We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“retro cool” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mojave Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Mojave Resort to your Saves list
Mojave Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   73721 Shadow Mountain Drive, Palm Desert, CA 92260   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Palm Desert
Certificate of Excellence
wv
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“retro cool”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed at the Mojave again this year, and as we said last year, this is a neat little slice of time travel in Palm Desert. Top of the line bath products and bedding, quiet and comfortable rooms--true, you will need the heat in the morning and the wall units are noisy, but that is the charm of the place, it reminds me of trips from my youth updated with 400 count sheets and Molton Brown bath products. The grounds and pool are beautiful, the location is ideal (a five minute walk to the main shopping drag--El Paseo), and the staff are top notch.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    31
    14
    0
    4
See reviews for
25
41
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk, England
Level Contributor
74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We are from the UK and have been visiting The Mojave for the past eight years, roughly once very two years. The one thing that is still consistent despite a few change of owners is the presence of both Rhonda and Anthony. There are two other members of staff that are often around and our apologies for forgetting names but they too have been at The Mojave for some years. All four members of staff are brilliant and will do their best to make your stay a great one.
We find we love The Mojave for it's peace and tranquility, we don't want a lot of noise. The setting amongst the Palms is just perfect, the pool sparkles. There is a "but" to this review though. If you are looking for the same peace and quiet as we have always experienced you may not be so fortunate. You have to know that this is now a "family friendly" place as well as offering peace and solitude.
The rooms are great, still like stepping back a few eras and very tastefully furnished. The motel itself is ideally positioned for reaching the El Paseo district where you will find plenty of restaurants and lots of shops. A continental breakfast is offered and we find it quite sufficient for our tastes cereal, pastries, juice, fruit, coffee etc...
We have spent the last four days at The Mojave, chilling by the pool, enjoying the sunshine before making our way back to the UK.
We look forward to returning again.

Room Tip: Some rooms are roadside, you may hear early morning traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We were in town for a Friday night concert at the "New" McCallum theatre a mile away. Rhonda at the front desk was great and very helpful. The room was nice for the price. Nice pool area. Continental breakfast was just right. We would stay here again!!

Room Tip: They have kitchenette rooms available as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brea,CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

We had a great time at the Mojave, because the owner, Sonny Patel, loves kids! We were there with other families, and basically took over the whole place. It was great to enjoy a family-friendly hotel. We could just let our kids loose, and kick back at the pool. We were so lucky to have the Mojave for our family reunion.
Unfortunately, there were some middle-aged couples who didn't appreciate our kids. They were a little irritated that we kind of used the entire pool with our families. And we did kind of take over the breakfast area, and our kids did get up early to play in the pool. (Well, they can go to a boring hotel for adults-only, like the Mod, across the street) Why ruin our fun? The best part is that we got a discount (for having several rooms) and those other couples paid full price. Even thought the Mojave is advertised as a peaceful, quiet place, we're glad it isn't.
We will continue to take our kids and meet our friends there for a wild, fun time. Thanks, Sonny.

Room Tip: Book several rooms with families to get a discount.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Great area, spacious pool and hot tub, well-manicured grounds, nice continental breakfast set-up, friendly staff and guests, and comfortable, large room. We traveled with our 3 year old and she was more than welcome, which was very nice. I think she was only child at the resort the weekend we were there. We've stayed at the larger resorts and this is so much nicer and more peaceful. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

Staying at the Mojave Resort is like stepping back in time.
This quaint & cozy resort is located just a short walk away from the shops & restaurants on El Paseo.
During check-in Rhonda at the front desk was very professional, welcoming & helpful .
She gave us tips on dining in the area during our stay. She & the staff were always available for anything we needed.
On the way to our room we meandered around the garden path thru the nicely landscaped grounds.
All of the rooms have patio’s facing the garden & half of them have a view of the pool as well.
We stayed in room #15. Room 15 is facing the pool & the pool was only a few feet away from our front door & patio. We had the perfect location!
Our room had a tidy kitchenette, king size bed, desk with chair, 2 comfortable club chairs with a small round table and a large picture window facing our patio & the pool.
The bathroom is vintage. The vanity/sink area is spacious and is separate from the toilet & shower (no tub in this room). Nice toiletries are provided!
The decor overall is well done, retro inspired and the accent color throughout the resort is orange!
In our room I did notice some stains on the carpet & it looks like it is time for this room to get a little freshening up.
The mattress, linens & pillows were very comfortable. The air condtioning unit worked very well.
The pool/spa area was wonderful! There are many chaise lounges, tables/chairs with umbrellas and plenty of towels provided.
Every morning coffee, yogurt, fruit, muffins, etc. is put out around 7:30am.
We enjoyed our stay so much we will be returning in early August for a business trip.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, USA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

I know they recently redid this place to have a 1950s theme, and it feels awesome. I am doing a weekend driving trip around the Salton Sea/Imperial Valley to learn the history of the area, so feeling like I'm back in the day in Palm Desert was a perfect way to end one Saturday. Aside from the great details of the place, the front desk is awesome. Location is great.There is a pool and a hot tub. And it's secluded (though 3 blocks from a main road) so you can enjoy a California morning sky in peace.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Desert
0.7 mi away
International Lodge
International Lodge
#14 of 22 in Palm Desert
4.0 of 5 stars 275 reviews
4.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Palm Desert
3.3 mi away
Westin Desert Willow Villas
Westin Desert Willow Villas
#2 of 22 in Palm Desert
4.5 of 5 stars 604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Palm Desert
0.1 mi away
Shadow Mountain Resort and Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mojave Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mojave Resort

Address: 73721 Shadow Mountain Drive, Palm Desert, CA 92260
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Palm Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mojave Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the romance, glamour and sophistication of the desert of the 1940s...indulgent suites and guestrooms with dreamy beds and all the special touches you expect - from breakfast poolside to spa treatments under the stars. Just steps from the desert's finest shops and restaurants on El Paseo, yet decades away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and TravelClick so you can book your Mojave Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mojave Hotel Palm Desert
Mojave Desert Resort
Palm Desert Mojave Desert Resort Hotel
Mojave Palm Desert

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mojave Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.