We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HUGE PLACE!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Shadow Ridge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott's Shadow Ridge to your Saves list
Marriott's Shadow Ridge
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   9003 Shadow Ridge Rd, Palm Desert, CA 92211   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Palm Desert
Oxnard, California
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“HUGE PLACE!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

We had a 2 bedroom suite. The resort had everthing in there!
tThe room was big. Full kitchen. Walked on the golf course. Our back room opened up to a par 3 hole. It was about a balmy 118 degrees!. Place lush green. Lots of stuff for the kids to do. The theatre was a nice surprize. The pool had too much chlorine. Pool areas closed at 11pm. Bedding was of quality.
near a costco and walmart!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    259
    84
    63
    34
See reviews for
320
214
18
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We had a very nice stay at the Marriott Shadow Ridge. Rooms were clean and space was amble. There needs to be however attention paid to detail to move my rating from Very Good to an Excellent. The walk ways need attention by the housekeeping staff; the same wine cork sat outside our door as did a Q-Tip for the duration of our stay. In addition we had to call down to have the kitchen linens stocked. The kitchen amenities were the bare minimal. Multiple vanity lights were burnt out and the plumbing needs attention - loose faucets, slow drains. One the positive side, the location is a great desert get away with golf onsite. The bedding was very comfortable and the towels were nice and plush. The pools were busy but then that is expected this time of year. I hope as the property expands that more quiet / adult only spaces will be established.

Room Tip: I think quiet vs near the activity center is up to an individual's preference. Either would be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

I come to Shadow Ridge every summer and this time didn't disappoint. Stayed in the 1700 building and enjoyed a different view. We spend a day at each of the pools and usually watch a evening movie in the main pool. Definietly check out the Mirage activities so that you can get out of the heat for a while.

Room Tip: Choose a room close to the pool so you don't have far to walk in the heat !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

I came here with my son, daughter-in-law and 3 year old twin grandchildren back in April, which I understand was the Spring break, so quite full. I have been reading the reviews since then and don't recognise the place we visited! The resort was very clean and well kept, very green with lovely flowers. Our apartment was opposite the main pool so very convenient and not at all noisy. The apartment was lovely and kept very clean and tidy. The children loved the pools and activity centre. My husband and I enjoyed walking round the grounds, visited the cafes and had a lovely meal in the restaurant. I would definitely come again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We have been going to this resort for 10 years. After our last stay at the end of July 2014 we are probably not going back. I called the resort in advance to let them know about my preferences as I always do. I asked for the ground floor, closer to the main pool, and early check-in. Non of my requests were granted. We've arrived around noon with foods that needed to be refrigerated. Because they didn't have a room ready for us, I asked the front desk if I could use their refrigerator. Their fridge was extremely dirty. I was disgusted to leave my food in there.

When we finally got to our villa it was almost 4 PM, a lot of thing were missing. We had a coffee maker, but not a coffee pot. We had to wait for them to bring the coffee pot for 2 days (called them at least twice a day to remind about coffee pot). Some of other kitchenettes were also missing.

The resort was extremely crowded and not enough staff members to provide an excellent service. We also noticed that a lot of new villas were build lately. Four swimming pools are not enough for so many guests that are staying at the resort. Empty plastic cups and bottles were around the pool area, as soon as the wind blew all those cups and bottles were in the pool. Water in the pools was very dirty and cloudy. While swimming you can catch someones' hair between your fingers and toes (very gross). We didn't see anyone cleaning the pool in the morning (at 7 AM) as we used to see during our previous stays. Also during our four day stay at the resort there were two brown accidents. The main pool had to be closed; therefore, making other pools even more crowded. Please everyone appreciate other people's vacation by having your kid wear a swimming diaper to avoid accidents.

There was also a major water accident where we were without water for about 6 hours in our room. We were unable to use bathrooms and kitchen. Every time we called the front desk to inquiry about the water, all they told us is to use gym's restroom and bathroom.

This is not a good way you treat your guests. We were very disappointed with our last stay at Shadow Ridge.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We loved the hotel, no complaints just disappointed the life size chess was gone but still on the website.. Swimming pool was great and loved that it was very kid friendly... The kiddie pool was great but did need cleaning, and being that we arrived a little late my son only rode the water slide once than it closed. All in all I would consider staying again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We bought a timeshare here about 12 years ago and thoroughly enjoy our stays. Lots of shopping and dining opportunities within short driving distance. Plenty of sights to see are also an easy drive away.

Room Tip: Top floor to avoid having a loud party in the suite above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's Shadow Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Shadow Ridge

Address: 9003 Shadow Ridge Rd, Palm Desert, CA 92211
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Desert
#6 Romantic Hotel in Palm Desert
#8 Family Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Shadow Ridge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 848
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southern California's magnificent mountain ranges serve as the breathtaking backdrop for Marriott's Shadow Ridge. Spacious villas overlook rolling fairways and sparkling lakes weaving throughout the landscape. Beautiful master suites feature a king bed and oversized soaking tub while the spacious living and dining areas, and fully kitchen offer convenience and comfort. Swing by the Faldo Golf Institute by Marriott and try your luck on the championship course. Then relax at Nick Faldo's Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Marriott, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marriott's Shadow Ridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Shadow Ridge Hotel Palm Desert
Marriotts Palm Desert
Marriotts Hotel Shadow Ridge
Marriott Palm Desert
Marriott Shadow Ridge
Marriotts Shadow Ridge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Shadow Ridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.