This room is one of the refurbished ones with laminate flooring and a flatscreen television. While the room was fresh, the washroom needs some attention though it appeared the flooring had been replaced with tiles. The room size is good, and the beds are reasonably comfortable. As expected with most Best Western properties, towels and toiletries are included, but they are not of the best quality. For some reason, the use of the safe costs $1.50/day, and I'm not sure why there is even a surcharge. As mentioned in previous reviews, the walls are very thin, and I did hear people walking on the floor above my room. The air conditioner worked really well to cool down a room, though it did kick up quite the racket when the fan started.The breakfast is made to order (sausage, bacon, eggs, hashed browns), and yogurt, oats, and fruit are available on request. Because I was there for the tennis tournament, I didn't need a car, instead relying on the shuttle to the stadium. For me, it was convenient to have both Albertsons, Ralph's, and CVS about 1 1/2 block away, and there is a good Mexican restaurant near the CVS. There are also the restaurants along El Paseo. Otherwise, you're relying upon fast food. Since it is a smaller hotel, the front desk staff are your porters, tourist guides, operators, etc. Aldo, in particular, was very forthcoming with his help. The others, though providing some assistance, didn't go out of their way to answer your questions. This is probably an ideal property for a family with a car.

Room Tip: Street level rooms facing the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

The hotel is clean, rooms spacious, breakfast good but could benefit from more choice of fresh fruit and some wholegrain bread. Our room had a door connecting to the adjacent room, which is good if you are a family renting both rooms, but the door lets every sound through, so you will hear even quiet neighbours. Bring earplugs if you want to sleep peacefully. Our room came with a new TV and new refrigerator.

Room Tip: Get a room that is not connected to an adjacent room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

It had been 6 years since we'd stayed at this Best Western. The rooms have become so dingy and tired. We were on the 3 floor with a balcony. The balcony is very dirty with two dirty tied single chairs. So dirty that we had to put towels on them to sit on them. The refrigerator door was barely hanging on. The room is on it's last legs. We looked in the "remodelled" rooms on the 1st floor that have laminate flooring and a new TV....but you could clearly hear the people above. So we picked the 3rd floor old rooms with no one above. The breakfast is cooked to order with two cooks. The one guy is like the soup Nazi from the Sienfield show. They have a few choices but don't try and get it different....OMG.....really. I wanted no potatoes but wanted yogurt....so in the end he made me have the potatoes and unhappily gave me the yogurt. They hide the fruit. And when the jam runs out .... that's it they don't refill them. Again, really? They told us that they are working to upgrade their status rating but adding some features but really it should be going down on the rating scale.

Room Tip: Take the top floor by the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012 via mobile

After a day of golf, we checked in so we could shower before dinner and there was no hot water. That problem was resolved by the time we got back from dinner, but the towels we were given were ready for the car wash --- very thin. The bed was OK and breakfast was good.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

This is the second time we stayed at this hotel, and we have had a great experience both times. It is an older hotel, but is well kept, very clean and manicured grounds. They have a huge grassy area inbetween the buildings that is wonderful if you bring your dog along. The hotel was full when we stayed there this time, and we never heard a sound from any of the surrounding rooms. The full breakfast is included in your stay and is delicious The breakfast setting is nice, you can eat indoors or on their outdoor patio.

Room Tip: I like staying on the gound floor which has rooms with outdoor patios opening up to the pool, grass...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, NC
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here on a golf trip with some friends. It is a decent hotel, nothing fancy but serviceable. It was clean and the staff was friendly . That's about all you can ask for for the price.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Palm Desert Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Palm Desert Resort

Address: 74695 Highway 111, Palm Desert, CA 92260
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Palm Desert
#7 Business Hotel in Palm Desert
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Desert
#9 Family Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Palm Desert Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose this pet-friendly Coachella Valley hotel located centrally in Palm Desert close to Indian Wells Tennis Gardens, PGA WEST golf course, and Joshua Tree National Park.Welcome to the BEST WESTERN PLUS Palm Desert Resort where guests can expect a friendly and knowledgeable staff, clean guest rooms with outdoor patios or balconies and a hot cooked to order breakfast. The hotel is situated in the heart of Palm Desert close to Highway 111 and minutes from Interstate 10.Enjoy the view from one of our 130 guest rooms or 22 suites with cable television with HBO and complimentary high speed internet access. Relax in the heated pool and spa with outdoor cooling mist system. Additional amenities include 2 tennis courts, exercise facility, business services and meeting facilities.The BEST WESTERN PLUS Palm Desert Resort located conveniently close to the Palm Springs Intl. Airport, Palm Springs Convention Center, and El Paseo Shopping District. Also within 20 minutes are 3 casinos (Fantasy Springs, Spa Resort Casino, and Agua Caliente Casino), Big League Dreams Sports Park, College of the Desert where they hold the street fair every weekend and the McCallum Theater. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Palm Desert Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Palm Desert Hotel Palm Desert
Best Western Palm Desert
Palm Desert Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Palm Desert Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.