We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pool, Small & Mediocre Room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Shadow Ridge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Marriott's Shadow Ridge to your Saves list
Marriott's Shadow Ridge
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   9003 Shadow Ridge Rd, Palm Desert, CA 92211   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rewards Members Save 25%
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in Palm Desert
San Diego
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Pool, Small & Mediocre Room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2009

The main pool area is great. There is an activity area for the kids, little splash zones, a hot tub, one pool with a fun water slide and one large pool. We were there the week before Easter and there were no available pool chairs. They state that they will remove towels or any other articles left unattended for 30 min to free up space but they do not. The Chuckwalla Grill poolside is awful - the help is surly and the food is inedible. If we didn't have a $25 credit I never would have chosen it and was glad I wasn't paying directly for it.

Our room was near the quiet pool and it was indeed very quiet. If you prefer adults only company this is the place for you. There was also a small basketball court and green areas for playing catch or lawn games. BBQs are available.

We had a one bedroom condo that was more like the smallest hotel room ever. The kitchenette was what I had in my dorm - a mini-fridge, microwave and bar sink. There were enough dishes for 2 people but I discovered they are only as clean as the previous guests leave them. Ours were unsanitary looking so I had to wash them all before using them. We had 1 queen bed and a pull-out sofa with almost no walking space. I dislike pull-outs so we brought an aerobed for the kids which worked out great. The sheets and blankets had holes in them that looked like someone cut out stains or burns with scissors. Bizarre. The queen bed was comfy enough. There was no dining area or in-room laundry. There is free wifi but no DVD players in the rooms. The bathroom is standard issue with an ineffective showerhead. Our towels were replaced and garbage emptied daily but the beds were not made.

Nearby there are lots of places to eat, ranging from Costco to more upscale dining down Monterey past College of the Desert. Multiple grocery outlets a mall and a movie theater are nearby too. The Street Fair at the College of the Desert is a fun Saturday morning outing.

My kids loved the waterslide and pool and the grounds are very pretty but our room was crowded and poorly appointed. I felt that it was pricey for what we got. The location is convenient to the freeway and to other activities. Check-out is an early 10 am! They did allow us to check in at noon on our arrival date. I would not consider buying a timeshare here.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    249
    82
    62
    33
See reviews for
310
198
18
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2009

We're in Northern California so Palm Desert is a 7 hour drive. We love this place. Went 3 times last summer, with different families. I've even been for a quick girls get-away weekend. It's cheap during the summer because it's HOT. But we like the heat. The kids swim all day, go in and out of the kids club (movies, Wii, etc). At night we bbq and hang back at the room (normally have the 2 bedroom which is very roomy). It's a great place to relax and hang with family and friends. Movies, shops, etc. close by too. My kids look forward to going the week before school starts (it's a great way for us to end our crazy summer).

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, il
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2009

We just returned from a 7 night stay at the Marriot Shadow Ridge and agree with the most recent reviews for this resort that it has a huge contrast between rooms and the rest of the property. While the grounds were beautiful, the rooms are in desparate need of renovations as they are almost dumpy. The carpets are dirty and the furniture is old and dated and the couch cushions were even tearing. Not up to the quality you should expect for a Marriott. The pools were great with one heated and the other not and a little chilly. Plenty of lounge chairs, even during spring break. The grounds were beautiflul and well maintained.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2009

We too were enticed to visit Shadow Ridge for a timeshare preview. 4 days/3 nights. We arrived late on a Monday and were checked in promptly. As other reviewers have mentioned, the grounds are beautiful and the pools are immaculate.

We had a 1 bedroom suite, which has a full kitchen, washer/dryer, living area, patio, bedroom with a large tub, dressing area, and a full bathroom. Our first sign of trouble was when opening the pullout bed for our two teenagers and it queaked and was hard to open. We got it open and the girls tried it out - it was horrible. They are both good sports so they opted for the floor and the couch cushions with the promise that we would contact someone in the morning. The next morning we contacted guest relations and they said someone would be right over. 2 hours later we called back - they said they would bring a new sofabed - then someone from facilities called and said that they would not be bringing a new one as they are all the same - horribly worn was how he described them. So, we called guest services again. The only option they could offer was extra blankets. We headed out for the afternoon and came back to 6 additional blankets. We piled them up on the pullout and it did help. We were very surprised that they did not offer a two bedrooom suite or another options. We stay at Marriott's quite often and this facility is not up to the service standards we are accustomed to from Marriott.

We also encountered problems with the business center. We went to use the internet and found that there is a .35 per minute charge. We were ok with the charge, but again not normal Marriott services.

The timeshare presentation is very typical - we did not purchase a timeshare. What really did surprise us is that they unit we stayed in was in the older complex and what they were offering was in the newer complex - different design and options. Why not put your best foot forward. It may have changed our minds when considering a purchase?

I would stay again, but not at the nightly rates they charge. And for anyone traveling with more than 2 people, book a 2 room suite. You will love the grounds, pools an golf.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2009

We stayed here thanks to a timeshare presentation deal which gave us a one bedroom suite for four nights all for $350 total. I have mixed feelings about this resort because there's a discrepancy between the room quality and the rest of the resort. The room itself was big with a nicely equipped kitchen. However, the furniture and carpets were looking somewhat worn. My wife found the maid service to be somewhat substandard. I'd rate the room at about a two and a half star quality level. Definitely not up to my image of a Marriott. The rest of the resort was beautiful. The pools, the grounds, the restaurants were at a four star quality level. Also, the resort offers good value for the money. No parking charges or extra resort fees. They offer free wi-fi and the onsite restaurant is good and is reasonably priced. Would I stay here again for $75 a night? Of course. I might even be willing to pay $150 a night. But for more than $250 like I see on travelocity? No way.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2009

There were way too many issues for a Marriott resort. The WiFi was on and off during the stay as they were constantly working on it. There was no in room DVD player and it took two days to get one in. On two occassions we complained that we got dirty towels. There were stains on the bathroom towels. Some locations are better than other and this is not a top Marriott vacation resort.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2009

My husband and I stayed here one week for our honeymoon. We had an amazing time. The oversized tub was so cool. The service was horrible; we waited for 15 minutes in the hot sun for the shuttle to the restaurant before we gave up and drove ourselves. However; this was our honeymoon, we were happy. I totally recommend the tour of the resort (if you know how to say no) because you get tram tickets. The tram was one of the most awesome things we did there. I would encourage their maids to move things around while dusting but everything "important" was clean and the cupboards were stocked with essential kitchen tools.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's Shadow Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Shadow Ridge

Address: 9003 Shadow Ridge Rd, Palm Desert, CA 92211
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Desert
#9 Romantic Hotel in Palm Desert
#11 Family Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Shadow Ridge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 848
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southern California's magnificent mountain ranges serve as the breathtaking backdrop for Marriott's Shadow Ridge. Spacious villas overlook rolling fairways and sparkling lakes weaving throughout the landscape. Beautiful master suites feature a king bed and oversized soaking tub while the spacious living and dining areas, and fully kitchen offer convenience and comfort. Swing by the Faldo Golf Institute by Marriott and try your luck on the championship course. Then relax at Nick Faldo's Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Expedia, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your Marriott's Shadow Ridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Shadow Ridge Hotel Palm Desert
Marriotts Palm Desert
Marriotts Hotel Shadow Ridge
Marriott Palm Desert
Marriott Shadow Ridge
Marriotts Shadow Ridge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Shadow Ridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.