We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Cal as it used to be” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mojave Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Mojave Resort to your Saves list
Mojave Resort
73721 Shadow Mountain Drive, Palm Desert, CA 92260   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Palm Desert
Seattle, Washington
1 review
“So Cal as it used to be”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

This delightful place is an artful renovation. It's small, personal, comfortable with a feel that reminds me of the Valley back in the day. Nice job holding onto the flavor! We've already booked a return visit for next year's Indian Wells tennis. It's a great combination.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    27
    11
    0
    3
See reviews for
23
34
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mission Viejo
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Need to invest in the following:
#1. Tennis Channel (at least during 2 weeks of annual tournament in March)
#2. Flat Screen TV's
#3. Up Graded Bathroom. In particular toilets & shower/bath.
Great location within walking distance to Palm Desert's down town with great restaurants & shopping.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed at the Mojave a few weeks ago. It is a 1950s style...actually it is a 1950s desert motel that still has many of its 1950s features. It is "OK" but it needs lots of updating. The staff is very nice and very helpful. The grounds are well kept and the inner courtyard is quiet and peaceful It is in a great location, just a few blocks from the main shopping area on El Paseo. Unfortunately, the motel has seen better days. For example, the towel hook behind the bathroom door was missing and one looked at the two screw holes in the door that once held the hook. There was mold in the grout around the bathroom door and the grout around the tub was not of recent vintage. The room is probably comfortably air conditioned when things are warm but it was cold during our stay...40s at night. The air conditioner also serves as the heater...it didn't work well and it sounded as though there was a tractor in the room when it was on. We decided to turn the heater to high when we went out for dinner so the room was warm when we returned. Then we turned it off when we went to sleep. That worked "sort of" as the room was "brisk" in the morning and that made showering a bit of an adventure. You get the picture. In summary: good location, nice staff but the facility needs refurbishing.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apple Valley, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

This is a small, mid-20th Century one-level hotel/motel only a block away from the El Paseo shopping/restaurant district in Palm Desert. It's well maintained and the staff is friendly. Parking is easy. Breakfast is pretty meager and coffee is typical weak American style: our room had a small kitchen (not well equipped), so you may want to get breakfast supplies. Minor but impressive point: they had the nicest facial tissues I've seen at a hotel recently!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wv
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed at the Mojave again this year, and as we said last year, this is a neat little slice of time travel in Palm Desert. Top of the line bath products and bedding, quiet and comfortable rooms--true, you will need the heat in the morning and the wall units are noisy, but that is the charm of the place, it reminds me of trips from my youth updated with 400 count sheets and Molton Brown bath products. The grounds and pool are beautiful, the location is ideal (a five minute walk to the main shopping drag--El Paseo), and the staff are top notch.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, England
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We are from the UK and have been visiting The Mojave for the past eight years, roughly once very two years. The one thing that is still consistent despite a few change of owners is the presence of both Rhonda and Anthony. There are two other members of staff that are often around and our apologies for forgetting names but they too have been at The Mojave for some years. All four members of staff are brilliant and will do their best to make your stay a great one.
We find we love The Mojave for it's peace and tranquility, we don't want a lot of noise. The setting amongst the Palms is just perfect, the pool sparkles. There is a "but" to this review though. If you are looking for the same peace and quiet as we have always experienced you may not be so fortunate. You have to know that this is now a "family friendly" place as well as offering peace and solitude.
The rooms are great, still like stepping back a few eras and very tastefully furnished. The motel itself is ideally positioned for reaching the El Paseo district where you will find plenty of restaurants and lots of shops. A continental breakfast is offered and we find it quite sufficient for our tastes cereal, pastries, juice, fruit, coffee etc...
We have spent the last four days at The Mojave, chilling by the pool, enjoying the sunshine before making our way back to the UK.
We look forward to returning again.

Room Tip: Some rooms are roadside, you may hear early morning traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We were in town for a Friday night concert at the "New" McCallum theatre a mile away. Rhonda at the front desk was great and very helpful. The room was nice for the price. Nice pool area. Continental breakfast was just right. We would stay here again!!

Room Tip: They have kitchenette rooms available as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mojave Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mojave Resort

Address: 73721 Shadow Mountain Drive, Palm Desert, CA 92260
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Palm Desert
#7 Romantic Hotel in Palm Desert
#10 Family Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the romance, glamour and sophistication of the desert of the 1940s...indulgent suites and guestrooms with dreamy beds and all the special touches you expect - from breakfast poolside to spa treatments under the stars. Just steps from the desert's finest shops and restaurants on El Paseo, yet decades away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TravelClick and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mojave Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mojave Hotel Palm Desert
Palm Desert Mojave Desert Resort Hotel
Mojave Desert Resort
Mojave Palm Desert

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mojave Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.