We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mojave Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Mojave Resort to your Saves list
Mojave Resort
73721 Shadow Mountain Drive, Palm Desert, CA 92260   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Palm Desert
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Peaceful place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

What a quiet and peaceful place...
Warm and efficient check in, very large room. Few things could be improved, as a flat screen TV and a quieter AC. The noisy AC is terrible, specialy during the night.
But this is a nice place, with a friendly staff.
Location is good. Strangely, the Wifi is stronger during the day, and very weak during the night...

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    27
    11
    0
    3
See reviews for
23
34
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
wv
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We have stayed here several times over the last five years, all during December, so this was our first summer stay (late May). I was worried about the air and if it could stand up to the PS heat--it could and we slept like babies. This is still the ultimate in time-tripping, albeit with 400 count sheets and top of the line bath products, with that retro 50s motel look with the rooms situated around a pool and spa. We will keep going back, now including summers in our plans.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful place to stay. Nice pool right outside your door. Kid friendly but not noisy. Friendly staff and nice grounds to sit and sip wine. Some rooms have simple kitchenette and were very clean and airy. It now on my list of favorite places to stay in Palm Springs!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

With all the overpriced breakfast buffets and cabana rentals and golf and glitz in the Palm Desert area, it's great to find a place that's just cool and laid back. The Mojave has a great mid-century modern look, and doesn't feel renovated so much as preserved. The sparse, mature landscaping only adds to the sense that you've stepped through a portal to 1967. The staff is very friendly, but nearly invisible; there's no "service" to speak of, but that's part of what makes it so relaxing. Plus, it's a two minute walk to Keedy's, the best breakfast in the desert.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

This delightful place is an artful renovation. It's small, personal, comfortable with a feel that reminds me of the Valley back in the day. Nice job holding onto the flavor! We've already booked a return visit for next year's Indian Wells tennis. It's a great combination.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Need to invest in the following:
#1. Tennis Channel (at least during 2 weeks of annual tournament in March)
#2. Flat Screen TV's
#3. Up Graded Bathroom. In particular toilets & shower/bath.
Great location within walking distance to Palm Desert's down town with great restaurants & shopping.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed at the Mojave a few weeks ago. It is a 1950s style...actually it is a 1950s desert motel that still has many of its 1950s features. It is "OK" but it needs lots of updating. The staff is very nice and very helpful. The grounds are well kept and the inner courtyard is quiet and peaceful It is in a great location, just a few blocks from the main shopping area on El Paseo. Unfortunately, the motel has seen better days. For example, the towel hook behind the bathroom door was missing and one looked at the two screw holes in the door that once held the hook. There was mold in the grout around the bathroom door and the grout around the tub was not of recent vintage. The room is probably comfortably air conditioned when things are warm but it was cold during our stay...40s at night. The air conditioner also serves as the heater...it didn't work well and it sounded as though there was a tractor in the room when it was on. We decided to turn the heater to high when we went out for dinner so the room was warm when we returned. Then we turned it off when we went to sleep. That worked "sort of" as the room was "brisk" in the morning and that made showering a bit of an adventure. You get the picture. In summary: good location, nice staff but the facility needs refurbishing.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mojave Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mojave Resort

Address: 73721 Shadow Mountain Drive, Palm Desert, CA 92260
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Palm Desert
#8 Romantic Hotel in Palm Desert
#11 Family Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the romance, glamour and sophistication of the desert of the 1940s...indulgent suites and guestrooms with dreamy beds and all the special touches you expect - from breakfast poolside to spa treatments under the stars. Just steps from the desert's finest shops and restaurants on El Paseo, yet decades away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TravelClick and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mojave Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mojave Hotel Palm Desert
Palm Desert Mojave Desert Resort Hotel
Mojave Desert Resort
Mojave Palm Desert

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mojave Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.