We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great maps” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palm Desert Visitor Center

Palm Desert Visitor Center
73-470 El Paseo, Suite F-7, Palm Desert, CA 92260
800-873-2428
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 10 Attractions in Palm Desert
Type: Tourist/ Visitor Centers, Other
Attraction details
Pollock Pines
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great maps”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

They are very helpful and know the places to suggest. There was noting that I disliked about the Visitor Center

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara B, Manager at Palm Desert Visitor Center, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thanks for the comments! GPS is great for some folks, but we still see the value in using a map in order to get an oriented to the overall area. We also have hiking, biking and shopping maps, to name a few. Stop back in if you need anything else!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    16
    6
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Palm Desert, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Palm Desert Visitor's Center a great help”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The place to go to start your Palm Desert trip. Very knowledgable staff with many hand out resources to introduce you to, and get you to, all the places you don't want to miss while here.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara B, Manager at Palm Desert Visitor Center, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. Our staff works hard to stay up-to-date with latest information, so we're glad it shows! Stop by and see us anytime for any assistance you might require.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A "visit" to the Visitor's Center is worth the stop to get acclimated upon your arrival.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

The personnel at the center were enthusiastic and helpful. I may have liked a bit more opportunity to just browse the brochures on my own before asking questions. However, I cannot fault a staff for being willing to assist visitors:-)

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coronado California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Ranger hiking tours on Saturday and Thursday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Rangers at Information Center off highway 74 coming into Palm Desert- we always go on the hiking Ranger led tours and view hiking information at this Visitor Center---- Great place to hike and lots of good restaurants too

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Michigan
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“great info for visitors”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

In December 2012, I stopped here twice. Employees were very helpful with direction s and providing maps for hiking trails. I was always asked if I needed more information.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palm Desert Visitor Center also viewed

Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs
 
Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs
 

Been to Palm Desert Visitor Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palm Desert Visitor Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.